Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    R

    We enjoyed our stay and especially service in the cafeteria.

    Reviewed by Ray on Jun 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great location. We like to walk the beach and while we were limited in one direction, there was ample distance in the other direction. The food was good to great, especially the days they had a full range of fruit in the side bar. Service at bars was good. Entertainment could use some improvement. Room fridge bar was mostly not stocked ... Staff doesn't understand English well enough to get full picture of amenities, etc. Overall though we were very pleased and had a great stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    L

    Always Enjoy our Visits. Entertainment Team is terrific.

    Reviewed by Laura K. on May 22, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We've made several visits with teens to Sunscape PV in the past few years, and recently enjoyed stays in February 2019 and March 2019. Westjet flights were on-time with good service as usual. The hotel is in a great central location and the staff are excellent. We enjoy meals at DaMario, Seaside Grill and breakfast at World Cafe, plus countless burgers, fries and chicken fajitas at the Barefoot Grill by the pool. Just like everywhere else, it gets busy around the pool/beach during peak season and you need to grab a chair by 8:00 am. Love the lively atmosphere with lots of fun activities throughout the day, plus evening shows/movies. The Entertainment Team is the best - gracias Eduardo, David, Daniel, Marisol. See you soon! We're booked to return again in February 2020.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    C

    would never go back

    Reviewed by Carter on Apr 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Overall extremely disappointing, the only good part is the staff. The food is really sub par, pool doesn't have enough chairs. Beds were never made and fridge was never restocked.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Not worth the money

    Reviewed by Mark on Apr 16, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    I am going to start out with the good, shouldn't take too long. The rooms were clean, the housekeeping was spectacular, check- in was easy, pool and beach were great. Now the downer! The food was average with smaller buffet than normal and food handling was questionable (uncooked hot dogs at lunch). All 3 of us got sick on day 4 from something at the Mexican theme night...badly sick. Now, we were questioning the customer service around the resort on day 1, and when we got sick, this was proven in a major way that they did not care. We were severely dehydrated and not 1 person at front desk, coffee shop, restaurant helped with providing water bottles. The resorts new concept is that they were getting away from water bottles at the resort but also do not have an alternate plan in place (filtered tap water, water dispensers) to offer. We did write a statement to Rogelio who was a self-proclaimed 20 some year old "big shot" at the resort and would look after us. Sure enough, he cared the least and basically ignored us until we left, we never heard a word from anyone. Seems like if you don't have a problem, the resort would just be ok, if you have a problem...good luck. Even when they did break down and decided to give us 1 water bottle, it was with attitude. Like we said, not worth the money for the value and there are definitely much better resorts to stay at in PV. Definitely not a 4 star resort. The sound from slamming doors and thin walls was close to unbearable but at the same time, guests need to be smarter and more respectful. Bring ear plugs. This trip actually kind of turned us away from All-Inclusive and will rent a condo instead. We are not generally picky and the only reason we are writing this review is to forewarn anyone that the potential is there to not have a good stay. Just thought we would share our experience so others don't get disappointed since there are much better places to stay.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    T

    AMRESORTS GET YOUR NAME OFF THIS PLACE! LIPSTICK ON A PIG IS STILL A PIG.

    Reviewed by Tim on Mar 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    First of all if you are used to a 3 or 3-1/2 star resorts then you will be pleased with this place, but 4 stars??? not a chance, not even close, unless you are rating it on some of the staff. My experience, was fine, got my room and found blood droplets all across our floor, told the front desk and they would send someone up right away. Went downstairs for something to eat came back and could not get back into my room because locking mechanism was shot had to be replaced. Continued with our day. Elevators lol, they had 3 in our tower and only one worked the day we got there, it was hit and miss the rest of the two weeks mostly 2 worked, (FYI, the control panel that houses all the switches that is held on the wall by 10 screws, should not only have 1 screw holding it together and the piece of wood on the other door that make the door shut properly is a nice touch). We had the 16th floor fantastic view but don't look at the roof of the other tower because it looks like crap, along with the poor paint job and the old ladder lying up there. To many misses at this resort, poor workmanship in the up dating processes, our sink fell out in the middle of the night, a popular coffee bar that is staffed by one person with real long waits, some days getting towels for your rooms and some days not, having your Mini fridge refilled twice in two weeks(just ended up running to store and purchased our own water and beer), bars that sometimes are under staffed, having to be up by 7.30am and break the rules by putting towels on chairs if you plan on getting one, short at least 50 chairs, so many little things makes it impossible to call this place 4 stars, if not for the staff I'd give it a 2-1/2. Kids club was good the other couple we traveled with used it along with baby sitting, food was hit and miss sometimes hot sometimes cold, but there wings are fantastic and the Seaside grill was very good, bottom line a 3 dress up as a 9! Amresorts you ripped me off but why would you care!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    Stay Away!!!!

    Reviewed by Jaydsmom on Feb 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    I go to PVR 2-3 times a year and have never been disappointed until now. We booked the Oceanfront Romance Suite with Sunclub. Not only was it not oceanfront, we overlooked the kiddie pool and the building the garbage is kept behind. The room with filthy. The food was abysmal and cross contamination everywhere. I have Crohn's and can't eat meat but all the food was cooked together. My husband's burger was raw, and there was mold on the food! (I have pictures). The timeshare is a very hard sell, they push it constantly and when you say no, they get angry. We stayed 2 nights and paid WJ an additional $6200 for a different hotel. The hotel charged us a 4 night penalty, and then didn't even give us the one night back because we stayed after check-out, but only because they kept us there talking, and wouldn't let us leave. Worst experience ever. DO NOT stay here like us, or your $6000 vacation will suddenly be a $12,000 vacation for 7 days when you realize you cannot stay a day longer in this place.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    M

    Think twice!

    Reviewed by Mouse17 on Dec 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Highly disappointing: -$45 per day charge for room service -only wifi in the small entrance area (not anywhere else in the hotel) -mini bar fridge was not restocked...sign says to call concierge for beverages...they told me fridge would be restocked day before we leave -tap on bathroom sink is loose and shower pours under the glass door all over the bathroom by the toilet -shower door opens to bang into the other bathroom door -holes in the curtains in the room -sheets leave fabric balls in the blankets my kids brought with them -my husband asked for a table for 5 in the main restaurant when it was nearly empty... the staff told him all 5 people had to be present to get the table -I tried to order an item off the menu and was told I had to sit in a separate area to order (choose buffet area OR a la carte area) -had to ask the servers to clear our plates from the table -snacks and sandwiches at coffee/snack stand taste stale -wanted to take a snack from Mexican restaurant to the lobby bar but one must sit down and eat the food at the restaurant -selection at buffet is limited for a 4 star... only two types of ice cream, two types of fruit in the serving tray... food is good but certainly not exceptional -only one main pool too deep for my 8 and 10 year old to touch the bottom and then a very small baby pool -daughter of 8 years said Kids Club was for babies -roped off area at the beach is small - kids get bored quickly -gym is extremely limited... another guest who I don?t know said, ?It?s hard to know what to choose... there is so little choice.? -Tv/music in the gym didn?t work -water flooding over the balcony of a room into the lobby (see video) -display Christmas tree in lobby is dying -cushions in entrance wifi area are dirty Overall, just not the cleanliness, service, or amenities expected.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    P

    Pool dirty not heated/and cool

    Reviewed by Patrick on Sep 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    No

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    p

    poor

    Reviewed by patrick on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    pool unheated not enought chairs around pool fridge never restocked

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    B

    Overall just an average experience compared to others, would not stay here again. Location Great! and Desk staff were excellent!

    Reviewed by Becca1977 on Apr 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a very dated hotel, but was clean and the staff did their best to accommodate. Limited seating at pool and beach. Dissappointed with Bar Service, Drinks were overly strong and not mixed well, did not enjoy many things, and don't consider myself to be overly fussy, also was ignored many times, money talks, have a tip in hand, if you want a drink quickly.. Food and staff was best at Tiki Taco, Italian and Seafood, other choices okay but nothing special. Some staff were excellent, while others were just okay, did not find many to be overly invested or friendly like I have experienced at other places.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3167 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Entertainment Staff

    Reviewed by Zurdo R() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I would like to thank Marisol Ríos for all her help and always show enthusiasm and good energy. She is great at what she does and my wife and I always enjoy the activities with her. Thank you so much for your great work, we Will keep coming because of you.

    Lots of family fun :)

    Reviewed by Meg_Oregon() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our group consisted of 3 mamas and 6 kids. We spent 7 days at the resort and didn’t want to leave! There were activities for kids of all ages. Our 12 year olds participated in all the pool games and the older kids played the volleyball and soccer games against the entertainment staff. We felt very comfortable letting the kids do their thing at the resort without hovering. Special thank you to Marcos, Juan Luis, Xander and Gerardo for being so attentive to the kids and our beverage needs! We didn’t make it to the Italian restaurant-which we heard was delicious. However, we really enjoyed Tiki Taco and Seaside Grill. We ate at the buffet the first night and unfortanely no one in the group enjoyed it. I recommend trying the other spots!

    Great time

    Reviewed by Chellemarie2012(Grants Pass, Oregon) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I would like to thank the staff, especially Xander, Marco's, Jose Luis, and Gerardo. They were amazing and very attentive. The hotel was clean. The food was good. The staff to a lot of time to make sure the activity for both adults and kids were fun. The food was very good. The only meal I did not like was the dinner in the buffet.

    Clean Resort with Friendly Staff

    Reviewed by lorena_lcl() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We really enjoyed our stay while at Sunscape. My boyfriend and I spent a week there and were not disappointed. During check-in, there are multiple people around to assist you with anything you need whether it has to do with your room or booking excursions. There is a marketplace area to buy souvenirs, sunscreen, medication, or clothing. It was nice to have those items conveniently within the hotel. The pool is very clean and large. It is right next to the beach with plenty of spots to lay out in the sun or relax under an umbrella. There are three bars and multiple restaurants including a 24-hour coffee shop so we were very well fed. The buffet for dinner changed every night keeping things interesting. We enjoyed all the food except for the Asian night which was slightly disappointing. Our favorite staff member was Jose Luis who was our waiter at the World Cafe for three dinners. He clearly has a love for Puerto Vallarta. We could've talked with him all night. He was an excellent waiter who kept our drinks full and checked in often. Another highlight of our trip was thanks to the Sunscape entertainment team! They had a show every night with different dances and themes. & they kept guest entertained during the day with pool and beach activities. Thank you, Marcos, for inviting us to participate in the excitement! The only bump in the road we experienced was with luggage. There was a miscommunication when we checked in as our luggage was not waiting for us in the room. At the end of the stay as well we were waiting on our luggage downstairs. A miscommunication where my boyfriend and I didn't understand the process completely that could've been easily avoided by clearer expectations. All in all, we would stay here again! We recommend it. Thank you to all the staff!

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Great Resort, Great Staff

    Reviewed by tiffanydesanko(Sherwood Park, Canada) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband & I visited this resort in July of 2019 and from the moment we arrived at the checkin counter we were immediately welcomed. The front desk staff were all so accommodating and they asked all of our questions and concerns we had about the resort. Not to long after we arrived at the hotel we were already in our room, the service was fast and simple. The bell boys also helped carry our suit cases up to our room and were so kind and polite while doing so. We arrived to our room which was out looking the ocean where my husband and I enjoyed a complimentary bottle of champagne and watched the sunset. The rooms were modern and tidy, and the house keeping service was wonderful. My husband and I arrived on a Wednesday, which just so happened to be guests vs. animation staff. My husband and I were hesitant in participating but Axel (Alexander), (human blender) Dany and lastly Martin who encouraged us into participating. We had to much fun and created so many memories. We will definitely be back as the staff at resorts make the place.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX