Sunscape Puerto Vallarta Resort & Spa

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    M

    Think twice!

    Reviewed by Mouse17 on Dec 14, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Highly disappointing: -$45 per day charge for room service -only wifi in the small entrance area (not anywhere else in the hotel) -mini bar fridge was not restocked...sign says to call concierge for beverages...they told me fridge would be restocked day before we leave -tap on bathroom sink is loose and shower pours under the glass door all over the bathroom by the toilet -shower door opens to bang into the other bathroom door -holes in the curtains in the room -sheets leave fabric balls in the blankets my kids brought with them -my husband asked for a table for 5 in the main restaurant when it was nearly empty... the staff told him all 5 people had to be present to get the table -I tried to order an item off the menu and was told I had to sit in a separate area to order (choose buffet area OR a la carte area) -had to ask the servers to clear our plates from the table -snacks and sandwiches at coffee/snack stand taste stale -wanted to take a snack from Mexican restaurant to the lobby bar but one must sit down and eat the food at the restaurant -selection at buffet is limited for a 4 star... only two types of ice cream, two types of fruit in the serving tray... food is good but certainly not exceptional -only one main pool too deep for my 8 and 10 year old to touch the bottom and then a very small baby pool -daughter of 8 years said Kids Club was for babies -roped off area at the beach is small - kids get bored quickly -gym is extremely limited... another guest who I don?t know said, ?It?s hard to know what to choose... there is so little choice.? -Tv/music in the gym didn?t work -water flooding over the balcony of a room into the lobby (see video) -display Christmas tree in lobby is dying -cushions in entrance wifi area are dirty Overall, just not the cleanliness, service, or amenities expected.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    P

    Pool dirty not heated/and cool

    Reviewed by Patrick on Sep 05, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    No

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    p

    poor

    Reviewed by patrick on Apr 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    pool unheated not enought chairs around pool fridge never restocked

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    B

    Overall just an average experience compared to others, would not stay here again. Location Great! and Desk staff were excellent!

    Reviewed by Becca1977 on Apr 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This is a very dated hotel, but was clean and the staff did their best to accommodate. Limited seating at pool and beach. Dissappointed with Bar Service, Drinks were overly strong and not mixed well, did not enjoy many things, and don't consider myself to be overly fussy, also was ignored many times, money talks, have a tip in hand, if you want a drink quickly.. Food and staff was best at Tiki Taco, Italian and Seafood, other choices okay but nothing special. Some staff were excellent, while others were just okay, did not find many to be overly invested or friendly like I have experienced at other places.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    A tired 3 star resort that needs work

    Reviewed by Chris on Mar 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed at the Sunscpe Resort which was promoted as a 4 star rating. Upon arrival, our bus was not allowed to enter the resort to drop us off. We never were able to get a clear answer why this happened. We had to carry our bags about 500 meters to the hotel. Upon checking into our room, there were several issues: the safe was not secured to the wall & we called to have it fixed; there were several tiles broken on the floor; we had to request face clothes; there was no dresser or luggage rack (we requested a luggage rack but it was not available); there were no towel holders; the bathroom fawcett was quite loose (made it difficult to control water temperature, requested to have it fixed but they never did fix it). It was obvious that this resort was tired. The sink part of the bathroom was very small. The resort has a capacity for about 1100 guests but the pool area only has seating for maybe 300. If you don't claim your spot by the pool by 800am in the morning, you may be out of luck! The food selection is limited & gets old after a few days. Best to stick with the Italian restaurant in the evenings. If you are concerned about flies & ants on your food, avoid the outside buffet. There was a good selection of daily activities & evening shows were fun. The staff at the resort were quite helpful & it was obvious that many things were beyond their control. The ocean front massage service was great. The beach was nice but not very good for walking. The ocean view from our room was a positive. We ventured into the old town part of Puerto Vallarta - very dirty & no shortage of hawkers & peddlers. Very disappointing compared to other places we have been to in Mexico. The noon check out time meant that we had to vacate our room relatively early compared to our early evening flight time. I hope Westjet Vacations does their homework & selects something better for a 4 star resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Not a 2 star would not return, I hope WestJet contacts me so I can explain it all

    Reviewed by Ray on Jan 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Pros, Check in, room as advertised, staff friendly. Room face cloths it took 3 days to get some, we asked and asked, bar fridge never refilled once, Carlos sold us a trip not good experience, No straws in drinks that is ok but let people know to bring cups , food was sort of ok, no lounge chairs to be found, they need more, sun Club not worth cost we paid. Shows ok, no reservations and restaurants but 2 hour waits, drinks ok, Would not return or recommend

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    C

    We loved our stay at Sunscape

    Reviewed by Carol on Jan 06, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Loved our.Xmas vacation, great place for kids. Accommodating staff, good food, great entrainment at night. New Years Eve party amazing party, hotel went all out. Lots of activites for kids to do. Would go back to Sunscape.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Needs a lot more work to be a four star resort.

    Reviewed by Bitten in PV. on Feb 18, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Unfortunately this resort has been way over rated. Time share people attack you the minute you check in and then give you the hard sell on their vacation plan. There are a lot of stairs with no railings , there is no individual handicap washroom, the internet reception is terrible, one day there was black soot all over the surface of the swimming pool, the renovations have been done too quickly and lack quality.. and some showers have improper slant to the floor and flood the whole room, others just flood the bathroom. Towels are hard to come by to clean up the mess. If you choose the stairs instead of the two elevators for nine floors, they are dark and filthy. They regularly run out of supplies, the room mini fridges were only stocked with two small bottles of beer and never replaced during our two weeks there even though we asked. Long line ups at the omelette station in the buffet at least 30 min. 2 or 3 times , bars regularly run out of supplies and liquor. It is a nice location.. we could walk into downtown in less than an hour, and the food was decent although some was not prepared properly.. avoid the pizza in the Italian restaurant. There were not enough lounge chairs, tables or umbrellas around the pool or on the beach for all the guests and there were no tables with chairs to sit at except at the pool grill. We can excuse some disorganization from the hard working restaurant, bar and entertainment staff as they are all pretty new. The beds were old and the sheets had those little pills all over them, so it was uncomfortable sleeping. Something left me and others with a lot of bites all over my arms and legs.. we think it was in the mattress although we did not actually see a bug. We did not spend much time on the sand not sure where they stored the mattresses while the renos were done . I still have itchy bites after being home for two weeks! I don't think this is anymore than a 2.5 star resort at this time.. needs a lot more work.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Mary on Jan 30, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    Newly renovated and just opened in December this hotel is doing very well, with a few hiccups!! The staff are amazing, and the place is very well done. We had lots of fun and enjoyed one of the largest beaches in PV. Loved every minute of our time there. Great location as well., 12 min by bus to airport or downtown.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2624 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    This resort has amazing staff, they will go the extra mile

    Reviewed by snowolf1999(Vancouver) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We were at the Sunscape January 26th, 2019 and left on February 9, 2019. Check in was smooth and we were given a room on the 12th floor overlooking the resort and the Ocean. The room was clean, comfortable, exactly what we had booked, with a nice area for our Granddaughter. Cierollo was the waiter to have in the Buffett area. He always remembered our drink selections and made us feel welcome. There was always something to find to eat in the Buffett, but it never was hot. The food at the Seaside Grill was tasty, but again the temperature of the food was lukewarm. The Di Mario Italian restaurant was so delicious. The homemade pizza was given high marks from anyone who had one. The Risotto Scampi was so good, and the filet we had with it was cooked perfectly, and tender. Yum to the canolli. We attended Di Mario a few times. Each time we were at the Di Mario the staff seemed to not know what each other should be doing. Plates of food were being brought out in a timely manner, but no one seemed to know which table they should serving the food too. This resulted in tables having 1/2 their table fed while the other 1/2 waited. I would say this is the most popular restaurant at the resort, so it did get pretty busy. So when things went off with meal delivery, it really went off. The cost of wifi in your room is very expensive, which seems strange as so many places offer it for free in this day and age. Stairs were everywhere, so if you have mobility issues, this could be a problem. The Sunscape is a fun resort with lots for kids to do. Movie each night down by the ocean was a hit with our teen.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Totally satisfied

    Reviewed by Nbillows(Vernon, Canada) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Spent three weeks in the resort and not a single complaint. Food was great with lots of variety. The location was perfect. Right in the middle of Puerto Valarda on the main bus route which allowed us to travel to all the main tourist spot with ease.the pool area was nicely played out and the beach was great with ample loungers. The sun club up grade was definitely worth it. Enjoyed the private beach area and the private lounge. Over all the resort was way above our expectations and we will definitely be returning.The staff were amazing helping with any question or concerns.

    AWESOME TIME

    Reviewed by Jose R() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hello everyone, I have spent a great time at this place again. Since it's not the first time I have been there. I have really enjoyed and relax and the Corezone area with Marisol, my kids had a great time and I highly recommended. Thanks again for another great time.

    OK Resort

    Reviewed by Mark P(Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed 1-31 to 2-7. The resory and our roof top suite was really nice, and clean. The buffet food was always cold, and we usually had to wait in line to get a seat. The staff was excellant, but there were more guests than they could handle. The 1 outside bar thet they have was always closed by 10:30 or earlier if they didn't have a show, then you had to go to the inside noisy lobby bar. Coming from Wisconsin, I look forward to sitting outside as much as possible. The super bowl party was awesome. It is a decent resort, but there are better places for the same money.

    Sunscape Jan 27 to Feb 8 2019

    Reviewed by tlr2019() on Feb 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Here are the positive and negative that we experienced. Positive: We very were pleased with our rooms, clean with super comfortable beds, working air conditioner and a beautiful view overlooking the pool and ocean. Our favorite meal of the day was breakfast. Zitlalyth's genuine greeting every morning always put a smile on our faces. As we enjoyed our perfectly fresh made omelets the friendly and thoughtful serving staff made a great start to our day. Special thank you to Miguel. Everyone from hospitality staff to maintenance workers are amazing and will always greet you with a Ola and a smile no matter how hard they are working. Amazing beach with safe swimming area From the resort we were fortunate to see whales breaching in the bay on 2 seperate occasions The put on an over the top NFL Superbowl party Extravaganza As a previous person wrote in his review (I hope he doesn't mind that I quoted him) "One thing that I have never seen before that I am still amazed at is the way they control the pesty birds around the resort, they have a guy there every day with trained hawks who fly around periodically during the day to chase away the birds who like to get into the food that is being served. I think that is something every resort needs to do, what a nice touch and really helped keep down the birds trying to steal food and make a mess everywhere. Negative: Pillows are not so great Housekeeping can be performed anywhere between 9:00am to 09:00pm so you never know when they will be in your room. Finding a beach or pool chair almost impossible. You need to be on the beach by 6:30 to get a palapas or by the pool by 8:30 to get a chair. There are signs stating you can leave your chair for one hour after which your items will be moved (this policy should be carried out) as you will have no where to sit for the day. Beach vendors are allowed within the roped area which becomes annoying There is quite a bit of pressure to attend one of their presentations If you are looking for a quite getaway this is not the resort for you as there are constant activities and blaring music throughout the day and evening.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX