Sol Palmeras

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    T

    Jamie, Elvis, Suzie and all of the rest of the Sol palmeras team - thank you and I look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

    Reviewed by Terry on Jul 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I simply can not say enough about my stay at Sol Palmeras. From the moment of arrival to departure I was constantly being impressed with how clean the resort and beach were to the high level of care that the staff showed to the guests. Honestly, I was blown away by the place. the food was excellent and varied every evening, the drinks were well poured and general atmosphere was perfect for a good relaxing visit. There is no question that I will be back and have already recommended it several friends and family. Well done guys and thank you for an amazing visit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Never would go back.

    Reviewed by Greg on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not go back. The buffet was almost the same stuff every day and there were lots of flies. The specialized restaurants were good. The beach was great. The pool needed a good cleaning. People were reserving chairs early at the pool and beach. I know this is a common problem at most resorts. The only thing is to do it too or you won't get a seat. There was lots of room by the pool and beach where they could easily add more seats. The service was slow at times in the buffet area and the bars. There was always an elevator not working, at one time both of them were not working. This was a problem for my wife who uses a walker. Nothing to do with the resort but it was a problem bringing the walker into and leaving Cuba. Not a good country to go to if you have mobility issues.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    I can't wait to visit again. I love this place.

    Reviewed by Sheila on Jul 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this vacation! The staff were wonderful. Betty, Nivia, Yerandi, Elvis, Diennis, Roniel, Fidel and I'm sorry for all the names I can not remember. You made this stay so memorable. The beach is a short walk and the white sand is so soft and clean. The cleaning staff were exceptional and all facilities were kept neat and smelled fresh. Our room had clean sheets and towel everyday. Bar service was friendly and the drinks were good. I made friends I will remember always.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fifth Visit Even Better

    Reviewed by Goober on Apr 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Fifth time at Sol Palmeras, love it here. the only problem was with the WIFI , very poor service. Had a problem with our hair dryer in our bungalow, fixed within the hour. Hot water was weak but again fixed the next day! Lots of improvements to furniture and painting outside of bungalows.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    Great hotel.

    Reviewed by Vlad on Nov 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    1. Location of this place is just great. Not too far from the city taxi will cost you 4-5 CUCs not too close for the locals to come over and make the beach filthy sorry, but that's harsh reality . 2. Hotel is dated, but they try to keep it up. It does not work 100% but at least they try, and it's nice to see. Some painting going on, etc. Good. 3. Rooms. Same, dated but decent. We lived in a bungalow, it was great. Two working ACs, we actually used one, was well enough. Clean beds very firm though... , clean sheets, excellent maids tip them and they will keep you happy! . Very spacious. Living room with a modern TV, Bedroom with a modern TV and an array of channels to choose from. Telephone, iron, hair dryer. A free safe box, yes, a FREE safe storage box, you don't have to pay for like in other hotels sometimes 7CUCs for day! . Great feature, thanks a lot for that! 4. Food. Great selection, very nice quality in the buffet restaurant. 5. Staff is amazing! Very friendly and relaxed people. Except an old lady in the internet place. She is plain rude. 6. La carte restaurants. Same. Great food, but limited selection. It's OK though. No complaints here. Make sure you reserve your restaurant 2 days ahead at the reception desk. There are 5 in total. 7. Bars. Too bad they do not have machines for slushy drinks.... Everything else is great. Coffee is very tasty, especially cappuccino. Great selection of cocktails, international and domestic drinks and liquors. 8. Entertainment. Daily activities are great, lots of stuff to do! Night entertainment is not great at all. Unfortunately. 9. Snorkeling. If you are facing the beach, go to your left to hit some shallow snorkeling. 10. Internet. There is internet over WiFi. 2 CUCs per hour. You must buy a card from the internet center for a password. CAUTION! When you are done, make sure to hit "DISCONNECT" from the provider's main page. Otherwise, they will continue to count your time as active and you may end up spending 2 CUC.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7576 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    HOLIDAY

    Reviewed by Alittlesquirl() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I loved it here! The beaches was very nice aswell! The water was hot in the ocean! The food was very good. Good entertainment. Nice rooms. I would love to come here again soon! Also, Nice coffee and drinks.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Sol Palmeras

    Reviewed by Shmitty1973() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We arrived 11 am at the hotel to check in. Check in was rushed with no formal greeting. Simply told cabin 210. Rang the bell and luggage loaded on to golf cart and taken to bungalow. There was 2 large cockroaches at the base of our front door so I just pushed them away. We didn’t unpack just changed to go to the pools. There were zero seats available so we just sat on our towels. Pool bar had great service the first day of course cause we gave a 5$ tip. Dinner was soon so we went back to our cabin to change and our cabin was full of ants. We went to buffet for dinner which was good. Went to see what time the show started and not till 9:30 pm but kids were too tired. Woke up Friday morning with my legs full of bug bites as well as my wife. Left our sign out for room service. Came back to room later and had no water or coffee left for us. Had to buy some that day. Lunch at the beach but ran out of food quickly. Back to buffet. Animation team which consists of mostly males is horrible. They only payed attention to women 18-25. I asked one of them if my kids could participate and was told no cause prizes are alcohol. They only had activities for kids from 1-4pm with Robin who is great with kids. Saturday was pretty much the same as well as Sunday. Monday my son was feeling under the weather so it was an ant filled cabin day. Tuesday my son started vomiting and stomach pains. Cabin day. Wednesday morning had to rush son to doctors. Diagnosed with food poisoning. Gave meds for it. Doctor was great. Cabin day. Thursday was check out day thank goodness. Went to exchange a 20$ canadian which had the smallest tear in it and was rudely told I no take small tear by a hairless man and he walked away. Man at exchange is extremely rude. Was told shuttle will come at 5 pm didn’t show till 5:45. Airport very busy when leaving and very slow. So in conclusion 1. Resort horrible 2. Service horrible 3. Animation horrible 4. Cleanliness horrible 5. Watch the food will get food poisoning 6. Nobody knows what’s happening I can go on forever but just let me tell you resort is no good for young families. Oh ya. When we went to pay doctors bill there was 6 other people in there with food poisoning. I know this cause I spoke to all of them.

    A wonderful holiday

    Reviewed by jauntytraveller59() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What an oasis on Varadero. We stayed six nights in one of the beach bungalows in the 200 range. Right from our arrival the staff did the very best they could to make our holiday an unforgetable one. The location of our bungalow was excellent, a short walk from both the hotel and the beach. The bungalow itself was very comfortable with a large bed, walk in wardrobe, sitting room and bathroom with both a bath and sink area and large walk in shower, with plenty of toiletries supplied. We felt relaxed and on holiday from the first moment. There was no shortage of choice and overall we would have said that you could always find something to eat that would suit you. We tried all six restaurants and would particularly recommend the Chinese, Italian and Latino. We tried the little beach bar and snacks, where the burgers, with make your own salad and dressings were great. There is a good barbeque just off the beach too. The ice cream and juice bar were welcome and all staff provided service with a smile. Whilst the beach itself was quite busy, we always managed to find a couple of sunbeds and if we hadn't there was plenty of room to lay your towels. It is without doubt the nicest beach we have seen, with white sand and crystal clear water. In the afternoon the coffee and daily cocktails in the lounge bar on the first floor of the hotel were particularly welcome and the staff all tried really hard to please. Overall an unforgettable holiday. We would highly recommend the Sol Palmeras.

    best food ever

    Reviewed by Angele L() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is my seventh trip to Cuba. And this is been the best resort for overall satisfaction From checking to check out the staff at the resort were more than helpful and always smiling and providing you with the service that show the quality of the environment What was my big surprise was quality of the food. I have never expected that the food to be as delicious as it was. We were told that we had two à la carte reservations that we could make by our travel agent The resort allowed us to make five reservations. The food was exceptional at all à la carte restaurants. We attended daily aqua gym, yoga, dance and tai chi classes. The entertainment staff were great. As with most hotels in cuba the beds were definitely not comfortable ( why I rated a 4.0 The rooms were nice. Cleaned everyday. I would visit this hitel again without a doubt

    Beautiful Vacation Spot

    Reviewed by JZiegler13(Saskatoon, Canada) on Mar 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just came home a couple days ago from staying at Sol Palmeras. My parents stayed there a couple years ago in the bungalows and loved it so we decided to stay there with this being our first visit to Cuba. My parents loved the food, the people, the beach, and the accommodations. We choose to get a Superior Renovated room on the 4th floor. My husband prefers a room with a view so that is why we choose it over the bungalows. The room was clean, updated, and we had a fantastic view. One suggestion would be to bring washcloths if you are used to using them to wash your face or in the shower as the hotel doesn't have any. Our bar was always stocked with beer and soft drinks and we were provided a bottle of water every day. We asked for a room with a Queen bed but our room had two single beds pushed together. I'm not sure if this is normal for Cuba but we just went with it. The food was great. I've been to Mexico many times and I liked the food at Sol Palmeras better. Our favourites were the Italian, International and Chinese restaurants. The buffet was always very busy and loud but the food was fine. We were able to get dinner reservations every night we stayed there. For breakfast we preferred to eat at the Latino restaurant as it was quiet and outside (between the main hotel and the pool) and the food was great. The best coffee is at the Lobby Bar. For lunch the best burgers were at a place where there is little cold pools and cabanas in the middle of the bungalows. They had cheese, ham and eggs available to put on your burger. They were served made to order. For lunch my husband loved the BBQ chicken located just before the beach. The entertainment was great. We didn't miss a show all week and loved them all. There are activities going all day long at the pool and beach. I can't speak to the pool (We didn't go to it once). I think we went during a very busy time of the year as pool and beach chairs, as well as, shade were near impossible to find unless you got up early (7:00 am) and put your towels out. Which you are advised not to do as they charge you for your towels if someone takes them. My parents had told me before we booked our vacation that they never had issues getting a spot when they went. So I wasn't expecting to have such issues. The beach was fantastic. The sand was soft. The water was crystal clear and shallow. The beach was long and all beaches are public so you could walk along for as long as you want. We did a day trip to Havana that we booked through Sunwing (who we booked our vacation with). Orlando did our orientation at the resort and booked our day trip. He was great and we had a great time in Havana. There was a lady who was the Sunwing rep for the last part of our stay and she was awful. I didn't get her name as. She was extremely annoyed with everyone wether you wanted to book excursions or had flight questions. She was rude and was constantly rolling her eye. There was no killing this woman with kindness. She hated her job. Money was a bit of an issue for us. We brought Canadian currency and we had to get it exchanged at the hotel. They short changed us every time. In Havana nowhere we went accepted credit cards and at the mall most places didn't accept credit cards. There is a double decker bus that you can take up and down the peninsula for the day for $5 CUC. The hotel provides a little train that will pick you up and take you to the mall and back. It comes on the hour. You can also walk there in about 10-15 minutes. The Sol Palmeras staff were lovely. They were all friendly and helpful. We would recommend staying here to anyone and would love to go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX