Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9421 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice Resort- Good Trip

    Reviewed by Navigator09090484883() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We recently stayed at the Catalonia and had a great time. We stayed in a privileged room. I wouldn't say it was anything particularly special but it was comfortable and clean. It was also nice and quiet which is important to us. I like that we had free room service and it was always good and came quickly. The staff throughout the resort were friendly and the service for the most part was good. We didn't get great service in the buffet but I have experienced that in other resorts as well, probably volume of people. The restaurants were very nice and the food was good. I like that you weren't limited to how many restaurants you could go to but I think a reservation system might have worked better. It was challenging to wait in line with a four year old. I wasn't crazy about the kids club. There seemed to be a lot of activities for adults but not so much for the little ones. I think it would be great to have more activities for the kids throughout the day around the pool and at the beach. We went to the kids club one day and it wasn't even open. They called the caregiver who came but said she wouldn't be doing any of the scheduled activities because there was only my child. It shouldn't matter how many children there are, there should still be activities. The beach had a lot of seaweed but it was still nice and the pool was clean and nice. There always seemed to be chairs at both. Overall a great vacation and a nice resort. I would go back for sure!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    2nd Catalonia, okay visit

    Reviewed by JacquelineJ413(Boston, Massachusetts) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    After having a great experience at the Catalonia in Punta Cana we decided to give one of them a try in the Cancun/Riviera Maya area of Mexico. The preferred one we wanted to go to (Royal Tulum) was booked and I couldn’t find much of a difference between this and the Riviera Maya one so I gave this a go. In comparison to the Punta Cana location, this one was just okay. The warmth and hospitality was lacking in comparison. Quick rundown of comparison between the two: Best privileged room - Playa Maroma Best food selection - Punta Cana Best hospitality - Punta Cana Best amenities - Punta Cana Overall, we are looking forward to visiting the La Romana location later this year but don’t know if the difference in service is due to culture or location.

    Fab

    Reviewed by supermumDerby(derby) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great place to stay, friendly staff, nice cool room, great food, especially the omelettes. Enjoyed the breeze on the beach although lots of seaweed which can’t be helped and they do their best to clean it up.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful Beach!

    Reviewed by banditsnarfer() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Beach area is the best I have encountered in Riviera Maya/Cancun area. There was seaweed for the first few days (normal - it's nature) but crews worked to keep it clear. Beach is very flat, easy to walk out. Very friendly staff, excellent service. Rooms are average but clean. Food was average but can always find something tasty to eat.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Not worth the risk

    Reviewed by Rob M() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    So I arrived at the resort and they tell me the hotel was overbooked and I had to go to another resort 30+ minutes away. I told them I didn't want to stay at a different resort but they said they had no rooms, gave me zero options, and the 5 customer service people spoke amongst themselves giggling while I stood there looking like a fool. After much debate - They said I could stand in the lobby all night but they still would not have any rooms. They forced me to sign a document and put me a cab to there sister resort in Playa del Carmen - I could not believe that I paid to go on vacation somewhere and was forced to go 25 miles away(about an hour - by cab) to what I affectionately call seaweed hell; Or sit in the lobby for 5 days? I have never been treated so callously at what is supposed to be a 4+ star resort. On the hotel paperwork, I originally had a room but it was whited out along with my vacation... Multiple others were also forced to go to this sister property, BOOK AT YOUR OWN RISK! Or better yet pick another resort bc like myself and many others they overbook the nice resort and send you to the shippy(tt) one...

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX