Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cancun
    5. Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort
    6. Sandos Cancun Lifestyle Resort review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    V

    Not a 5 star resort, 4 star at best.

    Reviewed by Vancouver on Jun 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Not a 5 star resort, 4 star at best. Would not return.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    Staff were amazing, Westjet and hotel advertised amenities were disappointing.

    Reviewed by DW on Apr 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    I have to start by saying all the staff at this resort are amazing. We were disappointed with the resort and Westjet's promotion of this as their Exclusive Luxury Collection. After research we booked this resort because they had a tennis court, gym and water activities. When we arrived we discovered the tennis court was under renovation, which was not indicated anywhere on their website. Their only solution was we could go to their sister resort to play which would have cost us 50 dollars per cab ride there. The gym was nice and yoga class was particularly good with Adam. The resort claimed to know nothing about the Westjet exclusive deal and refused us the advertised free access to the spa facility. This was corrected after several phone calls and a few days of wrangling. The Westjet rep also promised to find a solution for us for tennis and we never heard back from them. This resort has a beautiful pool area and beach area and is small and quaint. The food was good. If you are an active person or have active teenagers this resort would not be a good choice. However, if you want a relaxing quiet holiday this would be a good fit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    E

    We loved our stay, excellent service, very good food. Definitely will go back

    Reviewed by Ewa on Jul 11, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    Definitely

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 5895 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Would Not Stay Here Again!

    Reviewed by Jen C() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not the best hotel - would not stay here again! I took my elderly mom on her first trip/stamp in her passport and therefore service and good amenities were key. I wasn't expecting the RITZ but I was expecting things to be working and good service and handicap accommodations. While some rated this place great - others rated it less than that - and are the ones to take note of. We were there from 7/31 - 8/6/2019. Hotel Facilities: Elevators: Most days only one elevator out of three worked and at one point, no elevator was working for guests, and I had to use a staff elevator behind closed doors. Not good if you have someone handicapped as there are no ground floor rooms. Not once did I see all three elevators working. Room Issues Galore: Our initial room was spacious but the AC never stopped running, you literally could not turn it off and twice there was a large amount of water on the tile floor at night - not good for someone to slip on. Halfway through our stay they requested we transfer to another room because of continued leaks and issues with our current room AC. The new room had an AC that worked - but no hot water in the shower. It was lukewarm and we just put up with it as we were so tired of room issues and the last thing we wanted to do was switch rooms again. Also we had a fairly decent balcony ocean view in our initial room, but when they moved us, it was further back from the beach and very poor ocean view with our balcony overhanging the roof below for a patio bar. This was a huge disappointment for my mom as part of her entertainment with limited mobility was her great joy in sitting on the balcony people watching, and seeing the pool activities and ocean parasailing. It was very limited in the new room and very disappointing for the almost $1800 we paid. Food and Restaurants: The food was okay, but you had to get to a restaurant within a certain time because restaurants doubled as two different restaurants to make up the five they say they have. If you wanted nachos at 4:00 pm by the pool, no go - that restaurant was now closed - to be opened in the evening as a french bistro and it was the one by the pool with the ocean view. Accommodation for Handicapped. Don't go there! The hotel is very limited on this accommodation. The only restaurant during the day that sat near the ocean with casual food was the one converted to the French Bistro in the evening and a night club in later hours. It was a long walk from the hotel lobby outside in the heat for someone handicapped. If you're in great health as I was, no big deal, but if you're limited - forget it. If you took the shortest route it was three sets of stair steps around the three pools. In an attempt to accommodate handicapped people they've converted one long set of steps to a ramp, but it circles the outside of the pools and is the longest route to the restaurant in the heat for someone with a walker or wheel chair to navigate, yet it was the place we and everyone else wanted to be because of the ocean view and that's what we went for. Service: One day I had to call three times before I could get room service to answer and put in an order for breakfast. I was leaving for the day for a dolphin swim, and mom was staying in the room. When I went to leave the hotel I told Hotel Concierge that I had ordered room service for my mom quite some time ago but it had not come yet, could he please ensure she got it. Yes he said. When I returned in the afternoon I found she had never received the room service and was downstairs and had nothing to eat all day. Room service said they'd deliver - and Concierge said they'd been told it was delivered so they never checked. The Hotel Staff: The best part of this hotel 'for the most part' is the staff. They were all nice - except for one person who worked in the pool area for towels when I encountered him. Terrible Customer Service from Guy in Towel Area: The hotel had an event newsletter they passed out each day and one day I went down to sign up for the kayak trip that was offered most days at 10:00 a.m.. The guy was very unfriendly, asked me how old I was and when I told him he said, "We don't take anyone over 50" very arrogantly. I was shocked. I kayak at home and I'm a missionary and travel around the world, just got back from Siberia and did four trips to Uganda recently working at the South Sudan border with refugees. When I mentioned this, he very arrogantly said, "And when did you take these trips" as if it must have been years ago. This alone would cause me to never stay at this hotel again. It was an insult, and there was no age restriction in the event newsletter nor should there be and he was arrogant and snobbish. He was not even aware it was on the schedule when I first approached him, one of his co-workers showed him it was. Then he was irritated and told me i was the only one who'd expressed interest and if there were no others, it would not happen. Then he hit me with the age question. Finally a co-worker snobbishly said he'd sign me up and at that point I was so angry I just left and forgot about it. The whole things was a very bad experience. You sign a waiver form for everything anyway. I had just been parasailing the day before on the beach. I wish I'd gotten they guy's name but I didn't. But there were two others there who overheard the encounter. Overall Summary: I would not stay here again. Even if they remodeled based on the arrogant treatment when I requested the kayak trip. Two hotels down on the rights was the Hardrock Hotel with two swim-up bars and we were able to go in and view the facilities -much more accommodating for handicapped folks. Two hotels down on the left is the Royal Sands with a great swim up bar the Sandos had none. My mistake is I thought it did but I was looking at a Sandos in the wrong location. Both of these other hotels I would choose just by viewing their facilities over the Sandos. Even for a couple hundred more, you get what you pay for. But for what we paid, we should have had a room that worked, a view of the ocean which we requested and paid for, and elevators and room service that worked, and staff that do no arrogantly question you on age and treat you like you're interrupting them.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    One of a kind resort!

    Reviewed by monikaa013(Sayreville, New Jersey) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Staying at this resort, my family and I have never been treated with so much kindness and respect. Right from check in, all of the staff members try to get to know you on a personal level. Sergio, Martha, Louise and the whole concierge team were very organized and told us in detail what to expect from the hotel. Our room was spacious and had a partial ocean view along with the resort’s pools. The view was simply breathtaking. The only complaint I can think of is that the sliding door in our hotel room was difficult to open and close. The noise of the turbines from the surrounding hotel bothered us a bit but it was nothing we couldn't deal with. As for the cleanliness of the room, it exceeded our expectations as we had experienced terrible room service in past hotels. The areas around the hotel (pool, spas, restaurants) never showed an inch of dust anywhere. Service around the pool never stopped and we felt way too pampered by the waiters. There was always room to tan in the cabanas or lounge chairs.Thank goodness that the resort does not provide straws with the drinks to help fight the plastic pollution problem the world is dealing with! The food at each restaurant had tons of options to choose from, whether it was traditional Mexican, Italian or French. Food was always fresh and we even got to see how traditional Mayan coffee was prepared before our departure. All the waiters served with grace and elegance. Everyone was so professional and continuously asked us if we needed anything. The entertainment team was always enthusiastic, whether the events were inside or outside, day or night. Diego was truly the life of the party. On our last night, we were astonished to see rose petals on the bed as a goodbye. My tip to you: treat the employees with respect and respect will be shown back. Everyone here truly works intensively to provide the utmost quality of hospitality. We deeply appreciate all of the kindness we have received at Sandos, they truly make you feel like family.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Amazing experience

    Reviewed by Heena T(Doha, Qatar) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    David the manager and paulina the head conceirge were simply amazing..every need of ours was taken care of and the rest of the staff were so attentive. I have never experienced such amazing hospitality having travelled all around the world and staying in the best resorts money can buy. Kudos to the sandos hotel group Lots of love Vira kherghamwala

    Best spa ever

    Reviewed by Beshoy S() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was really kind upset about the food but someone his name is Josue ask me how's your stay. I explain to him . But I shock with his answer and his attitude. He tell me dont worry about it i will take care if you.my job to make sure you happy and enjoy your vacation here. And he give me discounts for double spa . And I was super happy . And everyday after he have to come make sure I am happy. I really really appreciate you Josue . You deserve 5 star .

    Great place to enjoy an all I exclusive vacation

    Reviewed by easalo01(Atlanta, Georgia) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    There were a couple of things I could have complained about but those were not on the resort completely. Our service was exceptional in all respects from Hostesses to bartenders, to front desk, management personnel, spa attendees, and entertainment leaders. Everyone was extremely nice, courteous, and prompt! I couldnt believe the service I got from Alejandro and Sergio at the front desk. We had a hiccup with the payment discussed but he corrected the issue and allowed us to sort it out with the management. Nicole who greeted us at the Zango restaurant was extremely kind and knowledgeable. Alex and Bernardo along with their manager were all top notch when it came to entertaining guests and keeping the energy level up!! Cesar and Angel were extremely helpful in the spa area and Angel is a premier masseuse. Josue was very kind and helpful as well. I cant remember the name of the valet but he was quick to carry our bags inside as well as get the car as we were late to checkout on our way to the airport. There are 5 restaurants inside the resort. 3 pools to choose from and it leads directly to a clean beach with awesome views of the ocean. I was utterly amazed and would love to come back. The only downfall was that the Jacuzzi was broken and the door to our room got left open one day after it was cleaned. Nothing was stolen so thank God for that. All in all it was a great experience and I highly recommend it. S/N if you are planning on having guests come and hang out they are NOT PERMITTED unless you purchase a day pass for them or an overnight bracelet. Just a heads up.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX