Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 6986 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    WOW!

    Reviewed by aurorasgirl() on Apr 19, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Fabulous stay! Booked thru Costco Travel and was even better than represented. Service was impeccable and cleanliness (especially during this COVID time) was top notch! Recommend making all your dinner reservations at beginning of stay - can always cancel if plans change. And if service good - TIP great....... like everywhere else, staff is so grateful to be working again! COVID testing to get back in the USA was simple and right at the hotel. Had a couple's massage at Spa and Gloria was so excellent that I had a second massage a couple of days later from her. Will go again!! (and we typically like to try new places). Very safe! Only complaint was our room was located by a sidewalk that staff used and was loud with carts and such rolling past in the mornings. Probably could of switched rooms but wasn't that bad as we get up early anyway. Beautiful Memories!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Our 15 day "escape." A wonderful time, but definitely some "issues." A LONG review!

    Reviewed by lsnhc(New Haven, Connecticut) on Apr 16, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just to frame our experience, in spite of some of the "issues" I'll talk about here, we added an extra day to our stay, so obviously, we very much enjoyed our first vacation since the start of the pandemic, both of us having received both of our vaccinations. We visited Royal Hideaway for 8 or 9 years in a row, from 1999 on, right after its opening, and obviously, loved it. By around 2010, we had grown to really enjoy the town of Playa and for several years, opted to stay in boutique hotels in town and enjoy the wonderful restaurants and sights. Coming back during the pandemic, we felt that being somewhat more isolated from town might be a better option,, so we opted to come back to RH, and yes, we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. As was the case in our prior visits, the staff truly was the most outstanding aspect of our enjoyment. Without fail, every single staff person we encountered - from managers to housekeepers - was certainly among the finest we have ever encountered in our travels. Special "shout outs" to our wonderful concierge, Susanna (Building 31), all of the wait staff in the breakfast and lunch venue (The Deck) - especially the manager, Samuel, who consistently went above and beyond any reasonable expectations. All of the pool staff were also fabulous, as mentioned in other reviews. I would also like to give a special mention to Angela, the Manager on Duty, who made us feel very much cared for and always addressed our concerns. So.......here is the good and not-so-good: GOOD: 1 - STAFF!!!!! As noted above, positively wonderful and 110% dedicated to making each guest feel as if you are the most important person! 2 - Facility itself: In spite of the fact that our first visit was more than 20 years ago, the facility looks as good and well maintained as it was then. Sure, there are newer and "glitzier" resorts along the Mayan Riviera, but RH has maintained itself as a very classy, well designed property. 3 - Some of the dining (yes....some!). With occupancy at a low level (30% when we arrived on 3/31 to a high of around 50% last weekend), only 2 out of the 5 dinner venues were open every night. In fairness, we are real foodies, so we might be more critical than other guests. We thought Azia offered the best dinners (we ate there 4 times), with everything consistently good. We had very good meals at both Ventanas and Palazzo, but for every "hit" there seemed to be a miss or near miss. In both of those restaurants, it felt that, at times, the menus were more ambitious than they needed to be. THE NOT-SO-GOOD: 1 - Let me say that I do realize that this issue was directly related to the hotel reopening in stages. The first room we were given was simply not ready for occupancy. It had a strong musty smell and the air conditioning was not working adequately. It is clear that this room had been "mothballed" and was just coming back into service. We were immediately given a new room and that was absolutely perfect - for 5 nights! 2 - On our 6th night, the air conditioning was not cooling the room nearly enough. We then had a series of 4 repairmen coming into the room (and on the roof) to fix it, each time telling us that it was all fixed and it would get cool very soon...and it did not happen. The next day, around the pool, virtually every guest was openly complaining that their rooms were unacceptably hot, so it was obvious that we were not alone. After 2+ days, we were finally told that, in fact, the main air conditioning unit for the entire resort had malfunctioned and it was now fixed. What I resented most was not that there was a problem - that was probably to be expected as the resort continued to expand its reopening - but rather that we were "gaslighted" for close to 3 days as to the problem, at various points being told that even though our rooms were considerably warmer than previously, they were all in compliance with acceptable temperatures. This was patently untrue and we should have been given the facts earlier on. 3 - As I said, while we did enjoy most of our meals, not all succeeded. In fact, a couple were downright awful. We never did eat dinner at The Grill, but our one dinner in Spices was downright awful. My wife was served a piece of fish which was largely inedible and nothing was terribly good. Another complaint was that given there was only one option for breakfast and lunch, these meals got very repetitive and more than a bit boring. Again, I do understand the issues of being compelled to operate the hotel at a significantly reduced occupancy, but I cannot help but to remember the great lunches and breakfasts in Spices during our earlier visits. So........all in all, weighing the issues the hotel had to deal with in these difficult times, we were as understanding as possible and did not let the bumps in the road diminish our wonderful time at Royal Hideaway. It remains a terrific property and it was "just what the doctor ordered" as we ventured out for the first time in 13 months.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Our favorite place.... but disappointed this time

    Reviewed by Kristen G() on Apr 16, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We have come to this resort many times and typically our entire experience is amazing! Unfortunately this time there were huge gaps. I personally sent a note to the resort email to express my concerns..... no response. I sent another one ..... no response. I talked to someone in management and they assured me the manager would reach out to me.... No follow up. I reached again to the same management staff and he assured me he relayed the message and he would follow up.... no response! We are very thankful to be here and understand they were closed for eight months and quantity may be adjusted but NOT QUALITY. The staff at this facility are amazing. Havier at the pool bar (who is one of the only returning staff) was the ONLY person who reached out to me. The breakfast and lunch food options and set up are under par and typically leave you with cold food and tired of the repetitive options or lack there of. There have been room maintenance issues and significant communication gaps since many employees do not speak fluent English. I am hopeful that the quality of this resort improves, as the deficits were noticed by many returning guests and new.

    Excellent "boutique" resort. Beautiful view!

    Reviewed by Nancy J(South Hill, Virginia) on Apr 15, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second trip to Royal Hideaway Playacar. The first time was 11 years ago and was owned by Occidental and this time Barcelo. I must say last visit seems like Occidental spent more money in the Resort, but with that being said, we are in the middle of pandemic and I realize the Resort is operating at 30%. The Resort is lovely and the view is beautiful! I love a smaller resort such as Royal Hideaway. We had no problems with service, top shelf liquors, and they were willing to try and make whatever you wanted. The restaurants were not all open due to Covid, but we had no problems, you just need to book reservations immediately upon arrival. Luis was an awesome waiter and server and he remember us from 11 years ago!! He still works there. And then there was Alfonso....one of my personal favorites! He went around the resort to make sure everyone was happy and things were running smooth. I love the atmosphere at this resort. We had no problems getting our covid vaccinations. Our room was very nice and adequate and we really do not stay in the room much so I was very satisfied. I would definately return for a third visit.

    Thoroughly enjoyable stay

    Reviewed by carolpV1882GI(Bainbridge Island, Washington) on Apr 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We've just returned from a one week stay at Royal Hideaway Playacar. Pros: very personable and attentive staff who will bend over backwards to ensure you are enjoying your stay, beautiful setting with nice pools close to the Gulf and rooms all relatively close to the water. Nice size - we didn't want a sprawling resort, Our concierge Susana was very helpful. On our first day we enjoyed a bike ride into Playa del Carmen with our informative guide Alfonso who showed us some Mayan ruins along the way. Cons - food was good but not great (although the dinners exceeded expectations for an all-inclusive) , housekeeping staff sometimes forgot to replace things like washcloths and snacks. We chose this hotel in part for the tennis court. We were disappointed to find that the courts weren't available in the evenings (when temperatures make playing bearable) as they are rented out to local residents. Doors are heavy and we were awoken at times by the sound of them slamming shut when folks who were getting up at 6-6:30am to reserve pool chairs left their rooms. All in all, a relaxing and enjoyable stay - given the hotel was closed for 8 months due to Covid-19, we were happy to cut them some slack as they get themselves back up to speed.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4