Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6527 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort, beautiful beach, beautiful people!

    Reviewed by Paul L() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time at this resort but been at a different Melia in Cuba. This resort was very clean and well-maintained grounds. Access to the beach is quick from the hotel and the beach was just beautiful, with clear waters. The food is actually very good, no complaints at all! We upgraded to "The Level" and the service from the manager, Mario Rodriguez, and his staff made it just that more personal. Mario was just amazing, super helpful and courteous. I really recommend the upgrade to "The Level" even though I didn't play any golf, still was worth the upgrade. Special mention to Humberto Reyes who takes care of the "The Level" beach area, Humberto was great, we was there right away when we showed up at the beach setting up the parasols, getting us drinks, really whatever and whenever you needed something, he was there!!! He just made the beach experience 1 level up! Overall great vacation, super nice staff and nice resort, definitely going back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Awesome beach

    Reviewed by little_princess13(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Visited Melia Varadero during the 1st week of April for a 7 day stay. Stayed on the 4 th floor with no upgrades. Had a beautiful ocean view room and standard king size bed with tv/fridge/safe/iron. My favourite things about this resort would be the beauty/cleanliness of the resort itself, being right by the ocean, so a constant breeze, having plenty of outdoor seating for al a carte restaurants and bar, friendliness of the staff, selection and quality of food (fresh baked croissants, grill stations, lots of fresh vegetables /fruits/deserts/cheeses/salamis/antipasto), Papito's bar (Pina Coladas), turquoise beach with a rocky spot for beautiful pictures, beach activities (aquafit, volleyball), proximity to downtown varadero (10 min drive), having a market right beside the hotel, having the wifi work in our room Some of my less favourite things about this place were -kettle not working to even make instant coffee in the am and when asked for a replacement never received -zero self serve cappuccino/drink machine -having to pay for lobster and snorkeling...at some less fancy resorts these are free/included in all-inclusive so not sure why there was a charge -store at resort sells items that are different items and prices for non-Spanish speaking travelers -pasta station only had non-conventional toppings (almost seemed like leftover toppings that couldn't be used elsewhere) -Bike rentals were free but just around the hotel 200 meters with a deposit. I wish that they were allowed to be out further even if it had to cost a fee -beach bar was very basic with 3 types of drinks and the beach grill only had hamburgers all week Overall I enjoyed my stay at this resort, beautiful sunsets every night, great tasting cappuccinos and clear and exquisite beach. I had high expectations for this place for it being one of the top resorts in Varadero. I felt it could have been a bit better but, I would return and maybe try the 5th floor.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Ok

    Reviewed by guest-reviewer2016(Surrey, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Went as a family, booked 2 rooms. The rooms we first got were quite old and smelly. Next day we were moved to two different rooms. They were just like on hotel promotion website. Very comfortable, clean, just amazing. Hotel entertainment was great, thank you entertainment team. We never felt bored. Shows were amazing. Pre show entertainment was great as well. So much is done for the guests entertainment. Beach is ok, one part is beach the other is rocky. The only downside is you cannot walk far. Maybe only 20 minutes. Food was a challenge for us. Our daughter is a picky eater and it was very hard for her to eat at the buffet. Buffet has specific smell and it was hard for her even to enter the area. The hotel manager is amazing. He listened to our concerns and gave us opportunity to eat at a la carte every night. This was a good alternative for us. Overall our vacation was great. Would we go back-no. The beach and the food very important for our vacation. So next time will go back to the central part of Varadero.

    15 Times and counting

    Reviewed by Frank C(Alliston, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Travelled to Melia Varadero on May 6, for a 1 week Holiday .This was our 15 visit to are favorite resort in Cuba .I had also just celebrated my 60th birthday and we were pumped about trip.We decided to try the Level for the first time . Checkin was fast ,but we had a wait for are room . We had a gentleman show us around ,and we and show us the resort. We got into are room around 2 oclock. The room was not any better ,than standard rooms .It also had 2 beds and we had ordered a King .We asked for another room and they said that they would move us the next day. We were given a another room the next day ,same size ,but had a queen bed . We were a little disappointed in the room ,as i had sent an e-mail to Hotel saying that we would be coming back and how we loved it . The staff has changed over the years and alot of the people we made connections with have left . We found out that one of these connections FELIX,had passed away .Which was very sad and somebody we will never forget .Food was great as always ,Buffet ,Mexican ,International.,Japanese . The BBQ was terrible .All the food we had there was cold. Trindad was closed for renovations ,which was a downer. The beach was great and always had a lounger ,because there was a separate area for Level. The pool bar was great and Tony and the crew took care of us. They are always working on this Hotel to improve .Putting in New Bar and revamp of Tridad Resturant .Talked to ther people on Level and they said that they had a bottle of rum in there room. We didn`t have this. We still haven`t decided if it is worth the extra money to stay on the level. The entertainment isn`t great .It been the same everytime we go. They need to look at other Hotels and change it up. We had a great relaxing time. We love this hotel and we will be back

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Amazing staff and hotel!!

    Reviewed by Thomas F() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We were married in front of the ocean on Tuesday april 16th and it was beautiful and the staff worked their asses off to make sure our experience was everything we wanted. The hotel was very clean and all around very nice. I would go back there in the future and would recommend the hotel for a vacation spot. The staff we dealt with on a daily basis were such a pleasure to deal with everyone from our melia rep oscar who went way out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed for our stay. To the very very nice woman that cleaned our room elena. Her cheerful attitude and bright personality made us feel very comfortable in our room. Next, I know I speak for the entire group of the 30 of us when i say that Henry our server at the piano bar patio was an absolute gem. The man had us laughing in hysterics everytime he came to the table. I wish we had a Henry here back in Ottawa. The other 2 staff at the piano bar that were very attentive great people were Louis and Joel. Last but not least, our server almost every day in the buffet laudet was very good at her job and respectful. She went above and beyond to help us make sure that us and the 2 children were happy. THE ONLY COMPLAINTS we have are that we did not receive almost anything we were supposed to get with the wedding package and when we asked for any of it, we were told no. Only oscar would help us with anything and he was very easy to deal with. He at least got us into a room with an ocean view and the the wifi card we were guaranteed. Other then that, we got nothing we were supposed to get as part of the package. We paid extra for flowers that came all the wrong colors and when we got dressed up and went downstairs to got to the gazebo for our romantic honeymoon dinner that was booked for 630pm the day after the wedding. There was another pair of newlyweds in there having theirs... So the wedding services we had at the hotel were terrible but the ceremony itself, the staff and atmosphere were very nice. Last thing I would like to add is that after our experience with sunwing. I can say with confidence that we will never use them again. The reps we used for our group were barely responsive to anyones emails, they were rude when they did and gave wrong information to people that had questions. They didnt even relay information to the hotel and about the group numbers. The hotel was expecting 10 more guests then we had. We still have not received the refunds we were guaranteed as part of our deal. They were supposed to have been given upon departure as my wife was told in her last email with sunwing. Overall amazing hotel and staff but sunwing dropped the ball big time. Would recommend a better travel agency to anyone traveling. Thank you to the staff of the hotel for making our stay amazing tho. We miss it already.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX