Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9297 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    not too shabby...

    Reviewed by Vanessa C(Passaic, New Jersey) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Upon arrival we did not receive champs and a towel like I am use to, but the staff quickly went and grabbed us a margarita from the lobby bar. Check in was smooth and quick. We were directed towards our romantic privilege suite in section 4. The room was quite dark, but Im sure it was intentional for increased intimacy. However I was with my sister...so we had a few laughs over it. We chose this room because it came with a free “couples” massage and a private dinner on the beach. The room also included 24hr room service, pillow menu, mini bar restocked daily, robes and slippers, and private terrace with jacuzzi. Room service was great, however, it shall be noted that if it rains they will not deliver (I thought this was ridiculous because that is when most people order). For breakfast my sister and I chose between the buffet restaurant and Beloved (privilege guest only). At times Beloved host would give us a hard time with attire-I think for breakfast and lunch attire should NOT be the main focus because almost EVERYONE has on a bathing suit with a throw...for dinner ok, I can understand. But that’s probably why the ONE time we dined in for lunch it was completely EMPTY. The beach was absolutely beautiful. White sand and clear blue ocean where you can see angel fish swim past you...or around you. The beach wait staff were impeccable...ask for Daniel or Esequias, they kept the drinks flowing and did not disappoint. If your a beach bum like me, be sure to grab some tacos from the taco truck beforehand. Ask the cook to put a plate over it and eat at your leisure while on the beach...you can thank me later ;-) By the way the taco truck is a HOT SPOT...everyone at the resort loved it including my sister and I. The pool was nice and the ENTIRE entertainment staff were awesome, they did a great job at involving everyone to make sure everyone was having a great time. At times I would lounge around the pool and Armando (pool wait staff) would always check to see if I needed anything. On my birthday he got me a crepe and wrote Happy Birthday with chocolate syrup...Armando was so sweet and kind AND of course he kept the drinks flowing...look for him!!! Gabriel at the pool bar was also AMAZING. Let it be known Gabriel knows all types of really cool shots...trust me, he will not disappoint!!! For dinner, we mainly dined at Beloved the food was always good. We tried a few places, but always came back to Beloved. Quirino and Alex at Beloved always put a smile on our face...they were great!!!! The nightlife was EVERYTHING!!! All entertainment shows began @ 9:30 PM and afterwards we would head to the lobby bar and dance the night away at the nightclub on site. The DJ played great music and had me on the dance floor till my feet hurt. Entertainment staff would join us and were, again, amazing. They danced with everyone and kept the party going. Ana, Fernando, Moises and Gerado were ALL AWESOME at the lobby bar!!! All in all, this resort had more pros than cons...my sister and I agreed the staff we encountered truly made our experience better!!! They were SUPERB!!!!!

    Nice vacation

    Reviewed by Nomad790218() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Friendly staff, food was so-so, rooms were comfortable but dated. Beware of people haggling you constantly about becoming a privilege member. They line up down the main walkway and around the pool area. Even if you say no they keep coming back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Mexican adventure

    Reviewed by JayneHearne(Rotherham, United Kingdom) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Booked a Tui late deal and got a real bargain.We hired a car for 5 days and had a mini road trip in the middle of our 2 week stay.Everything was amazing .Hotel is spotless , food fabulous , staff wonderful -position right on the beach unbeatable.Thanks to everyone.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great beach

    Reviewed by SaskCanuck() on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We got bumped from the Catalonia Maya due to overbooking, lucky us. This is a way better beach( we went to visit the Maya for snorkeling). Snorkeling at Maya wasn't great. We were in room 3328, a/c had issues that never really got repaired( We asked twice) and the hotel next door played some loud music( which was of excellent quality) and didn't cause us to loose much sleep. Activity staff was great. WORST part of or 10 days was the excursion that we booked with BestDay, it was our WORST DAY. The dive Center by the pool had a 2x snorkel tour to Cozumel that we wanted to take but they weren't going on the day we wanted, 4 of us went to BestDay and he sold us a snorkel tour to cozumel but absolutely nothing that we wanted, jeep drive, fake Mayan ruins, and the fastest snorkel tour you have ever been on( we didn't go snorkeling in Cozumel to see statues that they had dropped in the ocean. We complained to BestDay and got 1 e-mail before we left and nothing since( what do you expect after you leave the country). IF you are booking a dive or snorkel do it with the dive center, they know what they are doing. I did do an afternoon snorkel tour with these guys and it was great, eel, turtle, puffer fish, lobster,,,,, Beach was fabulous.. we ate most of our meals at the buffet although we were Prefered guests. The A-la cartes were good but the buffet was faster ( we waited 20 minutes at an a-la carte for dessert 1 night) and had good selection for all of us, and was actually quieter that the steak house. We walked to the highway(maybe 1/2 mile from the hotel) and caught the bus to Playa del Carmen( 20 peso pp).once. Shopping here was good. Other option is to take the FREE jewelry store and Tequila factory/ shopping tour. GO EARLY, AS WE HAD A 1/2 HR WAIT after tequila factory to go to Playa Del Carmen shopping, and ended up being on a short timeline.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Vacation to remember

    Reviewed by Sunshine64255416177(Oshkosh, Wisconsin) on Feb 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I had a wonderful time at Catalonia Playa Maroma! We were pleased with literally everything. Staff was very friendly and helpful. They delivered an outstanding service. Our room was nice and clean. The food was delicious and there was so much to choose from. The beach was so beautiful with white, clean and soft sand. The vegetation was lush, beautifully landscaped, well maintained and it was cool to see wild animals on the hotel grounds. We had an amazing and relaxing stay and we’d love to visit Catalonia again!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX