Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9669 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Anna m

    Reviewed by Anna D() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This place is amazing! Special thanks to the food and beverage managers Carlos and Fabio for the special treatment and awesome food! U guys rock!! ?????? loves the food at the tapas place great Spanish good try the veal it’s the best meat I ve had melts just melts . Entertainment guys are awesome fun all day for everyone!

    Picture Perfect Vacation

    Reviewed by Sam D(Toronto, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Going to the Catalonia Playa Maroma was the best decision I've made when choosing locations to vacation. This resort had everything for everyone; kids clubs, great entertainment, the disco and the FOOD! The food was to die for, home cooked and delicious. This resort was such an amazing choice for a vacation. The shopping they had on resort was great because we did not have to leave the resort at all. We chose to do the Coba excursion, as we were wanting to explore. The tour had zip lining, visiting a cenote, a traditional Mayan lunch which was delicious, and we got to walk amongst the ruins and shop after in the town. The tour guide was so enthusiastic about his job and he really cared for the Mayan people. The proceeds from this excursion went towards the Mayan people in keeping their culture thriving. One tip I would love to offer: currency. I was told the resort accepts Canadian Dollars and credit cards only. So to clear things up: payments at the stores and the front lobby can be done in CAD credit only. They either charged to your room or upon check out. They did not accept cash of any currency at the stores and lobby. They did however accept USD as tips. This was my experience. Another thing I wanted to mention is that the beach had seaweed.. Those guys worked so hard all day everyday to clean up the seaweed but there was just too much. Honestly other than the beach having seaweed which was inevitable, this resort/vacation was PERFECT. I cannot say anything bad about this resort truly. This resort is not to be missed!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great stay.

    Reviewed by Navigator306142() on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We spent a week and had a great stay. The staff was very friendly. The resort is not so big you can’t get where you are going. We were always able to find s chair st pool or beach. The only problem was we could not get a wash cloth most of the time. I would recommend bring wash clothes with you. It was a great stay

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    ENJOYABLE 3RD STAY AT THE CATALONIA

    Reviewed by EdmondOK() on Jun 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We returned again for the 3rd time to the Catalonia, we were not disappointed and we will be back very soon. I was surprised how even though it has be 2 years since I've seen a lot of the staff, that they remembered us and welcomed us back home. The entire staff are very accommodating and it is so obviously how much they love their jobs. The beach is beautiful as always, minus some sargassum(the staff/tractor take care of this every day), and we were able to swim in the ocean with no problem. The entertainment group have never-ending energy and always have smiles on their faces, I enjoyed all the classes and my daughter and her boyfriend loved partaking in all of the activities. I cannot say enough about the food, I'm not sure what anyone can complain about unless you're a perfectionist:) The grounds are always being maintained, all the reception staff are very helpful and welcoming, the staff at the restaurants work extremely hard, we never waited long for anything only in the buffet, even the bell-boys bring your bags to your room w/o an elevator and help find you if your excursion transportation arrives and you're not there, the cleaning staff were so quick and efficient, we never had to wait to get back in our room for anything. We all were so glad to see all the animals and extremely grateful for those who are no longer feeding the wildlife, but only giving treats/food to the kitties. We recommend the Privilege package for the added Beloved restaurant and room location.

    A great resort and friendly staff

    Reviewed by P4273UOrichards(Haren) on Jun 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort is great and the staff very friendly and always there for you. Pool is hot but good. Restaurant are excellent. Rooms are good and clean. The staff in the buffet restaurant are excelent, friendly and allways open for a little talk

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX