UNICO 20˚87˚ Hotel Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    This place is amazing! We?ve been to multiple resorts in the cancun area and would suggest this place.

    Reviewed by Tyler Ferguson on Feb 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a smaller (for Mexico), relaxing getaway this is the place. The employees were good. Use their ?Butler? service as much as possible. It is expensive but well worth it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2478 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Nice resort

    Reviewed by jyork111(Harrisonburg, Virginia) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I spent a week at Unico. Nice resort, quiet and refined. Good restaurants. Not too many activities, but rest and relaxation. Kudos to Cony, Juan, luis, and Alexander at restaurant 2087. Cooking classes by Brandon and Emmanuel outstanding for ceviche. Matched by Sergio and Louis for Mexican guacamole preparation, especially with dried grasshoppers. Diana Morales was the best Will spend more time at unico

    Amazing Riviera Maya!

    Reviewed by Julie E(Burlington, Ontario, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Went for 5 days in April with a group of girlfriends. We had a most amazing experience. During the day, we had fabulous room service for breakfast, then moved on to the pool, where Armando assisted us with securing our pool chairs, ensuring shade and fresh towels for us. He would also bring cold lemon scented hand towels around mid-day. Luis Torres was our waiter by the pool each day. He is AMAZING! He looked after our group of 6 to perfection. Water, beer, cocktails, lunch, coffee you name it. The tacos and guac and chips by the pool are fantastic. Dinners were had at each of the sit down restaurants - our favourites were Cueva Siete (mexican) and Mura House (Japanese) - we ate at Mura house twice, once for the Hibachi table and once off the regular menu. Highly recommend both! Diana was our local host and she looked after our every need. We booked many spa treatements, and used the app for bookings, dinner reservations and also ordering room service. All worked without a hitch. I hope to be back before too long! This is an amazing resort, with a beautiful spa and delicious food and drink.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Be sure to schedule visits around family emergencies...

    Reviewed by bwheeler94() on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I have a trip scheduled for next week (Tues - Sun) and my grandmother passed away unexpectedly a few days ago. Unfortunately, the funeral is scheduled for the same day that we’re scheduled to check in to Unico. Since the news of my grandmother, I have been on the phone with Unico (on & off site reservations, front desk, managers, the list goes on...) for over 4 hours a day. I’ve talked to over 30 people and have yet to receive an answer on whether I can check in a day later than scheduled or whether I can shift the reservation a day forward and check out a day later (Wed - Mon). It seemed like every time I got someone on the line to discuss the situation, I was transferred to another department, transferred to a Spanish-only line that I couldn’t understand or hung up on. I am extremely disappointed with the customer service during a time that I would much rather be spending with my family, instead of on the phone with awful customer service. I’ve checked availability at the hotel for Sunday night and there are rooms. I’ve offered to pay the full price for the room on Sunday night and I’ve gotten no answer. I could not be more disappointed with Unico’s customer service and truly am not looking forward to our trip after this experience.

    Almost perfection

    Reviewed by TripLover5(Toronto) on Apr 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We visited Unico from April 11-18, 2019. We've been to several adults-only all-inclusives, including Sandals St. Lucia, Sandals Emerald Bay, Secrets Cap Cana, and Excellence Playa Mujeres. We'd heard great things about Unico, so decided to give it a try. The food is some of the best we've had at an all-inclusive, especially Mura House (sit-down is better than teppenyaki) and Mi Carissa. If you're by the pool, try their tacos and margarita pizza (I'm totally missing them right now)! Their signature cocktails are great, so it's definitely worth trying those, and the service is wonderful. We didn't use our host very much as we'd booked all our restaurants in advance on the app. However, on our second last night, Montse (our host) had a jacuzzi ready for us when we returned to the room and it was fabulous. We spent just about everyday at the quiet pool, which was great. The only complaint I had was that there was a couple sitting next to us who were chatting on their cell phones non-stop and a few people brought their personal speakers, which is a no-no according to the written rules at the pool (I couldn't hear them unless I walked to the other side of the pool, but if I were on their side, I'd be annoyed). The reason I gave the resort 4 instead of 5 stars was the beach. We're beach people and had hoped the beach would be okay, but it's not great. Seaweed (not the hotel's fault) was everywhere, so you would have been swimming in it for a few feet, and the beach is very angled and small. I also didn't like how closely they crammed the chairs together--you're practically elbow to elbow with neighbouring couples. Unfortunately, we didn't end up at the beach one day. For that reason, I'd go back to a resort like Secrets Cap Cana first. If you're looking for a great beach, Unico isn't the place for you. We also took part in a couple's massage while we were there, Escensia for Two. It cost $130 US for the two of us. We weren't interested in an excursion this time, but they have lots to choose from as part of their inclusions. The signature excursions all cost around $150 US per person. You can email the resort in advance through the app to find out more about the excursions. We booked a tropical room and ended up in building one, second floor, which was great. We had more privacy to use the jacuzzi as we weren't facing the pool.

    Fantastic AI

    Reviewed by nashlynn61(Moran, Michigan) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everything has been excellent. Adult only (no crying babies or drunk college kids) resort. Very neat and clean with excellent service and good food. Wasn’t crazy about Mura House, but all other restaurants have been very good. Even the breakfast and lunch buffets at 20 87 have been good. Spa services have been wonderful.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX