UNICO 20˚87˚ Hotel Riviera Maya reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.5 Excellent

  • Cleanliness 5.0
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 5.0
  • Service 5.0
  • Value 4.5

6537 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Perfect experience

Melissa F on Jul 13, 2024

We had an AMAZING experience despite a hurricane coming through 2 days prior to our arrival. The resort was beautiful and the staff was excellent! Special thanks to our host Hector who took care of our every need! We love you Hector and thank you for making our anniversary so special! Ricardo at the pool kept our drinks full and all the delicious food coming! We also enjoyed a photo shoot that was part of our promotion and Andres did a magnificent job capturing our personalities and the photo’s didnt look forced at all! Already looking at dates for our return! From the food to the activities we had a fantastic time!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Luxury, beauty, delicious food, and pampering - a dream come true!

Laura H (Amherst, Massachusetts) on Jul 13, 2024

I don't even know where to start - Unico is the PERFECT place to relax in natural beauty and luxury. My local host, Laura Flores, was a dream!!! This was our third visit to Unico - the first was in June 2021, and then in April 2023 with our friends, who came back with us this April 2024. We stayed in an ocean view room - like all the rooms, spotlessly clean, and gorgeous. First of all - the staff. The staff make the experience. Local host Laura Flores was brilliant - so helpful, professional, and smoothed the tiny bump of our having two reservations back-to-back in different rooms - she got us into the same room. She checked on us, made sure that we (my husband and our dear friends) were having an excellent experience. If you can request Laura Flores, do it! Other staff that were above and beyond - Eddie, most of the time at Bar Balam, knew my husband by sight and was so helpful and informative. The BEST massage of my life was by "Dru" - Drucilla - I had a facial and a massage that was so relaxing and fabulous that I went back for a second one that week! She was amazing. The sushi restaurant is top notch - we had several wonderful meals there. The Mexican was also excellent - a little esoteric for my taste - but a great experience. We ate at Mi Carisa for the gorgeous outdoor patio. And all the food, in 2087 for breakfast, at the Unico pool for snacks - all was great. We didn't eat at the "steak house" for dinner - I'd rather eat my weight in sushi. We loved the Escondio pool - it's quieter, and has a sweet swim-up bar. Somewhere, I had a list of all the amazing staff who made our trip feel like the most luxurious experience ever, and if I can find that list, will add that to this review! In the meantime, here's what to know: bring lots of $ for tips (at least one USD per drink), because the staff work SO HARD. Tip the housekeeping staff every day!!! At least $5 a day - they do a LOT. Get a massage with Dru (Drucilla). Request to have Laura Flores as your local host - she'll go above and beyond for you. Make dinner reservations a month in advance by emailing the concierge. Go to the silent disco - so fun! DO NOT MISS THE BEACH! The water is the most glorious turquoise and the sand is delightful - and they will bring you food and drinks to your chair. We did the Mexican cooking class twice - it was super fun in both 2021 and 2023! I have never been so pampered in my life.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Awesome couples only resort - no complaints here

Ron D on Jul 12, 2024

The wife and I do a resort-style trip to a new resort once a year. Unico is the only resort where we did a return trip. We we definitely come back and/or go to one of the other Unico/Hard Rock resorts next year. What did we really enjoy? The beautiful blue beach, the pools, the high end food, the premium drinks, the live entertainment, the super friendly staff, the other couples and groups at the resort. We went in July. Its Hot! Pro Tip: the beach is cooler than the pool (even if you get a cabana). We paid for a poolside cabana, then spent the rest of our day by the beach.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Honeymoon

Kelly F on Jul 12, 2024

We enjoyed having a host available to us to tend to our requests. They made our honeymoon very special. Spa and restaurants were most enjoyable. We did not enjoy the UNICO Grille for dinner as we had our first meal there and never returned. We enjoyed room service for breakfast most mornings. There was too much seaweed in the beach to enjoy anything about the beach this time of year.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Our Honeymoon

Amy V on Jul 12, 2024

Our swim up pool was amazing when we wanted to just hang by ourselves! The staff is the friendliest and most attentive. Facilities and food are AMAZING!!! Each restaurant is so different and you get such different cuisine in each one. We can't wait to go back!

View All