Sol Palmeras

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    T

    Jamie, Elvis, Suzie and all of the rest of the Sol palmeras team - thank you and I look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

    Reviewed by Terry on Jul 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I simply can not say enough about my stay at Sol Palmeras. From the moment of arrival to departure I was constantly being impressed with how clean the resort and beach were to the high level of care that the staff showed to the guests. Honestly, I was blown away by the place. the food was excellent and varied every evening, the drinks were well poured and general atmosphere was perfect for a good relaxing visit. There is no question that I will be back and have already recommended it several friends and family. Well done guys and thank you for an amazing visit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Never would go back.

    Reviewed by Greg on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not go back. The buffet was almost the same stuff every day and there were lots of flies. The specialized restaurants were good. The beach was great. The pool needed a good cleaning. People were reserving chairs early at the pool and beach. I know this is a common problem at most resorts. The only thing is to do it too or you won't get a seat. There was lots of room by the pool and beach where they could easily add more seats. The service was slow at times in the buffet area and the bars. There was always an elevator not working, at one time both of them were not working. This was a problem for my wife who uses a walker. Nothing to do with the resort but it was a problem bringing the walker into and leaving Cuba. Not a good country to go to if you have mobility issues.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    I can't wait to visit again. I love this place.

    Reviewed by Sheila on Jul 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this vacation! The staff were wonderful. Betty, Nivia, Yerandi, Elvis, Diennis, Roniel, Fidel and I'm sorry for all the names I can not remember. You made this stay so memorable. The beach is a short walk and the white sand is so soft and clean. The cleaning staff were exceptional and all facilities were kept neat and smelled fresh. Our room had clean sheets and towel everyday. Bar service was friendly and the drinks were good. I made friends I will remember always.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fifth Visit Even Better

    Reviewed by Goober on Apr 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Fifth time at Sol Palmeras, love it here. the only problem was with the WIFI , very poor service. Had a problem with our hair dryer in our bungalow, fixed within the hour. Hot water was weak but again fixed the next day! Lots of improvements to furniture and painting outside of bungalows.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    Great hotel.

    Reviewed by Vlad on Nov 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    1. Location of this place is just great. Not too far from the city taxi will cost you 4-5 CUCs not too close for the locals to come over and make the beach filthy sorry, but that's harsh reality . 2. Hotel is dated, but they try to keep it up. It does not work 100% but at least they try, and it's nice to see. Some painting going on, etc. Good. 3. Rooms. Same, dated but decent. We lived in a bungalow, it was great. Two working ACs, we actually used one, was well enough. Clean beds very firm though... , clean sheets, excellent maids tip them and they will keep you happy! . Very spacious. Living room with a modern TV, Bedroom with a modern TV and an array of channels to choose from. Telephone, iron, hair dryer. A free safe box, yes, a FREE safe storage box, you don't have to pay for like in other hotels sometimes 7CUCs for day! . Great feature, thanks a lot for that! 4. Food. Great selection, very nice quality in the buffet restaurant. 5. Staff is amazing! Very friendly and relaxed people. Except an old lady in the internet place. She is plain rude. 6. La carte restaurants. Same. Great food, but limited selection. It's OK though. No complaints here. Make sure you reserve your restaurant 2 days ahead at the reception desk. There are 5 in total. 7. Bars. Too bad they do not have machines for slushy drinks.... Everything else is great. Coffee is very tasty, especially cappuccino. Great selection of cocktails, international and domestic drinks and liquors. 8. Entertainment. Daily activities are great, lots of stuff to do! Night entertainment is not great at all. Unfortunately. 9. Snorkeling. If you are facing the beach, go to your left to hit some shallow snorkeling. 10. Internet. There is internet over WiFi. 2 CUCs per hour. You must buy a card from the internet center for a password. CAUTION! When you are done, make sure to hit "DISCONNECT" from the provider's main page. Otherwise, they will continue to count your time as active and you may end up spending 2 CUC.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7996 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great time in Cuba

    Reviewed by PaulineK28(Glasgow, United Kingdom) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We stayed at the Sol Palmeras for 2 weeks and had a great time. We upgraded with TC before we arrived to a bungalow just to give us some extra space. I emailed the hotel and requested a bungalow close to the hotel and beach as was please to have been allocated one in zone 2. Close to the hotel but far enough away that you didn’t have any noise at all. The bungalow inside is a little dated but spotlessly clean and lots of space for a family of 3. Many thanks to Yudith our housekeeper who left lovely notes throughout our holiday. The beach is stunning. I don’t like water much and wasn’t really a beach person but we spent most of our time here. The water is crystal clear and lovely and warm. My daughter loved snorkelling to see the fish that come close to the shore. They were working to replenish the sand on the beach during our stay so part of the beach was closed off however, it didn’t really impact us apart from the occasional digger noise. The pools were ok. One is used for sports which is slightly deeper that the pool round the pool bar. Both are quite shallow. We spent a couple of days round the pool but preferred the beach. Couple of bug bears, people nearly sitting on top of you when you used the pagoda type loungers. We had some that surrounded us blasting music in our ears. I think this was to get is to vacate which didn’t work. The other bug bear is people smoking and drinking in the pool. It ended up with plastic cups and liquid floating around which wasn’t good. The above annoyances are due to lazy, inconsiderate people and not a reflection on the hotel. Food. This is always a contentious subject however, we went not expecting much and found it to be better than I thought. The buffet is the same as every other buffet I have been to in an AI. The thing that always lets it down the world over is people again. The food was ok, quite a few flies which could be dealt with a bit better, but on the whole there was always some to eat. We preferred going to the Al a Cartes for dinner. Our favourites were the Latino and Italian restaurants. I need to give a special mention to the Latino restaurant. The food was delicious and our server, Fidel, was the nicest and most hardworking person I have ever met. He went above and beyond to make our visits special and his attention to diners was impeccable. He was chatty about life in Cuba and his happy go lucky nature was really endearing. He was employee of the month when we were there and rightfully deserved. We didn’t really wait out for the entertainment so wouldn’t be fair to comment. Booked an excursion to Havana overnight through TC. Fantastic trip run by Cubatur. Would definitely recommend. Special mention to the employees that stood out for us. Yudith, Nivia, Luis Angel and Fidel. Overall we had a great time and would return again.

    Sol Palmeras

    Reviewed by eskimoails(Leeds, United Kingdom) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I have just returned from a 2 week stay. We had an absolutely amazing time. We were lucky enough to stay in a refurbished room which had the most comfortable and largest hotel bed I have ever slept in and we both slept really well for the duration. Our room was clean and well kept, and was kept like this for the duration of our stay. Our fridge did not work but this was not an issue for us and we got a fresh bottle of water in the room every day. We both enjoyed the pools and the beach very much, with both the pool and beach bars being a success. We brought our own large reusable cups with us to reduce our single use plastics and these were well received in all bars. We retreated to the upstairs rooftop terrace bar on an afternoon for a bit of time out of the sun, there are tables in the sun but there are also tables in the shade. This we found was the best place to get the strongest wifi reception so it was nice to go here for an hour in the afternoon, relax in the shade and catch up with everything at home. The food was good in the main restaurant. We ate at the Chinese, Italian and Tex Mex A La Carte restaurants, I really enjoyed the Italian and the Chinese. Our evenings were spent sat in the comfy chairs outside Bar Turqino, the 3 guys that ran this bar were amazing and always had our drinks ready before we even had ri get up and order them. We did the Catamaran trip and the trip to Havana which we booked through Thomas Cook. Both were excellent. I would definitely recommend staying here.

    Fantastic as always

    Reviewed by N4442FBmaria(Ontario, Canada) on Jul 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I returned once again to Sol Palmeras. The service is excellent as always. The employees are absolutely great. That is one reason I would always come back.The room I stayed in was renovated and clean. Lidia did a great job cleaning my room.Thank you Lidia. The beach was awesome, snorkeling was good. I spend most of the day at the beach. I love the a la carte restaurants, they are all good. Even the buffet is very good. New this year is the outdoor (Smoking.) bar and sitting area. Very good, I especially like the black cat who seems to be living around there. There was also a cute kitten but I did not see her the last days. I wonder if some child took it home, the kitten was very popular with the children. The vacation was fantastic and I hope to come back again and again.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Paradise

    Reviewed by Alexia H() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I would recommend this resort to spend a good time weither it’s with friends, family and as a couple. Food is really good and there’s a fun staff waiting to entertain you with their amazing shows. It’s for sure a place to come back to. Again, I loved the staff.. especially Marcelo

    Vacaciones

    Reviewed by Chris P() on Jul 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel was good and fun I had an amazing time here the people are very nice and entertaining and the beach is very beautiful as well I’ll recommend this hotel to anyone. Dailo , so please come here it’s really fun.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX