Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa

3.0 star rating

Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Cozumel
    5. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa
    6. Sunscape Sabor Cozumel Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    I

    Great Location. Great staff. Hotel is 2.5 *. Food nothing special. Extremely aggressive and annoying pushy sales staff all over the lobby.

    Reviewed by IS on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Extremely painful long wait at Cozumel airport. Entering Cozumel almost 2 hours wait at customs. Only 2 customs agents working, they constantly took breaks. The economy of Cozumel is based on tourism. Why treat tourists that way? Leaving the island by air was the same thing. Long line ups, slow customs clearance. Close to 2 hours again. Hotel is nice maintained on the outside. Pleasant to the eyes. Rooms inside not so much. Rooms are dated. Bathrooms not in good shape. Hotel staff is great and friendly. In the lobby area is full of sales people who were quite annoying, trying to push travel deals a little similar to time shares. Their sales pitch is that if you pay for their membership you will be paying 25% to 75% lass for travel accommodations wherever you want, whenever you want (thus a bit similar to time share). Food great in Mexican restaurant (El Patio). Food good in second restaurant (Sunny Side Grill). Italian restaurant (Da Mario) horrible. Horrible pizza, horrible pasta. My son got sick from the chicken pasta and spent the night in the bathroom. Next day he was fine. Buffet restaurant (Portofino) 3 out of 5 at best. The only place opened 24\7 is the bar by main lobby (Starboard). Javier Ventura, bartender who worked at that bar was great. Super friendly, very fast. Mixes great drinks. Was my favorite place to get a drink thanks to Javier. Great snorkeling just off the hotel?s beach. Find a bigger rock in the shallow water and is surrounded by tons of marine life and large number of different fish. Awesome. However tons of rocks as soon as you go in the ocean. Water shoes are absolutely necessary. Came home with cut up feet. There are few better resorts for better price near this resort. Do your homework. Occidental Cozumel, Iberostar Cozumel, Allegro Cozumel are all better resorts.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    F

    Great Place to Unwind

    Reviewed by Frank on Nov 20, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff works very hard to please everyone. I love the Mexican people. The are friendly and very much family oriented. This hotel is not 5 star but has everything you need for a wonderful vacation. snorkelling off beach-free kayaks and sailboats-paddle boards I was surprised that They even supplied free transfer from the airport saving $133.00 We were never bothered by timeshare people. I would come here again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2983 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fabulous trip

    Reviewed by Kathy M() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just returned today from our trip to Sunscape Sabor. What a wonderful time. Although I have always said I do not want to visit the same place twice, this was our second trip to this resort and we were immediately recognized, welcomed and greeted by Arby! This tells you how much their team works hard at ensuring everyone feels like family. The rest of the entertainment team was amazing and special shout out to Israel and April for maki g sure we were having a great time. We had a beachfront room (literally steps to our beach chairs and the beach) we loved snorkeling right in front of the resort. All the staff from the bellman, to the maid, the waitstaff, cooks and entertainment team all deserve much gratitude for their hard work and genuinely friendly attitude. They all had wonderful smiles even at the end of a long day. They made our vacation! We would happily go again.

    Do NOT stay here, even considering the low price-point

    Reviewed by Robby B(Washington DC, District of Columbia) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Pros: -The beach is absolutely beautiful. Cons: -The food at this resort was disgusting. We tried every restaurant, and the food was really low quality and tasted very bland. The menus are small and there is a very limited selection. -The drinks are somehow worse than the food. The liquor and mixers are of the absolute lowest quality and I could not drink anything besides draft beer. -When we arrived, there was dirt all over the floor of our bathroom and the room smelled like mold. (while the cleaning staff did address this problem and cleaned our room - it was still disgusting.) -The staff was generally very nice, however, it constantly seemed like the resort was understaffed. The restaurant staff appeared to be running on empty and it was uncomfortable for all.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Great people, service oriented w/smile

    Reviewed by Mike K() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have gone here for over 15 years and many of the same smiling people still work here. Service is great and the food was good, especially on Oscar's night. the grounds at Sunscape continue to be well maintained. The location is excellent for scuba diving. The resort offers many free water sports equipment and includes 3 special shows weekly.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Goldilocks of resorts!

    Reviewed by Becintheup(Kingsford, Michigan) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Awesome resort! Not too big and not too small! Had trouble with the air conditioner the first night but after talking to the front desk got it fixed right away. Our room was right on the beach! Close to town for shopping by taxi. Arbey, the event coordinator, was AMAZING! He was made for the job! So fun! Love his personality and will miss him the most! Thank you Sunscapes Sabor for a memorable family holiday! Will be back again someday!

    Could be so much better!

    Reviewed by askdrbgood() on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Where to start on this resort... First, Apple Vacations is running a scammy feeling operation here. It starts with those of us who are lead to thinking that we are going to get a super deal through their Red Square Deal. This is where you pay what you think is a good (inferred lower) price for a quality resort. Instead, you end up at a medium quality resort that is hawking a “vacation club” (used to be timeshare) membership. Guess who owns the vacation club? That’s right, Apple Vacations. A poor guy who is just trying to make a living lead us through the incentives of suffering though the 90 min presentation. He gave us tips and warnings. So off we go the next morning to the 90 min. presentation. The vacation club folks were all smiles until we continued to say no. Then the third final closer guy, when he started in one more time and we were over the 90 minutes and I sharply said, “No more, we’re done” walked away went out of the building to cool off. ??Must have a prob with a woman telling him what to do? I wonder if that survey we filled out on our experience with them will make it to those who need know... it was with reluctance but we did, indeed get the promised two bottles of brand liquor, a big bottle of vanilla extract, and $400 of funny money towards two 50 min massages (which were inflated prices from the regularly priced $149 massages). The resort also gave us different funny money, $200 worth! Unfortunately, they make it so hard to spend it it’s really quite worthless. The first couple of days left a bad taste due to the vacation club experience, an unbalanced clikity clak fan that took two nights to fix, slow drains that I shouldn’t have to be the one to find and report, and the general hassle of having to go back and forth on trying to use the different funny monies (everything is made to be so complicated, and I speak fluid Spanish!). Big tip- it’s time to upgrade the bedrooms! We stayed there 10 years ago and nothing has been done since! And do we really have to suffer through a several minute mosquito spray haze at 6pm? Is there not a safer time when kids and food aren’t out?? When I asked the desk guy what the haze was that has enveloped the resort, he assured me it was mosquito spray, very safe. I asked what the chemical was that was being sprayed. He didn’t know. ?????shock face! The last few days were better. Service folks are friendly, food is decent, especially at the Mexican place, El Patio, and the buffet place. The drinks are less watered down at certain bars, which one figures out pretty fast. If this had been a cheaper priced resort and the Apple Vacation membership club thing hadn’t been so obviously shady, I’d have given it a higher rating.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX