Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    V

    Not clean

    Reviewed by Viv on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unpleasant in terms of being unclean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Unclean.

    Reviewed by Vivien on Dec 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This hotel was filthy. Stained sheets. Carpet gone grey from lack of cleaning. Tub plug was rusted completely through. Both phones weren?t working. The bed skirt looked like it had never been washed it was so discoloured. We found many areas of the hotel to be very poorly maintained. I would never return. WestJet located another hotel to move to however it did increase our cost significantly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6208 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Exceptional Resort

    Reviewed by Voyager284076() on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If you leave this resort unhappy, it is your own fault. Have never had a more accommodating experience. We wanted for nothing; staff always available to assist with whatever your needs are. Angel and Edwin at Ventanas, Carlos at The Deck, Sabastian at Palazzo, Edwin also at Azia and last but certainly not least Ricardo, Daniel and Genaro at Poolside and Beach certainly made our vacation memorable. We were treated like royalty. This was our second stay at the Royal Hideaway and we will certainly return.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Royal hideaway Playa del carmen

    Reviewed by cpuaar(London, United Kingdom) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is one of the Leading Hotels of the World and rated a 5 star but I think it fell short by a long way because of following - room service was appalling - ordered tea first time no milk second time no spoon third time after reiterating I wanted milk and spoon it still arrived with no milk and by time he came back tea had got cold. Went to room at 3pm and still not cleaned. Phone did not work in room so could not call did any services. Upon arrival the toilet would not flush. - you have to reserve all dinner reservations ideally before you arrive or on day of arrival as all booked up even though it was not peak season - if you have dietary requirements you will struggle as menu is limited and food in all restaurants is not good at all. Ordered chicken red curry in their Asian restaurant and there was no curry just dry chicken and vegetables with boiled rice. - waited over an hour for towels on beach as they were being washed! - fridge in bar not replenished with water - hot water in room takes at least 5 mins to run before hot water comes through - assistance by pool and beach is limited - went for yoga In the morning waited 10 mins for teacher then informed she was sick and no class would take place - concierge assigned to each villa had limited knowledge ie we asked him about booking tours and he told us to go to official tour office! It's a shame as I felt staff were very nice on the whole but they had limited resources to work with and facilities are there but not maximised to full potential. I would not return to this resort again. Thanks for reading

    Royal Hideway Stay

    Reviewed by snyderman0306(Pleasanton, California) on Jul 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Great resort with mostly friendly service, great location, excellent food and selection, and peaceful environment. There were a few hiccups here and there with dinner reservations and the spa. The spa needs to be more reasonable with how they handle their package credits. Lack of communication with the spa as well since nobody answers the phones around there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Amazing and Relaxing Holidays!

    Reviewed by carlosdulceromero(San Francisco, California) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If you’re looking for a relaxing holidays in a beautiful place with the best service... this is the place! The food was amazing, the client oriented service was the best, and the whole hotel is beautiful. The beach, the pool, the cocktails... I can’t say enough how much we loved it.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    I Don't Know Why It's Rated So Highly

    Reviewed by DestinationLAX(Los Angeles, CA) on Jul 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Pros: Beautiful beach even with current seaweed issues, it's still lovely. Pretty good customer service. I like that it's fairly small, so there are short walking distances compared to other large resorts. Conveniently located close to downtown Playa del Carmen. Cons: Totally underwhelming if you have stayed at modern, 4-5 star hotels in the area. It is very dated. The restaurants are reservation only, you can't do walk-ins. Having a schedule while on vacation was annoying and limiting. The beach and pool cocktail service is slow. They need more staff. Doesn't make sense to have a concierge stationed in each hotel building. The worst part has been the rooms. First room had a hair in the clean bathroom and 3rd level without an elevator wasn't working for my friend who just had surgery. The staff kindly moved us to a 2nd room. Our second room has a broken AC and they have done nothing about it. On day 3, our room was not cleaned, at all! No fresh towels or anything. It's been completely disappointing.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX