Bahia Principe Grand Aquamarine reviews

TripAdvisor Traveler Rating

4.0 Very Good

  • Cleanliness 4.5
  • Location 4.5
  • Rooms 4.5
  • Service 4.0
  • Value 4.0

2088 TripAdvisor reviews

TripAdvisor users rated this property 3 out of 5

Disappointed isn't strong enough

JM199408 (BIRMINGHAM) on Aug 04, 2022

This is the worst holiday i have ever been on and I like to travel. In short this isn't a 5 star accommodation it doesn't have 5 star facilities. The staff don't speak English apparently American English is easier to understand than English English. The lobby bar staff and rude and unhelpful. The staff don't make any effort unless you are from a specifc ethnic group and can speak Dominican or Spanish. Jacuzzi didn't work for the first week. TUI class this as 5 star it isn't. The general manager admitted that the staff recruited need training as they are difficult to recruit due to COVID .. not my problem , he also said it will take 12-18 months to get the resort back up to standard. POOL bar - JOSE SHERWLIN excellent and a big shout out to ALEXANDER - great polite guy ** Just spent alot of money on a two week main holiday when the only thing i looked forward to was the flight home. TUI are accountable for selling and not delivering and Bahia Principe are guilty offering and service and not delivering. We weren't alone but that isn't my problem. If you are booked to go here with any tour operator check first with your provider. Never again !!!!!

TripAdvisor users rated this property 1 out of 5

BEWARE! WORST EXPERIENCE EVER FOR THIS AVID TRAVELER

wanderlustnyc71 (New York) on Aug 02, 2022

ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE since the moment we landed. Booked through Bahia Principe website our stay. For $155, they would set up transport through this company named “Coming2”. You WhatsApp them ahead of time to confirm recreations as per the email instructions after paying, which we did prior to our departure. We were delayed and I kept them informed throughout, which they said just come to their airport counter when we land. When we landed (earlier that our delay expectations that I informed them of) their counter was closed, I kept whatsapping them, no answer (atleast not until we made a formal complaint the next day we received an answer at 2pm). Hotel guest services approach was not technically them, sorry, although we paid them, and coming2 approach was we were there, yet no one answered. We attempted to cancel that day our return home shuttle, again, hanging up, no response. We ultimately got a cab for a total of $30 for two people back to the airport. Regarding the hotel: -bought a pina colada in a pineapple for $5 one day to try, delicious. -they charged me for an additional pina colada at checkout for a day I wasn’t even at the resort because we were at a 15 hour excursion, they make sure to hold you back long enough to while waiting to check out so you have no other choice but to pay or miss your ride -room service was not daily, and they only give you two towels and two hand towels that were terrible quality -most of the staff had a “why you bothering me” attitude unless you show them some cash -had decent entertainment -very spacious since multiple Bahai’s properties are adjacent and you can go between each -beach was TERRIBLE, there was a barrier of mile long seaweed piled up on the beach so yoh would have to climb up the hill of seaweed to access the Atlantic Ocean (find a resort on the Caribbean side) -food was subpar -most of the staff said they don’t speak English, although there weee some superstars. -air conditioning was not cold enough -not enough chairs at the pool unless you got up at 8am to snag a seat -when you call concierge or if you dial zero (both are different numbers for some reason) no one picks up -music was sporadic at the pool, and titanic song by Celine dion was their fav song. Heard it at least eight times a day Overall, this was the worst experience I EVER had, and I’ve been traveling since I was 18 at least ten times a year.

TripAdvisor users rated this property 5 out of 5

Travel from July 17 to July 26, 2022

Francois B (St-Lazare qc) on Jul 31, 2022

Grand Bahia Principe Aquamarine Travel from July 17 to July 26, 2022 Very nice hotel, service and staff very friendly and always smiling. It is very well maintained and impeccable cleanliness. A perfect stay. Everything was done to make our stay pleasant. The staff is dedicated and smiling as much in the buffet, the restaurants, the bars, the swimming pool, at the reception. The choice of cocktails at the pool bar is very creative and good, a thank you to Alexandre for the good service by the pool. The food is excellent in the buffet and very diverse. We ate at 4 different restaurants and each of them stood out for the quality of food and service. Ease of reservations with the app or public computer in the lobby or more simply by asking Cesar (Public Relations Manager) who makes life 100% easier for us! The room service is really efficient, we stayed in room 81205 in building 81 with an incredible view of the swimming pools. Excellent WiFi everywhere on the complex. The site is huge but the shuttle service is efficient and the drivers are extraordinarily kind. The animation was PERFECT! Super good team led by Raphaël! The evening shows were fun especially the “Las Vegas Show” The only downside is the presence of algae on the beach but they are making huge efforts to overcome this problem. Special thanks to Antonio and Desislava for their great job in looking after this beautiful hotel! Francois and Aileen Mtl. Canada

TripAdvisor users rated this property 4 out of 5

Punta cana July 2022

travelgirld72 (Lyndhurst, New Jersey) on Jul 27, 2022

I just got back from spending a week at this resort. Checkin was a breeze however we could not get our room until 3pm. From reading reviews I requested building 80 or 81 in advance and we were in building 80 on the 3rd floor . Our room was clean and spacious. The pillows were the worst. All of our reservations were made in advance thru the bahia principe app . Thank god we did that because they didn't have any reservations available for the one extra night we arrived early. The buffet was decent . Variety of food for breakfast. Lunch and dinner . Made to order omlettes , bread station, oatmeal , fruit , freshly made juices and than the hot food. Lunch and dinner were decent as well. Restaurant I highly recommend Portofino . We ate there twice. M.e.a.t was ok . I had churrasco steak and it was great. I would stay away from the Rodizio place and the Japanse Restaurant I forgot the name. I think it starts with a T. The place is very big . You have to take trolleys to get to beach if you don't want to walk and other restaurants. The beach was full of seaweed when we arrived however they did clean it up but still seaweed in the water. The pool was nice but if you are not there by 8 am you will not get a chair with a umbrella and 9am for other chairs. They definitely have to add more seating at the pool. Looking and walking thru the Amber hotel there is definitely more seats available there . Be careful as well the floors are very slippery. They definitely need more entertainment staff and entertainment during the day by the pool. Nightly entertainment was horrible. The drinks were not good. No top shelf alcohol unless you paid them 5.00 extra. Overall it was fine . If I had to stay there again I definitely would choose the Bahia Amber swim out room . The sports bar on Saturday was great. They had a band there and was packed . One thing I didn't understand was that if you went for a drink at the bar at the Amber they wouldn't serve you they said the sports bar but I could get a drink at the other hotel at the bar . Made no sense at all considering the sports bar is a 2 min walk from the bar lobby at the Amber. Also hardly no one speaks any English there . Other than that we had a nice week .

TripAdvisor users rated this property 2 out of 5

Place to go for moldy burgers and thieving housekeepers!

BrandonFelt on Jul 25, 2022

First night, ordered room service. Since it was 45 minutes before they closed I was informed all we were allowed to order were hamburgers. When we finally received the hamburgers we paid almost $30 (so much for ALL INCLUSIVE), the buns were moldy. Next morning we went to guest services to see if we could have the charge removed. It took us an hour of writing a statement, showing our pictures, taking the staff back to the room to show the uneaten hamburgers, letting the staff take their own moldy hamburger photo shoot, and waiting for guest services to consult the manager 3 separate times to approve the refund. Whew! Time to vacay right? Nope. Came back that night to find that house cleaning stole a $1000 pair of diamond earrings from our bathroom. There is a room safe, I get it, it was an oversight on our part after a long day of travel, but that doesn't excuse outright felony theft. So BACK to guest services. In comes security. We knew exactly where we left the earrings (brown tray in bathroom) but they decided they wanted to search the whole room. Went through all our bags, pants pockets, shoes, underwear, everything aaaand....that was it. We were told we could go to the police. No apology, no comp of anything, nothing. We didn't go to the police station because we had already wasted 4 hours of investigating from the hotel and we knew we'd never get the earrings back. We ultimately just wanted the hotel to know someone on their housecleaning staff was a thief. Make no mistake, it was 100% stolen out of our room, and because of that we didn't allow housekeeping for the rest of our vacation (6 more days). I'm giving it two stars because it is a beautiful hotel. The bartending staff was great for the most part, and the food at the restaurants was very good. The beach is a 10 min walk but I didn't personally mind that much. The bed in the room is pretty much a granite slab with pillows and sheets. I promise you I'm not a complainer, I have probably only left 2 or 3 reviews in my life. I'm only leaving this one to say that the Dominican Republic is amazing and so much fun, but there are a million other resorts there, maybe look into one of those.

View All