Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Loreto
    5. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja
    6. Loreto Bay Golf Resort & Spa at Baja review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    D

    The stay at this resort was the worst one we have experienced in over 15 years of travelling. Should be rated at most at 2 stars!!!

    Reviewed by Di on Mar 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    This resort/hotel should NOT be classified as an all-inclusive. We were a group of 7. Our first issue started at the airport with a Transfer Company/WestJet rep who had not ordered a large enough vehicle to accommodate all the travellers - even though a couple were the last people to retrieve their luggage. Eventually the last travellers were taken to the resort. There was no orientation meeting set up for the next day with the rep for any of the travellers - we were left on our own to fend for ourselves. Communication was very limited. Our rooms were ok - clean upon arrival, but services deteriorated over the 7 days of our vacation. There was very little replacement of used towels & facecloths, or used shampoos etc. It took finding the cleaning cart and getting replacements. The view of the rooms did not make up for this lack of service. As for meals - we had booked as all-inclusive but 2 days in, as we tried to order some items of the menu, we were told we were NOT. After finally contacting our Transfer person and discussions with the hotel management, some of the restrictions were lifted. But one menu for lunch and one menu for supper for 7 days is totally inappropriate. As for the service, after our discussion with the management, the service we received was horrible. We were treated like we had been blacklisted! Unexcusable!!! As well, the amenities that were noted in the brochure were not available - sports bar, beach bar, 2 restaurants., beach activities. The resort did not have a lot of customers, so that should have been our first clue! We booked last September for a reasonable price - especially watching the prices increase over the later months. However, for the price we did pay ($3400 per couple) this resort classified as a 4 star is totally out of line! We have travelled as a group for 15 years and this resort is at the bottom of the list.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    S

    Staff was friendly and helpful

    Reviewed by Spike on Jul 09, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    Very pleasant. Beautiful golf course. I would go back again.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 568 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Enjoy, rinse, repeat!

    Reviewed by 2timrim(Brightwood, Oregon) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My son and I go to Loreto Bay Golf Resort in Nopolo outside of Loreto once a year after tax time for a little father son time. This trip, our fifth, my son brought a co-worker and a childhood friend. I contacted Esmeralda at reservations via email and gave her the 4 room numbers I would like to reserve for our three night stay. It so happens there was a large wedding going on that weekend (which was a lot of fun to watch), so we didn't get all my choices, but I don't think there are many bad rooms there. They all face the Sea of Cortez. Check in was a breeze. As requested, Esmeralda had prepared 4 separate invoices for us and happily price matched the price I found on Expedia. Before long we were sitting at the pool bar having a cold one. All of the staff at the bar/restaurant excelled at customer service. Leonardo became my afternoon margarita hook-up. Our rooms were cleaned nicely each day with two bottles of water provided in each room. The walk in shower was great with plenty of pressure. My room was steps from the beach with an excellent view of the golf course. The resort is very quiet and laid back. Everything shuts down around 10pm, and our party of four would end each day having a night cap by the beach relaxing in the cool breeze. I got a nice shoulder/neck massage one day for $35 for a half an hour. Really enjoyed that! My mornings started at the pool where after a quick swim, I would sit facing the beach and watch the pelicans dive for breakfast while I read the paper online, which brings me to a point I wish make in this review. Many things go on unnoticed at resorts that often travelers take for granted. These are done by employees who don't get mentioned in reviews, probably don't get thanked by the guests, and most likely don't get tips. One such person at this resort is Hipolito. I don't know what time in the morning he starts because I'm still asleep. But when I arrive at the pool for my morning routine he's there, emptying the garbage cans, picking up trash from the beach and pool area and straightening/returning all the beach and pool loungers to their proper location. Each morning the beach and pool areas are spotless and all the loungers are nicely organized. Thank you, Hipolito. I hope the resort rewards employees who are mentioned in a review because you deserve a bonus for your work. Our time was up so we checked out and headed to the airport. My golfing buddies flew home as they had to return to work and families. I didn't. I had changed my flight and returned to the resort for another four days in happiness. I would have stayed longer but I needed to get home for Mother's Day. In conclusion, I measure my happiness with a trip by how I feel when I write a review. My trip laundry is barely put away, and I wish I could fly back tomorrow. Each line of type creates images in my mind like a slide show, but I'll have to wait for awhile to return. Thanks Loreto Bay Resort. You're a nice change from the large all inclusive resorts I visit in Puerto Vallarta, and I can't wait until tax time to return so I'll see you in October as well!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Service?

    Reviewed by Jeff L() on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    The rooms are nice, however the service is abominable. The restaurants were not open when they were supposed to be, the wait staff not attentive, the front desk could not get laundry done, but said they could. They just don’t seem to care.

    Awful Customer Service

    Reviewed by Scott P(Cabo San Lucas, Mexico) on May 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    If you're looking for a hotel in Loreto with terrible customer service and an overall disconcern for their guests then, this is your place. Nobody seems to have any accountability nor do they do what they say they're going to do. I will be returning to Loreto but definitely not to this hotel.

    Beautiful Resort short on details

    Reviewed by 636tommyr(seattle, United States) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    The Lotto Bay Hotel Resort is indeed in a beautiful location, and is designed to maximize it's scenery. Unfortunately, it's restaurant falls short on important details. The only available restaurant open when we arrived @ 6pm was located outside and we battled the wind and elements. My elder uncle was miserably cold so ordered hot tea and honey. They had to struggle to find any tea, and no honey was to be found on the premises. The food had great promise on the menu but failed in its execution. Seafood pasta promised a "bounty of the sea", but only had a few overcooked shrimp in a limp sauce. The coconut "prawns" see small shrimp in a sauce we could not determine its origins. The bill came with no pen to sign our tab, and charges not ours. Requested bottle water never arrived, but our constant disappointment certainly did. Stay for the views but not the food!

    bad service but good location

    Reviewed by FellowTraveler430246() on Apr 29, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    service in restaurant is very slow and food is average playing very load music makes it hard to talk the room are not well maintained. Almost every day something was broken The hotel is in a fantastic location!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX