Rosen Shingle Creek

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    C

    Outstanding service, spectacular views and No Resort fees

    Reviewed by Clare on Mar 14, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Our resort experience was superior to what we expected. The location to theme parks, shopping and local dining was better than we expected, the food and dining options onsite the resort were plentiful, the rooms were large and cozy and the staff were consistently hospitable. We recommend this resort to anyone traveling to Orlando, business and/or leisure, single travelers, couples and families.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4857 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    It's a 3-Star Convention Hotel

    Reviewed by john32034() on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We've been to two different conferences held at this hotel. Both were just mediocre stays. This time they decided to paint the floor we were staying on. The fumes were absolutely overwhelming. They moved us to another floor after giving us a little too much attitude. The day we were checking out they were starting to paint the floor we were on. Convention space is the only good thing about this hotel.

    Perfect!

    Reviewed by melcav57(San Antonio, Texas) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Lovely hotel with helpful staff, great restaurants, spa, beautiful pool, and excellent rooms and service! I was here for a large conference and the hotel did a wonderful job with everything, accommodating over 4000 women: meals, service, answering questions, guiding... wonderful place to stay in Orlando!

    Not a great place to be held hostage for a conference

    Reviewed by coopadvisor(New York City, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The Rosen Shingle Creek will have you believe that it is a great place for a conference. And to a certain extent it is. There are large exposition halls and bountiful space for attendee sessions. Being an attendee, I do not know about the AV and IT capabilities, but they did seem very strong. However, that's where the benefits of hosting a conference at this property begin and end. I came for Podcast Movement, my favorite conference and fifth year attending. The word from everyone I spoke to at the conference was that this was the worst hotel of all past years. Having attended other conferences as well, I cannot say that this is a great place to have a conference. While the hotel has many rooms, once at capacity there simply aren’t enough resources to support all the people. For example, in the morning (before the set conference start time), the fitness center was overwhelmed with people trying to get in a work out. There was a wait for the approximately 9 treadmills and the wait for the elliptical machines was easily explained by the fact that there only three. Clearly not enough for a 3000+ attendee conference in 2019. The worst part is that for the “privilege” of this experience you get to pay $10!!! per visit. This happened to be included in our conference rate so it’s unclear to me whether this additional charge is meant to deter people from going to the gym or be a straight money grab. Need something from the front desk? Budget about an hour to get in front of someone unless it’s after 10pm or before 7am when there is no wait, but even then the people have a limited capability to help. And printing something from the on-site Ricoh business center will cost you a cool $.41 per page. Want some food? The Rosen Shingle Creek is designed to be a complex with architectural and location features of an asylum or prison to ensnare the conference attendee guests and gouge them with low quality food at high prices. The best option within the “complex” is the place that sells burgers. The burgers are large and it is hard to mess up a burger. The true saving grace for food, however, has to be that there is a Publix grocery store within walking distance (and short Uber ride home). Otherwise the food is miserable and expensive. Perhaps it was the $20+ tacos (inclusive of tax and tip) that were so over cooked they resembled the skin of a local Florida gator rather than carne asada; or that the breakfast buffet had watered down coffee, sad fruit, and over cooked everything. But if you don’t want to go to a restaurant, be prepared to be gouged at the hotel store where you can buy a can of beer for $6. Want to network with your fellow attendees? If you don’t waste all your energy waiting for a table at one of the restaurants for over 30 minutes (because the hotel can’t handle all the guests) then you surely will be exhausted trying to speak to your fellow table mates. Most of the restaurants are located in a corridor between the rooms and the exposition area, a corridor with hard floors, high ceilings and as a result is terribly loud. Hardly the experience you would have hoped for when you invest in paying for a conference ticket, flight, and hotel room to meet fellow attendees. A savvy traveller is well advised to bring cough drops for all the screaming you will be doing to try to have a conversation over a meal. Creature comforts? In spite of the forgoing, there were some redeeming creature comforts. Rooms were nicely sized and clean. The main pool is large, and the second pool for swimming laps was nice respite for the overcrowded fitness center. I did not use the golf course though it seemed nice. There also seemed to be ample parking but for an eye watering approximately $25/night (if not included in your conference rate) it hardly seems worth it (or they are simply dissuading you from having a car to be able to escape the complex). Harris Rosen has an incredible personal story and through his overwhelming marketing he’s not shy about letting you know about it. It is impressive how he has has built many properties and a brand from scratch. However, it is time to return to basics and refocus on the guest experience, especially if the main thrust of this property is to be marketed towards conferences. Podcast Movement 2019 was a wonderful success, but it was perhaps in spite of not a result of this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-1

    Great Resort

    Reviewed by Todd W(Cherry Hill, New Jersey) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is a large facility with many restaurants and amenities to offer. About 8 restaurants with various cuisines. There are pools, a sand volleyball court, two tennis courts, and a top golf course which was just rated #3 public course in Orlando. The room sizes are great. Our dbl queen room had plenty of room for our 2 strollers and pack and play. Some negatives include a long wait for elevators during busy times, weird floor plan in the room tower (easy to get lost to and from room), and food prices are high.

    Worst place to stay if you have a disability

    Reviewed by rosielaurah(Norwich, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Handicapped parking is 8 minute walk from the hotel. The “offer” valet parking for free for people with disabilities but they refused when we asked valet. The handicapped rooms can’t be used if you’re in a party with more than 2 as there’s only 2 small double beds. When there is a convention (which is always) you are the minority, you will not be served at the desk or at the hotel restaurants unless you have a lanyard on. Waited 1 hour and 43 minutes for someone to put me in the pool using the handicapped lift to come tell me it’s broken and none of them work. I paid $13K to stay at this hotel and it most definitely isn’t worth it. Don’t waste your time guys. Manager James Blackburn is useless.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX