Grand Velas Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Amazing

    Reviewed by Michelle on Mar 18, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    Best AI I ever stayed at ; stayed at well over 10.... Service over the top, food amazing, solo beautiful!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 4330 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing week vacation

    Reviewed by Isaiah669(San Diego, California) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing resort nothing short of amazing. The staff was very hospitable and it’s beyond inclusive. Tip well they deserve it, every restaurant was amazing delicious food and knowledgeable staff. Pool area was so relaxing and very clean, the beach activities where a blast you won’t regret staying at this resort. A little pricier than the neighboring resorts but worth every penny

    Superb from start to finish

    Reviewed by Claire B(UK) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our family of 5 (parents and 3 adult children) enjoyed 7 fabulous nights in this resort which is really three hotels in one. Each one has a different vibe. We spent our first two nights in the serene Zen and in two interconnecting rooms - one King and one double Queen. Our decks looked out onto water with turtles and fish. We spent a day at the excellent Zen pool which we had virtually to ourselves for most of the day. The service there and the pool side food was excellent. I am sorry that I can't remember the names of the staff who served us but they were friendly and attentive. Our personal concierge Gema was just THE BEST from start to finish. Due to a small problem with one of the bathrooms (which incidentally was immediately rectified to our satisfaction) she organised for us to be moved to two ocean front rooms in Ambassador Class which was truly a wonderful setting allowing us to walk out onto our patio and onto the beach. As we are all adults we spent our remaining days at the adult only pool in the Grand Class. There we were served by the excellent Carlos and his team - these guys are absolutely great and made us so welcome every day. No review of Grand Velas is complete without mentioning the food. We've travelled widely across the world and we can without doubt say that the food here is consistently superior to any other hotel we've stayed at in America, Caribbean, Asia or Europe. We tried all the restaurants and ate at Chaka, Frida, Cocina de Autor, Piaf, Lucca and Sen Lin at night and enjoyed Bistro and Azul for lunch and breakfast. At Autor we enjoyed the "wine flight" which was a great experience for all of us. My personal favourite was Sen Lin but they all exceed expectations in their own way. Thank you to everyone at Grand Velas who made our holiday so memorable. We would recommend Grand Velas without hesitation.

    A week of total bliss

    Reviewed by Kendra J(Brooklyn, New York) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a fantastic family vacation! This place manages to be luxurious without being pretentious. They know what you need before you need it. As a New Yorker and foodie, I cannot say enough about the quality of food everywhere on the resort. The poolside food was excellent and the gourmet dining experiences were memorable. We feared that we wouldn’t feel like we got a chance to relax being that we brought our 4 and 6 year old along but they were begging to go to the Kid’s Club daily. We were able to balance pool time and lunch or breakfast with the kids and then they happily went off to the Kid’s club where they engaged in many fun experiences and hands on activities. Some nights they went to eat with the other kids at the club which allowed us to have adult only dinner. Our concierge Roberto was excellent and went above and beyond when a mistake was made with our excursion to Tulum. We especially loved the pool side staff. The sunglass cleaning service in the morning was an excellent touch. Jorge and Luis were standouts. Like

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Always amazing!!. would recommend staying in August.

    Reviewed by Crsnina(Tiburon, California) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First of all, our great appreciation goes to Mr. Luis Vargas! Thank you for always remembering our family and treating us like family. You have made this trip most memorable for us. Thank you Mr. Vargas for making sure every day was our best. Thank you to Aaron for making our experience at the main pool very relaxing and checking on us every day to make sure we were enjoying our time. We want to mention Frieda restaurant, it’s the fine dining Mexican restaurant at the resort. We recommend visiting this restaurant to experience the art of fine cuisine. All the dishes presented are very creative and delicious. We would like to thank Antonio, most amazing server, Victor, the manager, and Valeria, the hostess. The hotel is gorgeous and the staff make our stay memorable and keep us returning. A great Thank You! to ALL the staff at Grand Velas! YOU makes us feel like we are at HOME at Grand Velas. ??

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    BUSINESS trip to Velas

    Reviewed by Bunch19() on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The place is very beautiful, clean staff is very helpful, polite, the service is great. Grand class experince is very nice for adults. My concierge Diana was extremely helpful and bespoke all the time. She made sure everything was pleasent. The food is fantastic as well as the drink at the pool.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX