Ocean Riviera Paradise

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    New resort has to work out the kinks but, great for first attempt.

    Reviewed by Sherry on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Food was great. Most enjoyed the outdoor entertainment in the courtyard at night. Bowling was fun. Some suggestions would be that they needed more servers on the beach and at the pool. Did not like that at 5 pm all bars at the beach and pool shut down. No where to get a drink except for the lobby. They should also add a smaller breakfast restaurant. Some people don't want the banging and clashing of the buffet and simply want a smaller selection of food, a coffee, and to hear the birds and the ocean in the morning. Also, it could just be that this resort is brand new but, if you are disabled or have problems walking, do not go to this resort. They have trolleys but, are not consistent with the timing. Sometimes, there were two or three going at once and other times, not one in sight and after waiting fifteen minutes, still no trolley. My husband has joint issues and walking the walk from the Eden building to the buffet or lobby was very hard on him. For that reason, we would not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Very good restaurants and food but overall not a relaxing resort - better for the younger set

    Reviewed by John and Christine on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection and quality were excellent as were the a-la-carte options available. The resort was however very noisy with loud music and general disturbances from activities being heard across the resort from the pool areas. The "Adults Only" El Beso accommodations were the most noisy and disruptive in the whole resort and we were forced to move to the Daisy Childrens' or the Privilege pools to find at least some level of peace and quiet. We would recommend that the "Adults Only" designation be renamed or otherwise described by the hotel and by WestJet. In addition, we would not recommend this resort for "Seniors". The front desk staff were poorly trained and clearly not comfortable dealing with customers - accordingly, they were very inflexible and not at all accommodating. Securing a change of room because of problems with allocated rooms is virtually impossible. We had to enlist the help of the local BD Travel and WestJet reps in order to secure a move away from a pool front room in El Beso at which the balcony was within meters of the pool DJ's, sound system and loud drunken activities! We must thank Katja Grimmig BD Travel and Jason Hawes WestJet for their tireless and effective help and support with our "hotel" problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great resort, awesome experience for our first family vacation to Mexico.

    Reviewed by Swanny68 on Feb 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We were a little worried going in after reading the reviews on their Facebook page. Once there we were glad we came, everything was great. Our family really enjoyed our time there, food was great, pool and beach we totally enjoyed. We would go back there no problem, same with the others we were traveling with. The resort had lots to offer for what we expected and were looking for. The only hiccup was the almost 3 hour delay leaving Calgary, but things happen and we did get there and totally enjoyed our week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7760 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Not a great trip

    Reviewed by D7804RGrobinw() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The resort is beautiful but the people are not friendly. We checked in and got no info at the desk on where to go or how things worked. We didn’t stay privileged so you couldn’t make reservations for food. On day 2 we ate at the hibachi restaurant and everyone started to get sick after. 8 of 9 of us were throwing up for 24 hrs. I called the front desk and they didn’t offer help. The day we left the restaurant was closed with no explanation. The food was average at best and the wait staff were really slow. The steak restaurant was awful. Luckily we were there to have fun and with the exception of the illness and crappy food we did have a couple days of nice weather. I would not return.

    Decent food, horrible watered down drinks

    Reviewed by Highmaindude() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Good: Decent food, great coffee and ice cream place Newer facilities Good price Bad: Don’t go to steakhouse - all others were decent Do not disturb sign on door not respected Time share offers (really?) Bugs in bed Drinks- I’m convinced the alcohol was watered down and they used all fake surgery ingredients Service lacks any level of personal touch Motion sensors in room creeped me out Did not clean beach of weeds - all other hotels did

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Wonderful all inclusive resort!

    Reviewed by Shagresi(Edmonton, Canada) on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our Canadian family of four (two adults, one 11 yr old, and one 13 year old) spent a glorious week at the Ocean Riviera Paradise from Jan 25-Feb 1, 2019. We had booked the upgrade package for the Privilege Jr Suite and enjoyed all the extras (very much worth the small additional cost for the week), and especially LOVED our butler, Ariz. She is such a lovely, caring woman who truly loves her job. She was so eager to help us with anything. We were especially grateful for the wonderful birthday decorations, etc that she surprised my husband with in our room on his special day! We have never had a butler before and Ariz made us feel so fortunate! Thank you Ariz!! We also wanted to mention one of the servers; Jose Antonio Alvarez Andrude who was our waiter when we dined in the Mexican restaurant. His attentive service was perfect! Thank you Jose! Overall, this resort is top notch ... from cleanliness, entertainment, activities, pools, food, - everything! We have spent the last 9 years going away this time of year to all inclusive resorts in various tropical countries and this one is by far, the best! We highly recommend this for anyone considering a fantastic all inclusive resort in the Mayan Riviera.

    isappointing

    Reviewed by Jillyaine() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Rooms were beautiful, spacious and well maintained... A la Carte restaurants didn't have consistent hours and over the 10 days that we spent there we had only 1 meal that was served hot. Luke warm and cold food= seemed to be the norm.. While this place came highly recommended to us, I would not recommend it. We were also being barraged with sales pitches for Premium upgrdes.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    The bedding sheets were damp

    Reviewed by Issac Y() on Feb 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The room we used needed update. The washroom smells not so pleasant, something wrong with the ventilation. The housekeepers were hardworking, very friendly and helpful. The food was good with variety choices. But a lady geeting people at the main restaurant (Amarita or something) who looked a bit older than the others was so rude. If you go there as a group of two, they will probably try to force you to sit at a table that is close to their cleaning garbge can, or to a table congested wih a lot of kids around. She didn’t even say hello to you, then “room number!!” I hate to say this,but they should address this issue if they don not want ruin the holidays of their customers.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX