Sandos Playacar Beach Resort

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    N

    Celiac and Gluten-free accoomodating. A wonderful overall experience that will have us going back to Sandos

    Reviewed by Nykol Kroeker on Jan 02, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    This was our first all-inclusive trip following a celiac diagnosis within our family. The food available available at the resort was very accommodating with a specific "gluten-free" section available at the buffet. Whenever asked, the head chef also walked around with my daughter and I to explain what could be consumed at the buffet. The Italian and Mexican a-la-carte restaurants were AMAZING at accommodating all food that was order to be inclusive for my daughter. The resort, pools and beach were also wonderful and we will definitely be back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    S

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear

    Reviewed by SC on Dec 21, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    If you are travelling with young children steer clear. If you are travelling with adults only, purchase the right class (family blue bands will not give you access to the entire resort only about 1/3). It is really sad what they have done to what sounded like an amazing resort for families pre December 1. Family Section - Section furthest away from the beach/ waterslides. To get to the beach/family section (1.6km), there are carts that can transport you (a bit of a game of chicken with buses travelling the opposite way and pedestrians as it was not built for this) Positives: activities, swim up bar and snacks, Room service available, jetted tubs in rooms Negatives: beach/pool with water slides is 1.6km away from rooms, rooms smell like mold, main buffet is 1.1km away Main Areas: Shows were great, Service was friendly and efficient, Food at the main buffet was the best I have had at a buffet. Tons of choices, sushi, pasta, fresh breads, cheeses, Chinese, salads, fruits, amazing meat, gluten free section, kids food section, great deserts, mimosas for breakfast! Kids club was tons of fun for a 2 year old and 7. They offer free service for 4 and above, for my 2 year old I paid for an extra babysitter in the kids club (20 an hour) Family Beach, waterslides and pool area Positives: Infinity pool, lunch bbq and snacks, beautiful views Negatives: Distance 1.6 km from the rooms, not a lot of shade, Limited seating, no lifeguard stations in the family area (there are 2 in the adults only), bathroom hasn't been built yet, not a ton of waiter service, Waterslides filled to high with water, Adults not allowed on slides - as they are too deep (above your knee) young kids cannot use any of them (including the baby ones), there are stairs to and from ? hasn't been planned for strollers, no pathed area to the pool (lots of exercise pushing a stroller through the sand), Pools are very cold, Construction noise all day long.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    M

    Huge, modern hotel with amazing food!

    Reviewed by Marc on Nov 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This massive hotel has some of the best all-inclusive resort food you will ever eat. Thankfully you will get your steps in to burn off some of the huge meals you'll enjoy! The rooms are fine, the bars, restaurants and pools are great and the beach is MASSIVE. All day time staff speaks perfect English, and they will go out of their way for you. Amazing spot, would go back!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    Loves the resort but hated my room, switching rooms seemed to be out of the question even after several complaints.

    Reviewed by Brian on Feb 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Great beach, food and staff. Very disappointed in our room, balcony door wouldn't look, wrist bands wouldn't open door security had to come six times in the first one and a half days to let us in our room. Valuable lost time waiting 30 + min each time they had to come and then wait for them to finish each time to see if it work. Took them 2 days to finally change the lock mechanism. We were on the 4 floor and the elevator stopped working for the last 3 days of our stay. We were never offered another room or any compensation. Very disappointed in a so called 5 star resort as far as my accommodations. In desperate need of renovations in some parts of the resort.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    z

    not coming back

    Reviewed by zeljka on Jan 18, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    location, food and entertainment was great but room was bad, smell bad look bad, definitely needs renovation and update, bad lighting, useless hair dryer...

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    A

    Sandos was great! Would recommend!

    Reviewed by ADay on Jan 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I were there for a short vacation of 5 nights in early November. What surprised me was the employees. We have not been to Mexico in years and partly due to being treated much better at other destinations than by the hotel staff in Mexico. This was NOT the case on this trip. Great and FRIENDLY service. Kudos to the hotel industry to improve on this point and so well. Sandos was great! The beach was wonderful! Food, good. Drinks, good. Service, great. Loved hearing the howling monkeys! We had a great time even with it raining 1.5 days. Only two little things that we didn't like so much personal opinion and they are just minor. The first is that we did not book the adults only- we did not think we needed it and wanted to be closer to the beach anyway. However, the adults only have a piece of the beach that is away from the daily activities and you have an unobstructed view of the water. I recommend even just for this, to book the upgrade. The second minor point is that we don't often like to enjoy the evening entertainment, but rather have a drink or two in the lobby bar at hotels after dinner. The lobby was so far away from our room and where we usually ate-and the lobby bar was a bit secluded and uninteresting, so we never went there. Very minor points and certainly did not keep us from enjoying this resort. Would return!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    F

    Great beach, large rooms, good location.

    Reviewed by Funinsun on Jan 17, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2014

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location: located in playa car, on the south end of playa del Carmen. 35 minute walk to playa del carmen ferry, or 5 minute $7 cab ride. Playa car is a gated golf course community with a dozen hotels along the beach. Beach: exceptional, wide, long, no rocks. One side is for families, one side is adults only if you chose the 'select clubs adults only' package. The major hotel chains got into the playa car area for the beach. 5 Riu's, 1 sandos, 2 iberostar's, 2 wyndhams , and a handful of others. We go to the area for proximity to playa del carmen's restaurant 's and shopping and the playa car beaches. Have been to two of the other playa car hotels and they were good, we come back to sandos for the large separate adults only pool, the adults only rooms are also large with a jetted two person tub. If we were a family I'd choose this hotel or any of the other larger hotels in the area. It's the pools and separate adult beach that sell us on it. This is a large hotel 800 or so rooms. Families or those with mobility issues may want to stay in the section right on the beach. Adults section I refer to is a 9 minute walk to the beach, there is a golf cart shuttle that runs from the adult section to the beach area every 7 minutes. Food is good, large buffet, with a couple chefs to fry up fish or meat I'd you want fresh. Entertainment and shows are above average, always an early eve kids show. Evening entertainment setup is very good with the major bar, buffet, and mainstage all centrally located. For 300 less a week I would consider the Riu's or others in playa car if your not going for the adults only. But this hotel is priced about right, it's a 4.5 star with lots of amenities good rooms and service. You get what you pay for there's a $400 more a week riu five star in playa car and a $ 400 less riu 3.5 star also in play car.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 16025 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Italian a la carte restaurant for dinner

    Reviewed by Kandace S() on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    So far my vacation at Sandos Playacar in Playa Del Carmen has been amazing; but this evening it took the Italian a la carte Restaurant 45mins to seat us for dinner. We arrived at 7:30 and weren’t seated until 8:15. Unacceptable.

    2019 Annual Trip to Sandos Playacar!

    Reviewed by MN_Traveler20152015(Minneapolis, Minnesota) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had another amazing stay at Sandos Playacar. This is our 8th year returning to Playa del Carmen and our 6th year returning to Sandos Playacar after trying two other resorts. The beach at Sandos Playacar is what keeps us returning. This year, we found that with the renovations of the new resort, there were a lot of changes. We were not impacted by the adults only section changing to the front of the resort as we have always stayed in Ocean Front rooms. While the rooms are not updated, we love the location. We were a bit disappointed at how spread out the beach sections are now. The old entertainment section that was on the North end of the beach is now a very quiet and somewhat deserted adults only section. The entertainment has moved a bit South in front of the new family section; in between the Sandos Playacar property and the construction of the new resort. The adult only pool is now near the beach, in the prior family section pool - the entertainment crew was not as engaging as in past years. We also experienced a less engaging entertainment crew in the new family section - possibly because the new family section beach area is so wide spread that it felt like the entertainment was off to the side vs. right in front of you like in 2018. This beach area, along with the adults only area, definitely have enough chairs - there were more empty chairs than filled chairs. It felt a bit deserted on the beach. The new pool area is nice; however the bar and bathrooms are too far away from the beach and the severs don't come around often enough on the beach - hopefully once construction is completed this will be addressed. There were some construction noises noticed while at the new pool, but you could not hear them from your room even ocean front rooms. As usual, the food options are endless and the food is good. The evening entertainment is great. I was surprised to see that during two evenings, the entertainment for the White Party and one other event were moved from the new area on the West side of the Meeting Point into the old area which was on the East side of the Meeting Point; however the bar area with the swings is still not open. This bar should be open during these events. Getting around the resort is made easy with several golf carts running throughout the day/evening. Another great year, overall, and excited to see what 2020 looks like once the renovations are completed.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Unresponsive/poor customer service

    Reviewed by hollyrosebammert(New York City, New York) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I was forced to pay for a shuttle to the airport at the end of our stay, which was booked by a Sandos representative for a time that would have made us late for our flight. After much following up with the hotel via email, they are completely unresponsive, and it looks like I am now going to have to make many expensive international calls to resolve my concern. Taints what was already an average experience at this resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Family Trip

    Reviewed by Easymoney82() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We traveled here first week of February for 7 nights stay. King bed room with bunk beds in the family area on the main floor. The bathroom is a little strange with the toilet in a old shower with no privacy. The shower drain was very slow and the water would build up and leak through the poorly caulked seams and run across the floor. Other than that the room was large, good beds and was kept clean and drinks were stocked everyday. The family area pool near the rooms is very large with nice bar and daily bbq for lunch. Although there are no smoking signs everywhere and a smoking area, it is not policed very well and you find people smoking / vaping everywhere. Not a big deal but could be addressed if they have signs up to prohibit it. The food was in general good, two of the seven mornings the scrambled eggs and hash browns at the breakfast buffet were cold, i told the staff and they were replaced. I think the heating areas where food is kept during display could be warmer. There are plenty of choices to eat everyday and if your there for a week you will be satisfied with selection. Drinks were plentiful and the bar tenders, food service staff, drivers and maids were all very nice and polite and i tipped well to show my appreciation. My only negative encounter was at check out the lady asked me to pay the eco fee of 8 american dollars when i had already paid it at check in. The man at that time did not give me a receipt when i paid which now i know i should have asked for one. In the end i never paid twice and was "released" without further issue. The beach is very nice, there was seaweed at the shore edge but they were cleaning it up all the time..it was a losing battle. Outside the resort limits as you walk the beach the plastic garbage that has washed ashore is awful and plentiful..shame really. In the limits of the resort the beach was pretty decent, some small garbage items but cigarette butts were most commonly found..should provide those smokers out post or something it was a bit much. The resort is very large and expect to walk lots but there is the golf cart style trams that run all the time. The road is shared with walkers and can get a bit tight sometimes when it passes. New family area at the beach needs more trees as the adult only side looks much nicer and more shade. There is alot of construction going on there in the new family area which kind of took the relaxing atmosphere out of it. Music was usually too loud at the family pool which we found not necessary, it's not a dance or night club. We weren't bothered about time shares but the spa staff and guys trying to sell scuba / snorkel tours were always floating around, and if your uncomfortable with saying no all the time it can be a bother. The wifi was good as well and the grounds are very well kept, they work hard to keep the place looking good and that was nice. In all it was a good trip for a family of three, we would go back for sure and now know what to expect. Sunwing provided travel to and from airport...going there took forever as it was dropping people off everywhere and going back was pretty well straight forward trip to airport. Take american currency with you as it is definitely the money of choice there which i found surprising.

    Not a huge fan of all-inclusive resorts but Sandos Playacar was quite nice.

    Reviewed by Extraordinary337720() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were at the resort the first week of February. We stayed in the adult only section and were pleased with the location closer to the beach. The first room we were given was lovely with one King bed but it was on the ground floor, did not have a balcony/patio and reeked of mold. The odor seemed to be coming through the HVAC system. We requested another room and were moved immediately. The second room had two queens and was not as nice as the first but smelled better (also still a bit moldy after being closed up during the day). We were very impressed with the staff - always a smile and a greeting - and in particular Rebecca Perez at the adult only breakfast buffet and Sofia, one of the Concierges. Beach is large and kept clean - seaweed was an issue but they had a tractor grooming the shoreline. Food was okay, not great. Husband had a great filet at the French restaurant. Overall, it was a very relaxing vacation. If we were to do another all inclusive, we would consider going back.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX