UNICO 20˚87˚ Hotel Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    T

    This place is amazing! We?ve been to multiple resorts in the cancun area and would suggest this place.

    Reviewed by Tyler Ferguson on Feb 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    If you are looking for a smaller (for Mexico), relaxing getaway this is the place. The employees were good. Use their ?Butler? service as much as possible. It is expensive but well worth it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2595 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Should be 5/5 but.....

    Reviewed by TimB422(London, United Kingdom) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great stay at the UNICO so lets start with the good stuff then look at what held me back giving them 5/5... The staff are just outstanding - The friendliness & helpful nature of everyone was brilliant and it seemed they just wanted everyone to have a great vacation. Victor around the pool was the man and Pascual in the concierge team. was excellent. I loved how they have split the pools into "party pool" & "chill pool" and there are plenty of sunbeds for everyone. The rooms are great and have everything you need. If you want a quieter holiday I would ask for a room away from the action - We happened to be building one which was quiet and perfect for us. This was our first venture into all-inclusive and overall it was ok and ticked the box. The bars held named labels but the choice was very narrow i.e. If you like a good gin bar with a big selection this is not the place for you. This was a little disappointing and I would have happily paid for a better selection. I found the restaurants good but not great, again I would have happily paid extra for that "knock-out" dinner. However for what we paid and what we got its hard to complain - From a personal perspective I would have liked that Michelin restaurant on site. The breakfast however is VERY good, if you can't find something yummy to eat here you are just fussy :-) The big let-down is NOT the hotels fault "The beach".... Wow, I have never seen or smelt seaweed like it - It was so bad for my wife and I it made the beach unusable ( I think the week we was the most we had seen on the beach sunbeds was 3 people). They had guys trying too clear it but to be honest it was like painting the golden gate bridge with a toothbrush ! These poor guys worked like mad then the next day it was back. If the beach is a big part of your vacation you might want to check the seaweed season ! Overall this is very good value for money with great service. The reason I held back on 5/5 is the need for a knock-out restaurant, wider choice at the bar and that seaweed. TIP :: We also hit "company incentive trip" season. I could put it out of mind but I know a lot of people don't like that so you might want to check

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    You will love it ??

    Reviewed by Tasha H() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First, let me say that I NEVER write reviews. I use them often and appreciate the people that do write them ??. But Unico deserves every accolade and we will definitely be back. There are so many personal touches that make this experience praise worthy. Upon arrival your greeted by your resort host. Our host Geraldine, was super sweet and gave us the lay of the land. She then introduced us to our personal concierge for the week, Pascual, who was available on WhatsApp all day and meet all our needs. He assured us with setting up excursions, airport transportation, spa appointments and dinner reservations. Most of this is also available on the UNICO app (a must download,) but Pascual was able to assist above and beyond. We were greeted in our room with straw hats (that could be painted complimentary during the week) and turn down service every night. Fabulous robes, a steamer in each room, and a voucher to visit the spa and customize your bath experience. While you’re there schedule a 4 hands massage (AMAZING!) and experience the hydrotherapy. The aromatherapy at this resort is amazing. You can chose the fragrance for your room, but the entire resort spells heavenly ?? Everyone at the resort is waiting to help you and extremely friendly, but I’d like to give a few shout outs: From the 2087 restaurant - where we had breakfast each morning and dinner twice. Suzy, Ricardo, and Luis were all very gracious. From the Pool Bar - where we spent about half our trip. Fantastic pool side service (order the seafood tacos ??) and great drinks (get the no name!) bartender Cesar and our server Carlos were amazing!! The deluxe Chichen Itza tour hosted by Cesar and Paola was a great day and very educational. Checked off another wonder of the world ?? ? Hope these little details help. Enjoy your visit to Unico ??

    Decent stay with room for improvement

    Reviewed by jacobfred29(United States) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a decent stay at Unico properties. There are bunch of good restaurants on the property and staff is very polite and helpful. I would rate hotel on the expensive side so these facilities are pretty common at high end Mexico resorts we have stayed at. However, there are couple of places where I would expect hotel to improve. We were told that a local host (aka butler) would come and greet us the next day (since we checked in after 5 pm local time) but we never got any visit from the local host for the five days we stayed there. This meant to figure out everything from which restaurant to go to and making reservations to figuring out which tours to take ourselves. Secondly, the spa pool is not free and there is $35 fee to access the sauna (which is totally ridiculous). Service also varies from which staff helped you (or not). I went to lie down by pool side on two different days and the staff on first day did not seem to care much (where getting drinks to setting up umbrella took forever and I had to ask him several times) while on second day, the staff was super helpful and responsive. The beach next to the hotel is pretty dirty (not hotel's fault but due to natural phenomenon) and would not recommend to swim in it. Cancun has better and cleaner beaches in my experience. Last, transportation by the hotel is pretty expensive $144 for two people (back and forth to the airport in a minivan) and it takes 1 hour 20 mins each way. Overall, my thoughts are that it was a good experience but not anything above and beyond. There are better hotels in same price range in Cancun area (LeBlanc for example) which go above and beyond, are much closer driving distance from the airport and provide free transportation.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Wedding/Family Vacation

    Reviewed by tiffmmart() on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We thoroughly enjoyed UNICO! Perfect atmosphere for partying if you want it, and chilling if you want that too. Several restaurants to choose from, several pools to choose from, great fun for any genre of adult. Bring your YETI for drink refills!

    Gorgeous Resort but even more amazing staff!!

    Reviewed by JamieFro5(Larned, Kansas) on Jun 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Clean, beautiful resort!! We dealt with the seaweed, which was a visual disappointment, BUT the resort works their butt off everyday to do their best with it. We experienced a few meals that were AMAZING & some incredible staff too. First, our host Montse is one of the best!!! Request her when you arrive, if you wish, you won’t be disappointed. She is great. Lots a host can do for you too!! Angel was one of the best servers at Mura House, where we had one of our best meals too. The shrimp app, sushi rolls & pad thai are incredible!! Another delicious meal was had at the Italian restaurant and we had another amazing waiter, Rodrigo. Very attentive, always had full drinks, was there to pour out the next glass from our wine we purchased, just a great waiter. Our rooms were always well kept and very clean, room service was great, views were incredible but the one employee that went above and beyond, & the reason that we sat in the same spots by the infinity pool closest to the beach, was Rodrigo. He is AMAZING. Hard worker, knew us all by name, knew what we liked, was friendly, smiling, & just made our stay at Unico that much better. While every resorts have their ups and downs, Unico’s staff that we’ve encountered, are amazing!! THANK YOU Montse, Rodrigo, Angel (Mura House) & our Mi Carisa waiter, Rodrigo. Tacos, pizza, onion rings, chips & guac poolside are all a must!! Both breakfast spots are great too. We swam with dolphins on an excursion and had a great time with that too!! AND we can’t forget, we visited the spa numerous times, & it was AMAZING!! The massages were amazing & the hydrotherapy was incredible!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX