Maui Kaanapali Villas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Maui's Best Kept Secret

    Reviewed by Ann on Feb 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have travelled to Maui 6 times in the past 10 years. It was on our second trip to the island that we stayed at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, and our experience was so fantastic that we continue to come back year after year. The staff is outstanding. The beach is incredible. The grounds are meticulously maintained, and we loved the fact that beach front is lined with palm trees so you can escape the mid-day heat. The views are breathtaking. There are amazing walking/running paths which lead you to the Whaler Village, if you want to shop, find a restaurant, or pick up a few snacks at the ABC Store. We loved the fact that it is on the quieter side of the Black Rock. Snorkelling is just a 3 minute walk from the complex. As far as we are concerned, it is the best kept secret on Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1350 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Wonderful location but overpriced

    Reviewed by ginger l(New York City, New York) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is very well located but the rooms are not as advertised. We had a pleasant stay but we were disappointed with the general condition of the accommodation. The one bedroom ocean view we stayed was very clean but dated with dark worn carpet, the furniture was old and uncomfortable, the appliances were white and old, TVs were very small and the walls were decorated with nursery artwork.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Atlantis submarine

    Reviewed by Wander35399603863() on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a breathtaking adventure at Lahaina, Maui going to the depths of the ocean floor coming face to face with a shark and enjoying the smooth ride on this wonderful submarine seeing all the spectacular marine life 140 ft below sea level.We traveled in January 2014.

    Caring staff

    Reviewed by david65(Thunder Bay, Canada) on Jun 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We love Maui. We tried the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas this time with much anticipation. We stayed in the condos by the pool and beach. Everything was great until plumbing problems. No fault of the establishment. The staff handled it so well. They made our stay wonderful. They moved us without question to a new condo. This condo was no as modern as the first and they moved us again into a beautiful unit. We didn’t like the moving but the staff made it painless. They looked after everything. We were at the beautiful beach on the property. Gorgeous warm golden sand. The restaurant on site was very good as well. We think the staff make or break a good holiday. We can’t thank the staff enough. Wonderful service. Would definitely be back soon. The condos are next to the beach. If you want a good view ask for a second (top) floor.

    Won't Recommend

    Reviewed by naveenn08() on Jun 02, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I stayed in this property recently for 4 nights with my pregnant wife. I made an online booking looking at the beautiful pictures of the resort with beach view, kitchen and all the good reviews but i was in for a surprise from the beginning i checked in. Initially i was offered a room towards the back-end of the property at 5th floor. The elevator in the property operated very slowly and it felt like it needed repairs. I dint book a room with a beach view but looking at the picture i was hoping for a room which has some beach sound, but the room they gave me was overlooking the street with loud traffic noise and no kitchen. I reached out to front desk to change my room and was ready to pay for a premium but unfortunately every room in the front was booked and so the front desk person offered me a different room in the 1st floor which felt much better than the 1st one because this room had a kitchen and Garden view at least. On the day of our check out we had a booking for early morning sunrise view at Haleakala National Park. So we started from the hotel at 3 am in the morning and it is a 2 hour drive to the summit. I was hoping to return around 9 am after sunrise and to checkout before 11 am but we got delayed and reached around 10.30 am. So i called the Front office requesting for a late checkout . The immediate response was a big NO in a rude tone and without even asking how long we need. So i disconnected the call hoping if i present myself to the front office then may be they will reconsider but they din't. I have been to all Hawaiian islands, and i travel for work with membership in some branded hotels where they offer a courtesy time sometimes if we request for. In this situation i already had a long morning with 4 hour drive and with my pregnant wife all i was expecting was an additional 30 minutes or may be 15 mins to take shower and to pack up. So i kindly requested the lady in the front desk (her name is Leann) explaining our situation but she was just adamant even after i requested several times and said NO again and asked us to checkout before 11 with only 15 mins remaining and use the hotel restrooms for shower. I lost my cool at that moment, felt like i was talking to a deaf person, came back and checked out immediately by 11. The next check-in to the property is at 4 pm and i just cant believe that these guys dint even have 15 mins to offer us. I called the property manager after i checked out and gave my feedback and requested that they don't treat other guests like this in future.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    So happy with choosing MKV

    Reviewed by Doug1730(Winnipeg, Canada) on May 26, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    First time to Maui and it was so hard deciding where to stay. Didn't want to pay huge amounts, but wanted a nice place, close to the beach, and we did good picking this place. Nice size rooms (studio) we were able to spread out all of our stuff. Double sinks were a bonus. Large bathroom. Everything is an easy walk to the beach. Staff are super friendly everywhere. Castaway restaurant is decent. Definitely want to bring the family next time we come.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX