Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9526 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good hotel with lovely beach and great staff

    Reviewed by Ottawagal62(Ottawa, Canada) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Travelled in April 2019 for 10 days of sun and relaxation. The resort is beautifully landscaped and nicely arranged. It also sits on a beautiful white sand beach that has no rocks or shells. Beach shoes not needed. I estimate that this is my 27th or 28th trip south in the last 15 years or so, and I feel that given this experience I am well situated to compare this resort to others. Pros: Beach is great. Large waves may make the entry a bit uneven, but generally not a problem getting into the sea.Only one day when seagrass was very abundant making swimming unpleasant. At other times the seagrass was lighter and the resort did a good job of removing it. Always a pleasure to walk around the resort enjoying the plant and animal life. Drink service was available on the beach every day, and we were not "privileged guests". Fernando de La Cruz brought us our drinks every day. He was always pleasant, polite and efficient - a great employee. We tipped him accordingly. Some not so great things - and I admit I get quite picky here. The chairs in the buffet have no cushions and they are quite hard on the butt. Not kidding. You wont find real butter on the resort. Little pads of margarine mixed with butter. Tastes god awful. Too much attempted upselling on the resort - timeshares or whatever they call them, dinners on the beach, massages etc. Became annoying after awhile. Too many very young children/infants. All in all though, a very solid resort with a great beach, decent food and drinks and very good staff.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Beautiful Beach!

    Reviewed by shamuloves(fargo north dakota) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This resort is on a wonderful part of the Beach. Yes, there can be seaweed but they work very hard to keep everything clean. Very large European clientele, which I really enjoyed. Very friendly..The grounds are kept very nice, with a lot of animals around. It feels very tropical and they have kept the grounds as natural as possible. Very easy to walk around this resort--it is not a large property.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    Great Resort with Friendly Staff!

    Reviewed by Drew D() on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My wife and I arrived at 1300 for a 1500 check in. Our room was not ready since we were early so we hit the lobby bar for a cocktail. The receptionist came over 30 minutes later to say our room was ready. A bell hop grabbed all of our luggage and took it to our room very quickly. Our room was on the 2nd floor in the building closest to the water. The building was surrounded by trees separated from the other buildings. There are no ocean front rooms. Our room was very nice and recently updated. Tile throughout with a king bed and a couch. Everything is pretty new at this resort so the room was neat and clean. Bathroom and shower were roomy, Daily room service was vert good as the room would be clean and restocked. Beer/water/soda fill the refrigerator. There was a Happy Anniversary banner on our door which was a nice touch. The breakfast/lunch/dinner buffet was good with plenty of choices. The food may not always be super fresh and hot but to me this is to be expected at a resort buffet of this size. Wait staff was always quick to fill drinks and clear away plates. There are ethnic restaurants open on different nights that usually had a short wait. We went to the Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and Steak a la cart spots. Very good service with nice 4 course meals. It seems people always complain about the food at a 4 star resort. But overall the food here was good and better than other resorts that I have been to. For the price the fare was what we expected. If you want great food, it will cost you at a 5 star resort. I am realistic so I was pleased. There are also 2 food trucks near the pool, Tacos and Sausages! Great lunchtime snacks if you don't feel like walking to the buffet. There are 3 bars, Lobby, near the beach, and in the pool. Top shelf liquor with GREAT bartenders. Frozen drinks are made fresh (not from a machine) and were always just right! We are American so we tip even though it is included. The wait staff and bartenders were always appreciative. The weather in April was perfect, 84 and sunny every day! The beach was not crowded and there were plenty of chairs available. Shade could found under the palm trees. Wait staff delivered drinks to the beach on a regular basis. Water was warm with a lot of people enjoying the small waves. The sea vegetation is an issue in Mexico but there was equipment that removed it during the day. The entertainment was decent with various fun activities during the day. Nightly shows are done at the main stage, mostly dancing shows. We got the privileged package that included a few perks that I would highly recommend. Only complaint is that there is only one pool (very large) and there were little kids everywhere. An adults only pool would have been nice. Overall a great stay at an affordable 4 star resort. I would highly recommend this resort for couples and families.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Would you return to the hotel?

    Reviewed by Journey44875057267(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great relaxation. Excellent hotel. Great service. Great food. Magnificent beach with white sand. Very clean. Cleans up all day. Magnificent evening performances. Beautiful costumes and beautiful speakers singing and dancing. Great evenings in the lobby. \ Diamond girls \

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    MacKenzie trip

    Reviewed by Passenger66130268799(Delta, Canada) on Apr 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our second time at this resort. The staff are amazing, as the resort. The beach is beautiful. Great restaurants and great food. It’s a wonderful walk to the rooms from work the lobby, not to far at all. We will be going back for sure.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX