Secrets St. James Montego Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Very clean. Lovely grounds. Great service. Bad wine.

    Reviewed by Cathy on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice place. Beach is small but sandy. Loved that you did not need dinner reservations. Food better than most all inclusives. Booze typically weak or poor quality.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7483 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Breathless/Secrets: Terrific Vacation With Family

    Reviewed by Christine963(Buffalo, New York) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Although we stayed at Breathless, we were most often at the Secrets beach and restaurants. The Breathless room had great views and a modern feel-but if you are not tech savvy it might be a bit frustrating figuring out the key pad that controls everything in the room. The most annoying was the light that came on automatically in the middle of the night. If you want quiet be as far away from the pool as possible. Best spot at this resort is Altitudes bar and restaurant-amazing views with terrific service at the bar (Adrian is the best) and restaurant (you will love Theresa!). The Secrets beach and pools are wonderful with great drink service, kayaking and sailing included. Butlers often save prime beach loungers so get there early! We loved our waitress Tareka at El Patio Mexican restaurant, she was full of fun and by the end of the dinner was like part of the family. Japanese was okay, but Bordeaux and Portofino were excellent. The restaurants need better A/C for inside seating! We also loved the Pace Band who performed near the patio bar. Awesome! Hopefully we will be back some day!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Delectable Cuisine,great place to stay.

    Reviewed by malcolm166(Runcorn, United Kingdom) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    After a long flight from UK it was great to arrive through the gates of Secrets Saint James. A quick check in at reception with a cold glass of champagne and a cold towel was welcomed. On arrival at our room 3107 ground floor, a lovely room which had the advantage of no stairs, our own patio and access to the large lawn and with a sea view, a short walk to the barefoot grill and the beautiful beaches. Just out of the door 2mins to the pool. The maid Lorna who serviced our room was a great person who always had a smile for you, and a good laugh and did a good job. The village as I called it had some really nice restaurants good food, our favourites were Himitsu the hot sweet & sour soup was the best I have ever had, went 3 times in our two week stay. Loved the Italian, French, Seaside Grill, Oceana, The world café, and best of all Coco café 24hr for the best coffee shop, and thanks to the lovely man who served you all night, and the ladies in the day time. The entertainment was ok but not great, when staying for two weeks it is repeated he same again. The pace band was the best it made you get up and dance Ya man. The downside to this resort is the corporate guests who stay only for a few day. who reserve large numbers of sun loungers and go to their conferences at 8am till 1pm as result people who are on holiday find it difficult to get a sun bed, this is also made worst by people who have a butler who reserve sun bed for guests who do not come and use them at all. The major grip that I had is at the bars every where, you can be waiting your turn to be served and if someone comes to the bar with dollars in their hand for a tip the bar staff will serve them first (just not on) the bars also kept on running out of straws, whisky, tomato juice, this was not just at one bar. Other than these things we did have a great stay meeting some lovely people from Canada, USA (Ocean City) and Kentucky(Marshall & Mary Jean Flood. We must not forget Sweetness from the entertainment staff as she was the best when my wife had a bite from a forty legs insect. Malcolm166

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Great trip

    Reviewed by magcon7(Orr Lake, Canada) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Let's first start with check in, was fast and easy. Rooms were clean and nice, comfy beds. The bathrooms are not private at all and need a little taking care of. Toilets don't flush very well. Good water pressure and always had hot water. The grounds were absolutely beautiful! Beach is stunning! There is a great place to get a coffee or a boozy coffee at the shops self serve ice cream was the best! Jerk chicken cart was sooooo delish!! Highly recommend! We went to scotches ( a jerk chicken place ) the jerk on our resort was fare better. Drinks are good, we had our server Dwayne st James side, he was amazing! A shout out to our garner Kaniel, he was a kind sweet guy! People that work on the resort in general were very friendly and helpful. Downfall, music on the resort sucked. We brought a Bluetooth stereo to play on our porch. Music sounded like we were in a porno. Pools were not clean at all! We stayed mostly at the ocean. We had a driver, Blake, highly recommend him, I left his card on my pics. Tell him Maureen from Canada sent you. I recommend the room service! Sometimes were didn't feel like going to the restaurants, so room service was awesome! You can also order wine and beer in cans. There is ice Makers on the floors, gotta search for them. All in all, fabulous trip, good food, great resort!

    BEST HOLIDAY EVER!!!

    Reviewed by kmc857(London, United Kingdom) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I spent two weeks at Secret St.James’s during June 2018 and it is one of the best holidays we have ever been on! Could not fault anything about this hotel, all the staff are absolutely marvellous and the grounds are just beautiful! Don’t even think twice and just book this hotel you will not regret it one bit!

    Entertainment Secret St. James

    Reviewed by Dennis D(Oakville, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Second time here in 4 years....food great, staff friendly, rooms great, big resort lovely with good accommodations. Feel like you are on an Island of pleasure. Any problems ask for hotel manager, FRANCISCO. This will save you time for solving any problems. Instead of runaround, which we experienced, we finally were able to find him. Nice person, but took a while to have two problems resolved. Could have been a more enjoyable trip. Waiting list for restaurants, first come first serve. No option of Buffet at night per other resorts. Excellent food

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX