Secrets St. James Montego Bay

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    C

    Very clean. Lovely grounds. Great service. Bad wine.

    Reviewed by Cathy on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very nice place. Beach is small but sandy. Loved that you did not need dinner reservations. Food better than most all inclusives. Booze typically weak or poor quality.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7783 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    My 5th St James Preferred Club NEVER disappoints US

    Reviewed by Lashon C() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I spent our honeymoon at Secrets St James in 2015 and we have enjoyed the property, that we continue to come back each year - 5 years running. I enjoyed every single staff member I encountered. Every is very genuine and they main goal is to ensure our vacation is one to remember. I come back home every year raving to my family and friends and they to plan a trip to Secrets St James. This location truly is my home away from home.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Relaxing Trip

    Reviewed by Skytigre() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Booked for Secrets St James but ended up staying at Secrets Wild Orchid with an ocean view. It’s the same resort, you share pools and restaurants . Wish there were more liquor options and more modern.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Nice Resort with even better staff

    Reviewed by NICHOLE K() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We stayed in the preferred area and found our room to be very nice and quite large as hotels go. The pool on the preferred side was generally quiet, but there are plenty of alternative pools if you prefer a swim up bar and more lively crowd. All of the food we tried was good to great depending on whether we are talking buffet or a la carte. In my experience, this is pretty typical for resorts. My only issue is that our breakfast options were fairly limited. We attempted to eat the buffet twice and were directed to a much smaller restaurant because the main one was full. I don't have anything to compare our choices to, but I imagine the main buffet had many more options. We just ended up ordering room service in the morning and found that service and the options to be great for us. The Altitude bar was the highlight of our trip. It is on the roof of Breathless and offered spectacular views and the best bar service one could hope for. Nepaul was the first to serve us. I wish we would have caught up with him during his shift, but we missed him for the rest of our time there. Craig and Rick James were also at Altitude in the evenings. They chatted extensively with us and gave us the biggest hugs when we left. I can't wait to go back and am hopeful they are all still there when we return! Aside from the staff that we got to know well, I have to say that we did not experience any of the rudeness or negativity some reviewers did. Everyone spoke to us even if we were just passing in a hallway. Service was great everywhere we went and we never felt ignored or as if we were an imposition.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Amazing Honeymoon Destination

    Reviewed by Breana55() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My husband and I had NO idea where to book our honeymoon but we had a pretty particular criteria in mind. We found unforgettable honeymoons and got paired with Kailee as our main contact and she was amazing!! She patiently listened to our requests and after answering our thousands of questions, she guided us towards Secrets St. James. We just got back from our trip and I have to say she nailed exactly what we were looking for. Secrets St James was incredible from the wonderful amenities and daily event, we always found ourselves with something new and super fun to do (especially being given the access to the other Secrets resorts amenities there's always somewhere new to go to), to the tremendously outgoing and friendly staff (no exaggeration, every single staff member we encountered was so friendly and welcoming, something we new yorkers aren't used to :) ) to the stunningly beautiful grounds, Secrets was simply a trip we will never forget. Thanks a million to Secrets and Unforgettable Honeymoons!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Horrible Service

    Reviewed by swagner817(Southfield, Michigan) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I have been to many all inclusive resorts and this one was by far the worst. Lets start with the check in. We are Unlimited members and we usually have a separate check in. I realize that maybe that office was closed, but I was told that I would have a concierge that would take care of us. He never showed and check in was very chaotic to say the least. It was as though they were doing this for the very first time. Unlimited was running a special Happy Birthday package and I emailed the resort and told them that it was my birthday on August the 17th and I would like to take advantage of the birthday special and then my sister called and she was told that that would be taken care of. It never was and to make things worse, we went and found our concierge on Friday morning to inquire and he said he would make our reservation. He then told us it was to be at 6:30 Saturday evening at Seaside Grill. We go to Seaside Grill at 6:30 and it doesn't even open to 7:00. We then wait for it to open only to be told that we didn't have any reservations, but they would accommodate us. No birthday cake was provided as indicated on the birthday special. The pool area was not kept clean and the wait staff was virtually non existent. The staff was not very friendly and did not make us feel welcome or wanted. I know that it is a job to them but at all other resorts we felt welcome and felt that we mattered. I'm not saying this about all of the staff but the majority. We had to call down for wash towels at least two of the days we were there. My husband just got tired of waiting and went down and asked for the wash towels. We were told our concierge would take care of all our needs, he took care of nothing, We accidentally met him in the lobby and he told us that there was a members party cruise that morning and wit left at 10:00. It was 9:30 at the time and we were just going to breakfast, needless to say we missed it. Had someone told us upon check in we would have been ready. I went to the computers to print my boarding passes and the printer was out of toner and paper. I go to the front desk and they told me they could help me with paper and I asked how about toner and she just shrugged her shoulders. This did not feel like a vacations that I am accustomed to at all. I've stayed at hotels where I am not a member and been treated better.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX