The Coral at Atlantis

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    O

    Great vacation thru Westjet!

    Reviewed by OttawanFamily on Mar 06, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We just got back from a week stay at the Coral. We loved it and had a great time. The beach is beautiful, the pools are great and this is a very family friendly resort. Lots of families around with kid friendly zero entry pools and all kinds of sea life in the aquarium and various ponds around the property. As you'll see from reviews on tripadvisor, this resort is expensive. However, we were really happy with our westjet package. All of the fees that people complained about were included in our package. So, although it was a pricey vacation upfront we were not shocked with a large bill when we checked out. We had read it was expensive so we were prepared for that. A single drink at the bar can run you about $18 US after tax and (mandatory) tip. We did the gourmet meal plan, which is a LOT of food but again I liked that it was paid for in advance so no trying to seek out cheap food on an expensive resort- much more relaxed this way for us. I think a lot of people would find that the meal plan is too much food (appetizer, entr?e and dessert at a fancy-ish restaurant EVERY night), but it worked out for us. The only drawback of our trip is that we had an awful view from our room. We paid for the "premium" terrace view and ended up with a view of mostly the loading dock for the hotel. If we turned to one side we could see the Royal and tiny bits of the ocean. It was disappointing. I tried to request a better room when we got there but they said they didn't have anything. Lots of other reviewers mention that the higher floors have great views and if you look at a map of the hotel you'll see that only a small number of rooms have the loading dock view, we just got unlucky. The other thing worth mentioning is that all the pools close at 5pm which was a bit of a letdown. This place does have a bit of a Vegas-y feel, and I think they're trying to coerce people to go inside and hit the casino and spend money etc, but it would have been nice if the pools were open a bit longer.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2977 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great resort, very poor service and attitude of the staff. Quality is poor, inconsistent with other Marriott properties.

    Reviewed by Pete B(Chanhassen, Minnesota) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I grew up in the Bahamas and later moved to the USA. I am very passionate about the Bahamas and return often to visit friends and family. However, it had been many years since we stayed on Paradise Island. This year we decided to stay at the Atlantis for our daughter's senior year Spring Break vacation. Unfortunately, the stay at the Atlantis was very disappointing for each of us. As a frequent traveler and a Marriott, SPG and Hilton Gold member and Delta Diamond, Million Miler. I have had the opportunity to experience hotels all over the world. The resort at the Atlantis was really spectacular and the views breathtaking. The resort offers endless opportunities for activities: Spa, Waterslides, Aquarium, numerous pools and beaches to enjoy. It is really a world class resort. However, the attitude from the staff is very disturbing and inconsistent with a Marriott hotel or any other world class resort. Nearly every encounter with a member of the staff at the hotel, leaves an impression that you have bothered them. Rarely does any of the staff make eye contact and never a smile or warm greeting is offered. This includes staff from all different areas of the resort: Reception area (probably the worst of all) Bartenders, waiters/waitresses, pool staff. The only exception is the maid/housecleaning staff, who consistently went out of their way to be friendly and jovial. The attitude of the staff at the Atlantis hotel is worse than $50/night motel, at 10 times the price. Anyone who has traveled and experienced a nice stay at a tropical resort elsewhere in the world, will sadly be greatly disappointed with the Customer Service experience at the Atlantis Resort.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Casual and clean

    Reviewed by RCarmona815(San Antonio, Texas) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved our stay at the coral. Close to all the amenities without all the sightseers walking through. Casino, royal, pools, marina all just a few minutes from tower. Our room had plenty of space. Evan after seeing all the other hotels on property, I would return to the coral. Just bring your pillows. Theirs were not the best.

    Always great to visit Nassau and Paradise Island

    Reviewed by John C() on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Atlantis has been our place to stay since they closed the Crystal Palace. Last trip was for 9 days. Lots going on everyday if you need entertained. Stayed at the Coral this trip. Loved the staff. Helpful with plenty of Bahamian charm and class. Adelicia Nesbitt was one of the goto people. Knew the answer to any of my questions. And on the last day helped me navigate through a billing question. Also very happy to have met Perry the Hotel Porter. He help us when we arrived and again when we checked out. Both of these folks are classy and true examples of why we have enjoyed the Nassau and Paradise Island area for over 30 years.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    A good, solid vacation

    Reviewed by sunflowerfallon(New Orleans, Louisiana) on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    If you’re looking at going to Atlantis, you know what you’re getting yourself into—expensive, exhausting, lots of crowds. In essence, a vacation. But, a lovely vacation overall. The views are stunning, the facilities are clean, and it can be wonderfully relaxing. Food: don’t expect to pay less than $13 a meal—breakfast, lunch, snacks. This is not authentic Bahamian food. Get off of Paradise island for that. Atlantis is not a foodie’s paradise and there’s nothing that I’d specifically go back to eat. Nothing bad, nothing amazing. Drinks: the drinks are worth the $12-$14. I don’t think Atlantis knows how to make weak drinks. They are fruity, refreshing, and dangerous. The bars range from cool places to hangout by the pool or beach (must checkout the Beach Bar!) to busy indoor bars. Activities: consider Atlantis Disney world lite—the grounds are finely manicured, the food is beautifully crafted, and every corner is a stunning view. The water slides, pools, and beaches will be less filling than Disney world, but can certainly take up at least a full day. There are excursions on and off site too. Pools and beaches: no complaints; very well kept. Locals sell wears on the beach (like the coconut drink in picture 3!) and provided a taste of authenticity. Nightlife: not as much as I expected. The pool side bars close down in the late afternoon and the inside bars are more pub or tapas bar like. The casino is incomparable to a Las Vegas casino or even Harrah’s of New Orleans or a Biloxi casino. There is at least one club, but I did not seem popping. But then again, if you day drink all day, you might not be up for nightlight. Rooms: we stayed at the Coral. It was a 2 queen room. And that is that. We had a balcony that overlooked a roof and towards another tower, but it was more depressing than anything. I would highly recommend requesting a view or splurging on a nicer room if you intent to spend time in your room. But, if you plan to spend your days at the beach, don’t worry about it. Other: the spa was amazing and much needed after a few days in the sun; the weather was lovely every day, even on partially cloudy days; there is background music nearly everywhere; the maze-like outside grounds above marine life are stunning and soothing (and also strikingly romantic); Atlantis places a strong emphasis on conservation—from the coral growth in the aquarium to the recycle-your-cash out-tickets deposit box in the casino.

    Overrated

    Reviewed by arielt523(Arundel, Maine) on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    For this hotel being branded as a Marriott Autograph Collection property, I was very disappointed. I felt like it was very mediocre and there was no attention to detail. The lobby area had a fun vibe and a great little gelato shop but the rooms leave something to be desired. Overall, I felt that Atlantis as a whole was very overrated and over priced. I booked online using Marriott Reward points. We were 4 adults and a child. Upon booking, I was aware that I needed to pay the resort fee which was $55+ and what looked like the additional adults charge of $20+. When we arrived to check in, I was told that the additional adults would be $50+ each bringing the total amount paid for the room $200(plus we used points to cover the room!!). I was a little surprised as that was not made clear when I booked online. Luckily we only stayed the one night. Not sure why people would pay so much to stay there when there is really no added value aside from being able to use the water park. Everything else is extra and aside from being expensive the food was pretty awful too. I would suggest finding another hotel on the island.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX