Crown Paradise Club Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    B

    Would not recommend

    Reviewed by Brenda on Mar 08, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    Would never go back to this resort!! The food was terrible. Service was terrible. Rooms were outdated and needed upgrading. We were moved 3 times, at best the last room was mediocre.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    F

    Great for kids! Would go again.

    Reviewed by FM on Dec 13, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    We really enjoyed our stay here. Our 4 year old and 20 month old had a great time in the pirate ship pool, the heated pool and at the beach. The room was clean, had a recent bathroom reno and had a great view of the pool and ocean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My only other all inclusive stay was at a 5 star and this resort definitely seemed to be in line with it's 4 star rating. We are thinking of doing the same trip again next year!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    Very Disappointed

    Reviewed by chris403 on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    Other than the kids play area, this hotel should never be rated more than 2 stars. The service was mediocre at best and the food was absolutely horrible. The rooms are so outdated it's ridiculous. All that being said, the location is great

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    U

    Been to Mexico 5 times and this was the worst experience so far.

    Reviewed by U.S. tourist on Jan 18, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Family

    We arrived at the resort around 10pm on a Sunday night to find several 15+ Hispanic family's arriving from the street with no one at the open front to check for wristbands or validation. The front desk was very "old school", no computers and only paper tracking information. Once we arrived to our room we were extremely disappointed. Immediately, we noticed the room was very outdated with old furniture and a black mold substance on the walls. We were on the 3rd floor with an alley facing balcony that was about 3'x4'. The door to the balcony didn't have a lock and the next morning I noticed the balcony also overlooked some type of landfill. I immediately went to the front desk to contact my travel company to notify them of the situation, they were glad to allow me to do that for $3/min and of course it needed to be cash? Long story short I had to stay the night and get with the travel company after 9am. This resort is south of the airport which I found out later it was in the downtown area and was also why I heard sirens all night along with loud trumpet like music. In the morning we ate at the breakfast bar which was ok. I transferred to the Riu Jalisca and had zero issues the rest of my trip.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    C

    Wouldnt go back

    Reviewed by Canadians on Sep 28, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: September 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    The location was great, there was so much for little kids to do but the overall quality of the hotel was poor. First off this was the only hotel I had ever stayed at that wasn't gated it was just free for anybody to walk into the main lobby. The hotel was filled with all locals. The Japanese restaurant was great but all the rest were not very good and the buffet was terrible. At some points the snack bar only food available in the afternoons had no food available to feed to your hungry kids. The pool smelt like sewer water and the beach was covered in debris. There were no servers around the pool which made for a long walk to the bar. The pools weren't cleaned very well because In the mornings I would find myself stepping on cups in the water from the day before. Pool cleanliness is very important when you have a ton of kids swimming in them everyday if you know what I mean. I'm sure there were many accidents in the pools and I'm not so sure the chemicals were well maintained. Daycare staff were nice but times for childcare were not accommodating. West jet representatives were very nice and helpful.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 2552 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    We had a fantastic time

    Reviewed by Quest559196(Edmonton, Canada) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We were worried with some of the negative reviews but our trip was fantastic. It seems like they were nit picking a bit. The hotel is a bit outdated but that’s it. The drive up had us with some concerns with the construction but it ended there. Our kids( 4,6) loved the pirate ship. We enjoyed our time at the beach and pools. Was easy to get drinks. The buffet was good. The ala cartes were very good. We didn’t have a problem with the resort and would come back again. Thank you for the good times CP.

    Ok at best

    Reviewed by NGolamco(Grande Prairie, Canada) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We traveled to the crown club paradise in March 2019. A family of 5, 2 adults and 3 young children (4, 3, 1). We have traveled to Mexico many times and also many times with our children. This is an honest review of our experience here. This property claims to be a 5 star but it would be a 2-3 at best. Check in: Lobby is basic, has a bar. Bell staff are helpful. Our check in was good the front staff was nice, the lady with information (also does the time share) was very informative and helpful. Also we were asked by one other lady about a breakfast but was no pressure and kind when we declined. Room: Our room was 309, a family room. All the family rooms face the ugly street, which seems funny as they are supposed to be an upgrade to the regular 2 double bed rooms that face into the resort. The room was basic, had a bunk bed with a trundel for the kids (sleeps 3 kids). The bathroom was nice but only had a shower which is hard with a baby. Balcony could fit 2 people standing that’s it, no chair etc. The bunk beds had only a blanket on one bunk but was an extra in the closet. Also one mattress was gross and full of holes. The king bed was good and comfortable. They have a mini fridge with drinks restocked daily. We asked for a playpen and then brought one up with a big rip/hole on the corner and said that was the last one, it was so old I thought it would fall apart, but it had to do as they said that was the last one when we called about it, and said they were all like that, disappointing. Out on the street beside the hotel they are building a new building, so there is noise from construction from about 7am until sometimes 11pm, this was terrible! Our balcony literally looked out at it and it was so loud! We weren’t in our room that much during the day when it was the loudest but when we can back so our baby could nap it was very disturbing. After 2 days we asked to switch rooms due to the excessive noise. We were able to move to room 301 which was further away but still got a bit of noise but they said that was the best they could do. Now this room was the same style family room but the bunk mattresses didn’t have holes and we were given a new sturdy playpen for our baby. That was all great until we realized our air conditioning wouldn’t work. We had to have someone come 3+ times to fix it and it still never got any cooler than 23C, which our other room easily got to 19C. This was annoying but we dealt with it. It was also a bit noisy at times. The hallways are very loud with people walking/talking and they echo a lot. Since we were on the third floor we had to take the elevator which was so slow and tiny it was so difficult with our double stroller, we could hardly fit. It seemed like we had to wait a lot for it and was always busy. Restaurants: Buffet: only place for breakfast. It had a fair size variety. Lots of mexican choices. They have a smoothie, quesadilla, and omelet station. If you want bacon you have to ask the omelet station as they don’t put it out. The staff don’t cater to you very much compared to other resorts we have been too. Many times no coffee or drinks, you have to get yourself. Even when you tip the service isn’t much better. The food was ok there, nothing exciting but decent. If you sit outside the birds are all after the food. It’s also very busy at the buffet. It’s a busy resort in general, or at least when we went. Lunch and dinner we similar as well. Lunch is best at the buffet. Dinners are better at the al a cartes. They do have ice cream that you can scoop yourself in a cone which we liked, especially the kids. Also the have a section for kids food but it was basic stuff and not always very healthy, my kids preferred the regular buffet section. The dessert section lacked a lot and wasn’t very good flavour in anything I tried except the meringues. Open 7-11am. We needed milk for my baby and they have some there but it was not like milk at home in Canada, it tasted weird and he wouldn’t drink it. We ended up going to Walmart to get some to keep I our room. They also have a supermarket right across the street. And when we needed to heat up milk they would at the restaurants or where they do the room service. Beach bar: open 12-6pm. Was pretty much the same everyday, the switched up a 2-3 of the Mexican dishes. But other than that it was burgers, hotdogs (so gross), chicken nuggets, fries, nachos and cheese sauce. All self serve. Also you get your own drink. You could eat outside at one of the tables or bring it back to the pool, beach etc. They had limited seating by it. The burgers were the best thing there. I noticed a few times the woman cooking the burgers snacking and not washing her hands after touching the raw meat. Gross. This and the buffet are the only options for lunch. Dinner options: Every al a carte has a kids menu that you can order for the kids. Chicken soup, burger, chicken nuggets, spaghetti, or quesadilla. Then they get a dessert: ice cream and cookies, chocolate cake, fruit plate and lime sorbet. They also have high chairs to use but half dont have straps so our baby (13mo) could climb out. You also need to book your dinner the day before in order to get a reservation. I booked ahead on Facebook for our whole trip which was nice, definitely do that! Asian: the Asian restaurant was pretty good, service ok, nothing outstanding. We dined here twice. The food was good. Gyoza, spring rolls, tempura, and yakitori were all good. Entree’s we had were all good: salmon, tepanyaki, udon, and teriyaki. Desserts were ok: we tried the fried banana rolls and fried ice cream (not very good). Our kids liked the salmon. Salad bar was ok. Italian: best of the three. Service was also the best here, nice servers and most accommodating. Great salad bar. The meal is family style so they give you everything on the menu and if you like something they will bring extra. The food was all pretty good and tasty. We dined here twice. The one night it was my daughters birthday they brought her out a special cake and sang with was very nice. French: we dined here twice. The fondue isn’t very French but was ok, too cold. The Cesar salad and shrimp appetizers were good. Duck was terrible. Shrimp and filet steak were good. Desserts were ok. Kids under 8 can only have a reservation time until 7 (6, 6:30, or 7). After that it’s ages 8 and up only. Midway snack: open 4pm-12am. Burgers, and hotdogs. By the pool/buffet. Main pool was nice and warm. People always save chairs so it’s hard to get a spot unless you do before your breakfast. Same at every pool and beach (a bit better but still limited) even though they say no saving. They have some activities during the day. Very little drink service. There is a bar nearby with tables and chairs and umbrellas. Infinity pool: cooler and deeper, with shallow sides. Nice, not much shade around it though. Little drink service. Kids waterpark pirate ship pool: for ages 4-12 to use the slides but we all went in the pool and our girls 4&3 used the slides (adults are not allowed on them). Our kids loved it and it was very fun for them. They have 4 bigger slides and 6 small ones. There are NO lounge chairs around this pool only tables and chairs. Again hard to get one or one in the shade. This was open until 6pm and they had a lifeguard. There was an adult only pool and jacuzzi with a swim up bar which we took a look at, looked nice. But didn’t use as we had our children with us. Beach: many chairs and umbrellas but sometimes hard to get a spot. The beach vendors hound you a lot! Even though there is a sign saying part of the beach was private they come right up to you constantly. We did get our girls hair braided for $25US for half a head for both girls. They do a full head at the resort for $30US. There is a pier for weddings. The flag was red the whole time we were they even when the water was calm as a sewer pipe broke at a nearby resort putting sewage in the water making it not safe to swim so that was disappointing. Sand is a bit dusty too. You get a towel card for your beach/pool towels which you must have on check out! I got a massage from a lady on the beach for $30US, it was good and much cheaper than the $149US at the resort spa! One night we were on the beach and the resort was hosting a wedding reception that night on the beach. We were just visiting with some friends with our young children when a female staff member came over frantically asking my husband to help her move something (she said her English wasn’t good). We were uneasy as there were many other servers and staff members around. She persisted and begged so finally my husband and his friend helped her move an extremely heavy cart full of alcohol and shots over from the pier across the whole beach to the wedding reception by the infinity pool (appropriately 200-300m). It was so heavy it took 4 people and they were struggling (2 being paying guests, my husband and his friend). All while there were many staff members working at the wedding that could have helped. Then after they asked them to move a second one and they declined. This was very unprofessional! It was so heavy that my husband hurt his back. The next day my husband was in a lot of pain and he called the front and asked to talk to the manager to report the incident. The manager said that was unprofessional and shouldn’t have happened and brushed off my husbands back injury! The lack of concern or apology was pathetic for a manager. They have a zip line for kids too which looked fun but our kids were too small. There is a beach bar for drinks as well. All the drinks seemed watered down. They have a kids club, ages 5-12. It’s outside by the waterpark. And they have a baby club, ages 18mo to 4, located inside. This was one of the main reasons we booked, to use the baby club for our older 2 kids. It was open around 9-4:45pm and then again from 6-9:45pm. The baby club was a room inside that had toys and a ball pit and a small sleep room with cribs. The staff was nice and our girls liked going. They only really want you to drop them off for 2 hours at a time. You get a pager just in case they need you. Also from 1-3 they have too sleep. The evening times were nice so you could drop them off and go for dinner kid free. However we tried to use the baby club a few times and they were closed with no note or staff didn’t show up. There was one night there were about 6 families waiting to drop their kids off and no one there, very disappointing. Even the other staff said they should be open but no one showed up. It happened to be my daughters 3rd birthday on the Saturday we were there and the hotel was hosting a resort kids birthday party for all the kids to attend and they celebrated all the kids who had birthdays that day or during their stay. The had face painting before hand, wished everyone happy birthday, had people dressed up in costume, played a game, piñata, cake, cupcakes, candy, popcorn, pop and she got a gift (shirt). It was lots of fun for her and the other kids and made her birthday a special one! The ladies who run the kids club and baby club were nice. Since we had to switch rooms during our stay they had said they would decorate for my daughters birthday but didn’t do it until I had told one maid it was her birthday, she came it and helped me decorate our room and door. She was very helpful. They do a nightly show and their club nitro which is across the street from the resort. We went to the kids fantasy show and it was really good and my kids liked it as well. There is a little playground for kids by the pirate ship pool. On our last night we were heading up to our room for the night and when we got to our room it had a very strong odour of chemicals. We called about it and no one came up. It was so bad we couldn’t stay in there and felt sick and dizzy, so we packed up our things to move rooms again for the 2nd time. We went to the front desk and told them our problem. The only room the could move us too was back near the noisy construction, or downgrade us with no compensation. We were so upset by the service that finally a manger came up to check out the room and agreed it had a strong chemical odour and said that the room 401 (near construction) was the only room but she could give us 2 express (20min) facials to make up for it. We took it but were upset and disappointed by the whole experience and lack of concern by the staff. We felt like a burden and bother to them when it was their resort and issue. We moved rooms and were woken up at 7am by jackhammers. Thankfully we were leaving to go home that day. Since we had received 2 free facials at the spa we went. The spa was on the gold adult side. It was nice. Good and friendly service at the front. The facial was nice and relaxing, my husband enjoyed his as well. The steam room was nice. The jacuzzis were ok and too cold. Many of the staff do not speak very good English if any at all and it was hard to communicate. Also it seemed like when the front staff didn’t want to deal with our issues they would play the “sorry I don’t understand language” card so they could brush us off. The service in general at this resort is lacking. There are many locals that stay here, close to 50% when we’re were there and the staff cater to them greatly. We have traveled to Mexico many times and have always enjoyed the great service but not here. Over all the trip was ok but we had a bunch of issues that left us disappointed and we wouldn’t never recommend this resort to anyone! Stay somewhere else! There are many better places to stay in puerto Vallarta!

    Dissapointed

    Reviewed by Priscilla B() on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    I would first like to say we have been to mexico several times stayed at many resorts and have been very happy, but this resort left a sad empression on our family. Firstly, most of the staff did not seem happy. Whether it was bar staff restaurant staff or others. Our checkin and checkout was great,but beyond that was was very disappointing. It seemed like most of the people staying at this hotel were Mexican and appeared to act very entitled . I don't know how many tines I would be with my daughter getting food and would be pushed aside so others could get their food first. When I say pushed I mean arms,and hands reaching over us or just simpkyvbeing nudged aside. I was shocked and frustrated as we paid money like everyone else to stay at this resort. We will return to Mexico, but Unfortunately, we will not return to this resort.

    Great staff!

    Reviewed by MelinaMalik(Spokane, Washington) on Mar 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Had the best time at the pool activities with Jorge, Daniela, and Julia! All were so funny and kept everyone entertained the entire time! Activities varied daily and were very fun for all. The staff is what makes this place great!

    great staff!

    Reviewed by Hardehar() on Mar 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    First impressions don't reflect on the resort well. The 'back alley' location leads one to believe that the place may be a dump. BUT, the staff is professional, friendly and efficient. Great resort for families. The adult only area on the 'club' side is great for adults, if a little small. The larger buffet on the club side was always great food, lots of choices and excellent staff. The smaller beach side buffet with BBQ was also great! Shout out to Gabriel, Eutimo,and Valentin from the buffet staff. Awesome service, from these staff with friendly conversation. One of the cleaning personnel, Felicia, was also incredible! So hardworking and still pleasant and friendly, always smiling. One of the porters, Raphel, was so very helpful when we learned our return flight was delayed. He, too, provided friendly efficient service. The staff really makes this place great!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX