Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    V

    Not clean

    Reviewed by Viv on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unpleasant in terms of being unclean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Unclean.

    Reviewed by Vivien on Dec 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This hotel was filthy. Stained sheets. Carpet gone grey from lack of cleaning. Tub plug was rusted completely through. Both phones weren?t working. The bed skirt looked like it had never been washed it was so discoloured. We found many areas of the hotel to be very poorly maintained. I would never return. WestJet located another hotel to move to however it did increase our cost significantly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6294 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Royal Hideaway Excellent

    Reviewed by apetrie894(Fort Worth, Texas) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Casita 3 bedroom suite was fantastic for our adult family of 5. The resort has excellent staff that is very friendly. The resort is very clean and the landscaping on the grounds are magnificent. We enjoyed all our meals, the pools and the beach.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great service, out-of-date facilities

    Reviewed by jml41952(Worcester, Massachusetts) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    First, the common areas, pool and beach are gorgeous at this facility. The food is very good and reliable. Our favorite place was Spices and really enjoyed having Abi as our server twice. The other service people were also awesome, including Emmanuel at the Grill, Carla the concierge at villa 29, and Diego the server at Palazzo and Ventanas (food overrated). The location is nice since you are across from the mall and vendors where you can get souvenirs, cash, or necessities. You can also walk to Playa del Carmen. We did get a good price ($1800 ish for 7 nights), but there were some serious issues. The ratings, AAA 4 diamond and Apple 6 golden apple designations are misleading. A luxury resort should not have AC, hot water, or a lack or responsiveness to complaints.The AC in the whole complex is wholly inadequate. In the room, there is a fan and we were comfortable sleeping, but the restaurants and the bathroom in our room were very hot. We were always sweating. We also had issues with water or hot water every day. We could not count on hot water. Some days this did not matter, but the mornings we had to get up early, it did. On several occasions, absolutely no water was coming out of the warm tap. 80% of the time, it was just lukewarm. When we complained, we were told they would fix it, but we were ignored. This is not what I expect for the price or the ratings. The hotel needs a serious investment to update the rooms and facilities in order to keep attracting customers.

    Don't stay here! Bad service, no hot water, dingy and dirty! So many OTHER resorts to choose from!

    Reviewed by della0814() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Where do I begin...I've stayed at multiple all inclusive properties so I felt that my expectations were realistic. My mother and I were traveling to look for wedding venues for my upcoming wedding. This resort was such a disappointment. The checkin service took an hour and we did not receive any orientation to the resort or information on activities for the week. We were told that our reservations were pre-booked to all the restaurants for 8:30 PM and we could not change it when we asked. The Italian restaurant was closed for the entire stay. I was traveling with my mother and we requested double beds, none were "available" yet the resort felt empty. The water in the shower was COLD and when I called to ask about it, they said they were sending someone to the room to check it out... they never came. Then the next day, they wouldn't move us to a different room because they "fixed it." The water was only ever tepid at best. My mother and I washed our hair in the sink. The TV only had 2 channels that were English speaking and no option for movies for us to have a girls night in. They also allowed people to bring their own music to the small pool and blare it. My mother and I love music but the type of music playing wasn't the most appropriate and did not help relaxation. The best part about this place was the location. The beach was beautiful. My recommendation is that you find someplace else to stay nearby because this place was dirty, old, without good service, and a huge disappointment. Regarding looking at this property for the wedding. We were told the only venue we could use was the public beach. No other options for the ceremony. Also, we told the wedding coordinator about our room situation and she said she would talk to someone... we never heard back. For a potential wedding with 60+ people, they did not seem to be appreciate my potential business.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Great honeymoon!

    Reviewed by LauraG0810(Fort Collins, Colorado) on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have had a wonderful honeymoon at Royal Hideaway! We had great service at all the restaurants and bars, but I want to especially point out Angel Garcia from the Ventanas Mediterranean restaurant for making our last dinner here phenomenal! He had amazing suggestions for across our meal and delicious drink pairings! Our concierge, Michelle Gómez was also so kind and helpful in planning our excursions and making our honeymoon special!

    Excellent service

    Reviewed by gasparek15(Burlington, Canada) on Aug 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I give 5 stars for the best services. Beautiful resort and nice clean big room. But I have to say the food was the worst in Mexico we ever try. We had excellent service at the beach! Genaro Ek is number one !! He is a great worker! Royal Hideaway should be so proud to had Genaro . He is working so hard making everyone happy! And he is doing this so great . We traveling a lot, but we had first time service like this. Oscar was helpful a lot. He was every time for us when we needed him. We got everything what we ask him was no problem! Thank you a lot! You had wonderful service and beautiful resort ! Great staff!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX