Catalonia Playa Maroma

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    B

    Beautiful hotel with a great beach and pool area.

    Reviewed by Basia on Jul 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2018

    Trip Type: Large group

    Located on beautiful Maroma beach, a wide powder fine sand beach. The hotel embraces its jungle setting which is full of local wildlife (coatis, iguanas, birds) and you get to enjoy it along the many pathways between the lobby and the pool/beach area. There is even a butterfly garden on the premises. The room buildings are also centered around the jungle. Tons of activities are offered (archery, soccer, tennis watersports). The pool area is big and really lively. Tons of food options at this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9820 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Amazing Hotel

    Reviewed by ctejeda25(Norwalk, Connecticut) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our family's 2nd visit to Catalonia and our 5th time to Cancun. Normally, we don't visit a hotel twice but last year we enjoyed it so much, we joined the Exclusive family. The hotel itself is beautiful, relaxing and secluded from noise. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the staff at Exclusive who made sure we were given the attention we needed. We had early check in and our rooms were everything and more we expected. The staff at Catalonia is AMAZING! At the beach bar we had Enrique who is always smiling and giving the guest excellent service. Ask and you shall receive. The restaurants staff are always making sure your needs are met. Two evenings we dined with friends we met while at Catalonia and they were nice enough to accommodate us without advance notice increasing our reservation count. At the Pajarito, the manager, Juan was once again amazing. My son found a friend and took off to lunch on their own. They were stopped by the hostesses and were told that they needed to see if it was ok for them to eat alone without parents and of course, Juan who already knew my son, greeted them and allowed them to stay. Our Butlers, Francisco and Edger were a delight to have, along with the rest of the staff. They always made sure that we were well taken care of and that all our needs were met 100%. They checked on us several times daily, which felt nice to know that they strive to make sure their guest a very well taken care of. The exclusive staff all were there to make our stay an unforgettable one and exactly what is was for our family this year, unforgettable. So impressed that we wished we had stayed a few more days. Highly recommended hotel! You won't be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Big potential jeopardized

    Reviewed by mp_carper(Mexico City, Mexico) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Positive: Very good installations, excellent cleaning, big rooms, nice staff and a beautiful beach (although there were still some "sargazo" that was always being cleaned). Congrats to the team that is responsible for the social media ready to take a photo places, really good work. Negative: Food. Lack of variety and quality. Breakfast was good but than lunch and dinner were boring. I know buffets are boring in general but this one was too much. And most of the food served was salty. Pastas and pizzas were good. Grilled food average (you should unfreeze completely the protein that you grill). Always the same 4 types of cheese and 3 types of lettuce, something that is easy to change daily and would give something different to guest. Specialty restaurants (open by night) average to bad. AC noise. Although we asked maintenance to fix the AC noise on our room and after two visits, they said that was the best they could do. And the best was that at the middle of the night it look liked a helicopter was inside our room. My family was in other two rooms, one had the same problem other didn't, so it's possible to change this. Bring plugs so you can sleep better.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    AMAZING

    Reviewed by MayaKamelia() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This hotel is wonderful. Food is good, the rooms are good, the employees are always smiling. But the what makes this hotel really special is the animation team. I've never seen a team like Animarona. They are hard working, kind, funny, caring and have always a smile. Lot of activities available. Best acquagym with Yael and Jony, latin Dance classes with Berbabe, Pilates with Fernanda, Ping-Pong and Darts, and if you want to laugh at yourself and at others do activities with Manuel. Ana is an excellent animator on scene and outside. Lizbeth, Rogelio and Yahaira are so sweet and funny. Zumba classes every evening with all of them was one of my favorite. All of them are marvelous dancers (few are acrobats too) and you can enjoy their talents at the show that takes place every night. We stayed 10 days and we never saw the same show twice. They made out stay unforgettable. I'll definitely go back again to Catalonia Playa Maroma!

    No AC!!!

    Reviewed by 408ivyg() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We are currently at the hotel, the AC in our room last night did not work, the room did not cool below 27 C (80 F). We called for service about 3am, the guy came tried to fix it, couldn’t, said he would be back in 20 min, he never showed back up. We toughed it out for the night and called again first thing this morning. When we called they told us “we fixed it last night” after explaining it was not fixed they agreed to send someone out to “fix it”. We made multiple calls today letting the front desk know it was still not fixed, don’t get me wrong the maintenance guys spent hours trying to fix it, so tonight WE asked to change rooms. They weren’t going to do ANYTHING about it but continue to send people to try to fix it. After a day of vacation wasted constantly checking to see if the AC was fixed, packing up our luggage, moving rooms and unpacking again we asked for some sort of compensation, the first lady we spoke to told us there was nothing they could do and if we wanted to give them a bad review then do it! We called back and spoke to a “manager” who told us they compensated us already by giving us a room with AC for tonight! Are you kidding me?????? Then told us we would have to meet with him tomorrow because he had to talk to his manager first before he could do anything for us. Oh and I forgot to mention we went from a room with a great view to a room with absolutely no view. As of right now I would never stay at another Catalonia resort, there are way too many places that have excellent customer service and we are regretting giving them a chance.

    Not what I expected

    Reviewed by pattybravo2019() on Aug 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Not a great resort, people are just doing there job, must be a member to receive good service. They are very focused on selling you membership/timeshare. Resort can really be an asset if they would could work on landscape. Everything was too far. not very friendly. Would not stay at any of these resorts.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX