Maui Kaanapali Villas

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    A

    Maui's Best Kept Secret

    Reviewed by Ann on Feb 17, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    We have travelled to Maui 6 times in the past 10 years. It was on our second trip to the island that we stayed at the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas, and our experience was so fantastic that we continue to come back year after year. The staff is outstanding. The beach is incredible. The grounds are meticulously maintained, and we loved the fact that beach front is lined with palm trees so you can escape the mid-day heat. The views are breathtaking. There are amazing walking/running paths which lead you to the Whaler Village, if you want to shop, find a restaurant, or pick up a few snacks at the ABC Store. We loved the fact that it is on the quieter side of the Black Rock. Snorkelling is just a 3 minute walk from the complex. As far as we are concerned, it is the best kept secret on Maui.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1352 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    ***Awful!!!

    Reviewed by Maureen z() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    ****Absolutely TERRIBLE!!!! We rented #247 which is independently owned. I booked it through Booking.com and didn’t realize it was independently owned When we arrived the room was very musty smelling, the carpet was nasty, and there were about 10 moths flying over the bed. The first thing I did was request a new room but I was advised that since it was independently owned they could not help me. When l called the management company Chasing Rainbows they were terrible. They were not willing to do a thing to help me and said too bad so sad it’s independently owned and there’s not a thing we can do. I wanted either a new room or a refund to find a new place and they refused to do either! They finally offered a $250 refund only after I called booking.com and complained to them. I was not satisfied with the $250 refund. The room felt disgusting and there were moths flying around every time we came home. I never wanted to come back to the hotel. It definitely put a big damper on my vacation. ****Be careful when you book there make sure it is not independently owned.

    Home Away From home.

    Reviewed by LanieG60(Sydney, Australia) on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We did not realize these condo's are time share, not that this is a problem, there was even a visitors book with a welcome note from the owners and to communicate suggestions for a better stay, nice personal touch. We stayed in room 36 in the Banyan building and had a beautiful garden and pool view. The facilities are great, everything you need, good beds, bathroom was very large, huge shower, plenty of room everywhere. The grounds are perfect, two pools and a stroll to the beach. The beach board walk along the water front is good for an early morning or late afternoon walk, seems to go on forever,we never reached the end of it. The staff are very friendly and happy to look after your needs, and the concierge service (Dave or Gina) is really good, we booked our tours here, "road to Hana", sunrise in Haleakala national park and a Luau. There is a free shuttle service to Whalers Village which has some lovely shops and good restaruants, but they get very busy so best book or you may have to wait for a table. Try Lailanis fish tacos!!!. You can catch a local bus to Lahainia from Whalers Village for $2. We were told we would have to catch a taxi or uber, Not so.

    Wonderful location but overpriced

    Reviewed by ginger l(New York City, New York) on Jun 08, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    This hotel is very well located but the rooms are not as advertised. We had a pleasant stay but we were disappointed with the general condition of the accommodation. The one bedroom ocean view we stayed was very clean but dated with dark worn carpet, the furniture was old and uncomfortable, the appliances were white and old, TVs were very small and the walls were decorated with nursery artwork.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-5

    Atlantis submarine

    Reviewed by Wander35399603863() on Jun 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    What a breathtaking adventure at Lahaina, Maui going to the depths of the ocean floor coming face to face with a shark and enjoying the smooth ride on this wonderful submarine seeing all the spectacular marine life 140 ft below sea level.We traveled in January 2014.

    Caring staff

    Reviewed by david65(Thunder Bay, Canada) on Jun 04, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We love Maui. We tried the Aston Maui Kaanapali Villas this time with much anticipation. We stayed in the condos by the pool and beach. Everything was great until plumbing problems. No fault of the establishment. The staff handled it so well. They made our stay wonderful. They moved us without question to a new condo. This condo was no as modern as the first and they moved us again into a beautiful unit. We didn’t like the moving but the staff made it painless. They looked after everything. We were at the beautiful beach on the property. Gorgeous warm golden sand. The restaurant on site was very good as well. We think the staff make or break a good holiday. We can’t thank the staff enough. Wonderful service. Would definitely be back soon. The condos are next to the beach. If you want a good view ask for a second (top) floor.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX