Krystal Puerto Vallarta

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    L

    Awful, We moved hotels after three days!

    Reviewed by Lana on Jan 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    No Service - it?s all Self-Serve, Awful Food, Very Dirty Public Areas

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Yuck! Worst stay ever in Mexico....

    Reviewed by Lana on Jan 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Not even close to a 4 star! I NEVER write bad reviews-always see the bright side, but pass this Hotel by...was sick with food poisoning after the first day...service is slow to none, and the web site is wrong! They haven?t updated it and only have three pools...two are kids pool areas, and the ?quiet pool? is full of kids and lots of noise. No food service except a very very mediocre buffet in the pool restaurant and ?main? dinnng area for both breakfast and lunch. No poolside service....fetch your own food and drinks....and pick up after yourself because no one does until they need to wash glasses....and the sit down dinner at the Italian restaurant was the worst food I have ever had in Mexico, or maybe anywhere including street side vendors! And if you?re looking forward to anything except hot dogs, hamburgers, fries, and cheap Mexican ?filler? foods, look again. Not a shrimp to be seen here! And I LOVE Mexican cuisine and could barely stomach most of it! And it?s not a very clean place. There was blood on the walls in the toilet, grime in every corner and the pool side bathrooms smelled like a camping outhouse after two weeks of hot sun! Ugg.... and we have another week here! WestJet, I love you! Please remove this hotel from your vacation services!!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    E

    We will be back in the near future! Thank you WestJet!!

    Reviewed by Evelyn Bennett on Jan 07, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Location was great ! Close to the downtown. Great busing. You could get anywhere for a great price. The staff at the hotel were great. The service was top notch. Special mention to Elizabeth (Ella) the concierge at the front. She was great at suggesting places for us to see and eat at. Very friendly! Also Jafet, a server at the pool buffet. Great service! He took an an interest in where we were from and always greeted us! Also, special mention to our WestJet rep. At The Krystal, Francisco. Great job!! Friendly, helpful and just gave us great information about Mexico. These people deserve special recognition!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    D

    Hotel not geared up for Canadians at this time of year.

    Reviewed by Dan on Dec 04, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The hotel was not as advertised Only 1 ala carte , no hot tubs, Food was basic, no ham sausages or bacon for breakfast, sometimes no toaster.No servers at the bars, just at the restraunts did they serve you drinks.At one restraunt we watched the cook clean the prep area with a filthy rag, drop in on the floor and then proceed to wipe the grill off with the same rag.Garbage was overflowing with eggshells (from breakfast) at 12 pm. Garbage was within 4 feet of the grill.Staff was good but hotel was not near as good as advertised. This was my 16th time staying at an all inclusive resort,we have never had any problems worth mentioning about accommodations on our15 previous trips,this was truly a poor experience and I would question why WestJet would even offer this hotel as an option.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    M

    We werent happy with our choice, we wont be back.

    Reviewed by Mimi on Dec 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Friends

    The beach was amazing, our beach bartender Enrique was great and our buffet waiter Manuel was great too. The buffet was good. The 2 a la carte restaurants were not good, very slow service and poor quality. Our room smelt like mildew and the tiles were all cracked in the hallway to our room and in our room. There were no great activities, the only beach one was volleyball and they did some sort of aquasize in the pool. 1 night there was a rock and roll band but other than that there was not much going on at the resort in the evening.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    We will be back. Great food and service at the beach bar and restaurant.

    Reviewed by ShielaG on Apr 01, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    My 12 year old daughter and I really enjoyed Krystal. We would absolutely go back. The restaurant staff was excellent. We found the food delicious, plentiful and there was lots of selection. Great location. Beautiful grounds. The room was older but clean and comfortable.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    B

    Krystal Vallarta rates themselves as a 4 star, Westjet as a 3 1/2 star but we can only give it a 3 star rating.

    Reviewed by B&B on Mar 12, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    In plain truth this location has fallen by the wayside. It took 3 attempts before our room door lock was finally repaired. The far end quiet pool location was not attended to as per other resorts, no bar or bar staff, let alone cleaning of the bathrooms on a regular basis. The beach area at this end, was not well attended either except for the "sharks" local merchandise sales . The beach bar & snack area was closed the whole time we were there. Also the Red Flag was up for the whole 7 day trip. Only one buffet & on one occasion, not a full compliment of food tray areas with nothing . The A La Carte was good at the Cinque Terre but the Japanese was buffet style. The onsite maps of the location were incorrect. Do not pick this location for tennis, it's under construction for something else . We had the impression they, the owners were more concerned with the RCI rentals then their All Inclusive. On the plus side, nice weather, nice beach to walk on. Close proximity to Walmart & Sam's Club 10 minute walk . The staff were very friendly throughout the resort. Cleaning of our room was good. Nice size resort just 200 plus. You'll get your exercise walking to the main pool bar from the beach to get your drinks. We've been to Mexico 9 times, so we feel with a little work, this resort could earn it's rating.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated1 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    D

    West Jet is Amazing

    Reviewed by Donna on Jan 23, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Family

    My sister and I booked a West Jet Vacation to the Krystal Vallarta in Puerto Vallarta and we were very unhappy with the resort. The resort is in a great location. Very poor service at the resort. Room not clean. Poor food quality. Only buffet available at the a la cartes. Not clean in pool areas. Only one bar open at a time. Beach is beautiful but not enough lounge chairs at the beach. If you are looking for a beautiful vacation, do not stay here. No complaints with West Jet. Karry from West Jet was amazing. She listened to our concerns. She worked with us to help us resolve our problem. All that I can say is I will be a dedicated West Jet customer and will recommend West Jet Vacations to all my family, friends and coworkers. West Jet you are amazing!!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated1 out of 5

    M

    Bon endroit pour se reposer

    Reviewed by Michelmex on Jan 18, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Service courtois et correcte manque de personnel pour service de bar terrain bien situer sur 6 jours 1 journée la plage avait des jeles fish ,les activités sont aux minimums pas de spectacles à tous les jours , la restauration bien mais pas énorme bon choix mais correcte Endroit tranquille à qui cherche le repos J'ai apprécier mon séjour

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    C

    Awesome trip

    Reviewed by Cookykid on Aug 20, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    We stayed in the krystals in April we had a awesome time the hotel staff went way beyond there hospitality the food was different night the staff there were awesome the buffet was located by the beach so you could eat while the sun down. We will stay there again

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3670 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Abraham was great

    Reviewed by Ava S() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Our server for a good portion of this trip, Abraham, was fantastic. Truly made our experience at Krystal better! Defiantly request him if you are going to this resort. He was very funny and showed us much kindness

    Great staff, great views, okay everything else...

    Reviewed by Joecool9787() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We just got back from a 5 day trip to the Krystal resort. The good: - the staff were great! Israel in entertainment, Jesus at the pool bar, and Luis at the sky lounge were the best. They made sure I had a great time and were very friendly even English was difficult. Others were pleasant and polite too. - the view is great! The infinity pool with swim up bar with a beautiful view of the waters and mountains - I kinda liked how there were more locals than foreigners. It was fun to meet different people and talk to them - the sky bar was very nice. The view was beautiful and the ambiance was very great to chill with friends old and new. The only problem was that it rained most days so we couldnt use it but thats fine I guess - the value was great! My friend found the price for pretty cheap it was definitely worth it for us. - the chicken nuggets here are bomb! Mmm so crispy, so nuggety... If nothing come for the nuggets. The meh... - The food was pretty good most times, and just ok sometimes. There was only one restaurant open in the evenings but I guess thats because were in the off season. Our favorites were the roquefellar fish and the breakfast. Oh and the nuggets. - the rooms were just ok. Mine was good no complaints but my friend's had a leak in it. You can tell the building is old but its not terrible. I would def recommend this place depending on the value. If you can get it at a good price I'd say it's a no brainer. Come with friends/fam it will be fun!

    Krystal Mediocre

    Reviewed by connierules77(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 05, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Needs improvement. Grounds are amazing!!! Some hotel staff were kind and warm others were over worked & lacked a smile! Food was ok but I don’t recommend Velas, it was too hot and flies. Acuamarina was good but needs more waiters. Bar was good. More waiters needed around pool since no one came to ask if I needed anything.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Great place for families

    Reviewed by carolinasadecv(Kitchener, Canada) on Aug 03, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I read many reviews about this place before going and I agree with everyone that the best part of this hotel was the people. I want to thank Carlos from the beach bar, Ramon from the pool bar, Nicacio from the bar and restaurants and finally Eduardo from the dinner restaurant Marina. They were all great and made our stay very enjoyable. Carlos is a very genuine young guy, very nice to talk to and get to know. I would say this resort is more for families than young people trying to party as there is no swim up pool bar or a very big beach bar. The food was good for the most part and we always found something to eat. I enjoyed the natural fruit juices they had all the time. We had an issue with the AC not working in the room. We got the run around for a bit but then we got switched rooms and that made me very happy. It was overall a great vacation. The beach was nice and the water even better. Gracias a todos en Krystal!!

    Some good things and some bad.

    Reviewed by sleekmr3(San Jose, California) on Aug 01, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This was my first visit to PV. Went with my brother and some friends as a guys trip. Some people in our group have been to PV before, but it was all of our first time staying at Krystal. My experiences with All Inclusive Resorts are: Melia in bahamas, Riu Palace in Cabo, Fiesta Americana Condesa & Live Aqua & Iberostar in Cancun. I got the Garden view room. Located on the 12th floor and was surprised that it was facing the ocean. So that was a nice surprise. My other friends upgraded to the ocean front room. Which was located in a different building closest to the beach. The tower that I stayed in was closer to the lobby and furthest from the beach, but still a great view of the ocean and the property. My building only has two elevators so sometimes waiting for the elevator can take some time. The room was nice and the bathroom was better than expect, a lot nicer than most All inclusive resorts I had stayed at before. AC was super cold which was really nice cause it was a really humid July. My friends who stayed at the ocean front building, said their AC was not as good as ours and our room was nicer than theirs also. The joint door that connects to the room next to us is very thin. I can here the neighbors conversations and it seem like we always had neighbors with kids that would cry. So that was a negative since i'm a light sleeper. Room had a fridge which was empty and not stocked with beer like other All Incl. resorts I have stayed at in the past. You do get two bottles of water daily which you find in the restroom. There's also a safe. No microwave, but we did take our left overs down to the lobby and they warmed it up for us. The resorts was a bit dated. They only had 3 pools. Two of them were filled with kids and the main one wasn't that big and was packed. So I was there for 5 days and never got into the pool. Service at the resort was great. Staff was very nice. We always tipped for most things and got amazing service. Our drinks were always replaced right before we finished. Maybe because our group was tipping well? The service was a bit different for us all. I was given late checkout 1pm for free, but my other friends got quoted a price for late check out. Even though we were in the same tower and on the same floor. Go figure. I also did the spa which was $45 USD for 75 mins and I really enjoyed it. Plus it was cheap too. The spa facility isn't anything spectacular but you do get your own private room. Location of the resort was great. It cost us about $3 USD or $60 pesos with uber to get to our hotel from the airport. Taxi to the boardwalk/downtown was about $5 USD or $100 pesos. Taking a big van for all 11 of us ranged anywhere from $300-400 pesos to get to downtown from the hotel. The food at Krystal was very disappointing. I ate at two of the buffets and they were both disappointing. We had dinner at the Japanese restaurant and that was mediocre also. The resort was super cheap though so I didn't expect much. Of all the All Inclusive resorts I have stayed at so far. This I would say has the worst food. Not that the food was disgusting, I just didn't care for it. We ate outside the resort many times plus the food off property is quite cheap. Alcoholic beverage wise it about the same as most All incl. places. Smirnoff seemed to be their top Vodka they had. Wifi was alright a bit spotty at time. I didn't run into that many foreigners at the resort. Lots of locals/natives, but everyone was nice. There are many restaurants, bars, & shopping centers/malls nearby. There's even a walmart and Sam's Club just down the street. Uber eats is also available in PV so we had food delivered to the hotel lobby sometimes. Otherwise I had a fun time being out here. Would I choose this resort in the future. yes and no. For the all inclusive food no, but for the all inclusive drinks yes. Location is great, rooms are clean, view is nice, but walls are thin. Service was great and it's a cheap resort. So if it works for you give it a try.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX