Royal Hideaway Playacar

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    V

    Not clean

    Reviewed by Viv on Jan 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: December 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    Very unpleasant in terms of being unclean

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    V

    Unclean.

    Reviewed by Vivien on Dec 31, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: November 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This hotel was filthy. Stained sheets. Carpet gone grey from lack of cleaning. Tub plug was rusted completely through. Both phones weren?t working. The bed skirt looked like it had never been washed it was so discoloured. We found many areas of the hotel to be very poorly maintained. I would never return. WestJet located another hotel to move to however it did increase our cost significantly

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6300 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Hotel & Spa

    Reviewed by david o() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The resort has been a favorite of ours for many years. Everything was wonderful as always. However, the house wine needs to be improved as well as the TV stations available in English. The spa was very accommodating. Gabriel and Yamoe gave the best massages. It was so enjoyable, we went back for a second massage!!! Give it a try,you won’t be disappointed.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Second Visit

    Reviewed by kileybmw() on Aug 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The hotel grounds and layout can not be beat! Staff is amazing and restaurants are exceptional for an all-inclusive. Rooms are super plush. However, it seems everything is a secret at this resort. I'd advise you to spend a few extra minutes at reception when checking in and ask them to fill you in on all that's available to you during your stay. For instance, they have a Dive Shop on the premise that offers all sorts of water activities (additional charge but reasonable) like a short snorkel trip for $45! They have bicycles, kayaks or other items to borrow at no charge. They have daily activities (like a Tequila tasting) posted where you pickup Towels. There are six pools/hot tubs scattered throughout the property all available for use. Pool by the gym has really cool jets in the floor that you have to ask to have turned on.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    A time away

    Reviewed by frericj(Atlanta, Georgia) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a great time with friends. Place was amazing. Service was awesome. Vogar (the bellhop) was a great asset to time away. Food was succulent and bar drinks were just right. Small place with great views and ocean time was amazing. I would recommend for adults get away.

    Worth the return visit!!!

    Reviewed by debraowen59(Advance, Missouri) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    There are so many great places to stay in Mexico, we never go to the same place twice, however, Royal Hideaway is definitely the exception!!! The property is immaculate, service amazing and the food delicious!! Perfect small adult only, all inclusive. Very relaxing, with stunning views. The staff is beyond amazing. You NEVER meet a staff member that they don't speak, and after a few days, will be calling you by name. Anything you ask, they are more than willing to try to accommodate. We highly recommend this property, it's wonderful. We traveled in the off season so the rates are more affordable. A little pricey in the winter but the property itself is beautiful.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Service was not Royal

    Reviewed by joliva653629(McAllen, Texas) on Aug 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Beautiful rooms and amenities. Food Service was not royal. Weak Selection. Service staff was lazy and needs more training. Entertainment needs a lot of work. Not much effort put into planning. If they can fix service, food and entertainment, it could make a big change for the hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX