Sol Palmeras

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    T

    Jamie, Elvis, Suzie and all of the rest of the Sol palmeras team - thank you and I look forward to seeing you again sometime soon.

    Reviewed by Terry on Jul 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: July 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    I simply can not say enough about my stay at Sol Palmeras. From the moment of arrival to departure I was constantly being impressed with how clean the resort and beach were to the high level of care that the staff showed to the guests. Honestly, I was blown away by the place. the food was excellent and varied every evening, the drinks were well poured and general atmosphere was perfect for a good relaxing visit. There is no question that I will be back and have already recommended it several friends and family. Well done guys and thank you for an amazing visit.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Never would go back.

    Reviewed by Greg on Jul 12, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: May 2018

    Trip Type: Family

    I would not go back. The buffet was almost the same stuff every day and there were lots of flies. The specialized restaurants were good. The beach was great. The pool needed a good cleaning. People were reserving chairs early at the pool and beach. I know this is a common problem at most resorts. The only thing is to do it too or you won't get a seat. There was lots of room by the pool and beach where they could easily add more seats. The service was slow at times in the buffet area and the bars. There was always an elevator not working, at one time both of them were not working. This was a problem for my wife who uses a walker. Nothing to do with the resort but it was a problem bringing the walker into and leaving Cuba. Not a good country to go to if you have mobility issues.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    I can't wait to visit again. I love this place.

    Reviewed by Sheila on Jul 07, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    I loved this vacation! The staff were wonderful. Betty, Nivia, Yerandi, Elvis, Diennis, Roniel, Fidel and I'm sorry for all the names I can not remember. You made this stay so memorable. The beach is a short walk and the white sand is so soft and clean. The cleaning staff were exceptional and all facilities were kept neat and smelled fresh. Our room had clean sheets and towel everyday. Bar service was friendly and the drinks were good. I made friends I will remember always.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    G

    Fifth Visit Even Better

    Reviewed by Goober on Apr 11, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Fifth time at Sol Palmeras, love it here. the only problem was with the WIFI , very poor service. Had a problem with our hair dryer in our bungalow, fixed within the hour. Hot water was weak but again fixed the next day! Lots of improvements to furniture and painting outside of bungalows.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    V

    Great hotel.

    Reviewed by Vlad on Nov 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    1. Location of this place is just great. Not too far from the city taxi will cost you 4-5 CUCs not too close for the locals to come over and make the beach filthy sorry, but that's harsh reality . 2. Hotel is dated, but they try to keep it up. It does not work 100% but at least they try, and it's nice to see. Some painting going on, etc. Good. 3. Rooms. Same, dated but decent. We lived in a bungalow, it was great. Two working ACs, we actually used one, was well enough. Clean beds very firm though... , clean sheets, excellent maids tip them and they will keep you happy! . Very spacious. Living room with a modern TV, Bedroom with a modern TV and an array of channels to choose from. Telephone, iron, hair dryer. A free safe box, yes, a FREE safe storage box, you don't have to pay for like in other hotels sometimes 7CUCs for day! . Great feature, thanks a lot for that! 4. Food. Great selection, very nice quality in the buffet restaurant. 5. Staff is amazing! Very friendly and relaxed people. Except an old lady in the internet place. She is plain rude. 6. La carte restaurants. Same. Great food, but limited selection. It's OK though. No complaints here. Make sure you reserve your restaurant 2 days ahead at the reception desk. There are 5 in total. 7. Bars. Too bad they do not have machines for slushy drinks.... Everything else is great. Coffee is very tasty, especially cappuccino. Great selection of cocktails, international and domestic drinks and liquors. 8. Entertainment. Daily activities are great, lots of stuff to do! Night entertainment is not great at all. Unfortunately. 9. Snorkeling. If you are facing the beach, go to your left to hit some shallow snorkeling. 10. Internet. There is internet over WiFi. 2 CUCs per hour. You must buy a card from the internet center for a password. CAUTION! When you are done, make sure to hit "DISCONNECT" from the provider's main page. Otherwise, they will continue to count your time as active and you may end up spending 2 CUC.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7717 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation at sol palmeras

    Reviewed by lisa p() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Sol palmeras is a beautiful place the staff is so friendly and accommodating. We enjoy coming here every year. The dancing company sol arenas is incredible and the entertainment is spectacular at the resort. Greetings to Marcelo

    Massive Resort..

    Reviewed by Road224618() on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Let me start by saying... I'm not often prone to writing reviews however, with 7 trips to Cuba, this is the exception. Firstly, should you have any condition where walking distances is an issue, I would strongly recommend staying in the Hotel and as close to the center elevator as possible. With double knee replacements, I have to thank an amazing bellman 'Armando' and the others with their golf carts. Without them, I would not have survived the week. My thanks as well to the 'public relations' staff that were able to correct the booking mistakes by Sun-wing. Additionally, Buffet staff: Olga and Benbenito made our breakfast/lunch's special occasions!! Based on previous reviews, we sampled the Tex Mex and Asian a la' carts which we truly enjoyed. Rooms were always clean yet we did miss towel art. Not one during our stay... My only other concern is the lack of lounge's around the pool and beach area!! One should never have to towel a chair at 6am!! And if you do... don't leave it unattended for 6hrs. Lets be fair to others! In general, beautiful resort and some amazing staff that we know Cuba is known for... enjoy the experience.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Boring resort

    Reviewed by scalor(Montreal, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    When there with one of my buddy. This resort is mostly for retired people and family with kids. No bars in the pool and outside the salsa class on the beach, very poor entertainment. Also, the only party you can get is a immodium party.. and for sure you’ll get one.. Do yourself a favor and go further down the street for a newer hotel...

    This is a 2.5 star resort dominated by spanish speaking vacationers

    Reviewed by 773JohnG773(NL CANADA) on Apr 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Spanish speaking people whether they are locals or elsewhere have voted this hotel into the the top 10. It is not top 20 in my opinion. Over 3000 reviews here are spanish speaking. We were there last month and 80% of people were spanish speaking. They get preferential treatment by reception and bar staff. Very frustrating seeing these people butt in line and the cuban spanish staff do nothing but chit chat with them. The hotel is 30 years old and needs major updates. It has central air conditioning which is non existent in the corridors or the inside theatre. Even the lobby area is not much cooler than the outside 30-32 celsius. The hotel rooms can't be cooled down to a comfortable temperature for sleeping. The hotel rooms although renovated are still outdated and would rate as only as a 2 star elsewhere. This resort has 602 rooms and when busy has 1500-1800 guests. There are 125 shades on the beach and by 7.00am all are taken by people who are up at 6.00am. The pool area is even worse as it only has about 25 shaded areas that are taken early. The vast majority of people are either faced lying in the hot sun all day or retreat to hotel. The beach as expected for most of Varadero is beautiful. The pools are also nice and clean. Crystal beer on tap is good. Drinks are adequate but this resort only offers powered milk so white russians etc are terrible. The buffett is adequate although bland, unfresh and repetitive.You are not getting good tasting food like in Canada, USA or the UK. The International a la carte was above average, best of those we tried. There are a lot of 3 and 3.5 star hotels in Varadero much better than this resort. This resort is overrun by Spanish speaking locals and from elsewhere. Not for me after 10 trips to Cuba.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-2

    Excellent resort

    Reviewed by Maple142(Courtice, Canada) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have stayed in this resort with my family and 1 year old son. I must say that it exceeded my expectations. Beach is stunning with lagoon water however if you prefer shade you must reserve your seat early in the morning. Food was above and beyond. Compliments to the chef. I have been to Cuba few times, even in the resorts run by Melia and food was not edible - but Sol Palmeras has truly great food for Cuba. I always found something delicious in the main buffet. I have stayed in Bungalows close to the water. Rooms are bit dated but clean and spacious. Staff are kind and polite. Big shout to sever Luis Angel, Marcelo from entertainment team and Gonzales from reception. Overall great value for money. Bring tips as people work hard and their service should not be free. If you wanna bless them bring some tylenols for kids and adults - thats what i was asked for the most. If you are looking to visit downtown Varadero taxi is 10 cuc each way or you can take a bus which is much cheaper and stops at the front of hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX