SeaGarden Beach Resort

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    Great Bang-For-Your-Buck Getaway

    Reviewed by Kapow on Oct 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    We just returned from a wonderful stay at SeaGarden Beach Resort in Montego Bay. This is a small, 140 room, Jamaican family-owned resort and as such, it doesn't have all of the amenities of the larger chain resorts, However, if you want an authentic Jamaican experience, this is the place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, and being literally 5 minutes from the airport makes the transport time for airport to resort absolutely painless. We arrived at 6:40 pm and were seated at the bar, bags in our rooms, freshened up from travel by 8 pm. The rooms are spacious, beds comfy and overall, very adequate. However, this is an older resort so there's not much sound barrier so you can hear anything going on in the hall, out on the street or sometimes, even from the adjacent rooms. The staff are wonderful, the food delicious but if you expect anything other than Jamaican fare, you're out of luck. The beach area, (or lagoon as we called it), was beautiful, clean and absolutely serene. There is need for some updating in practically every aspect of this resort, (bathrooms, seating at the bars, lounge pads by the beach, flooring), but if you can look past all of that, this is a great bang-for-your-buck spot. My husband and I loved that we could walk down the Hip Street to Margaratiaville, about 20 minutes, safely during the day. Be forewarned that the local vendors are VERY pushy and it can be somewhat annoying but part of the experience too. A special shout-out to our West Jet Vacations Rep, Kevin, who hooked us up with some amazing excursions and for a lot less than through other tour operators. All in all, we had a wonderful time. Would we go back? Probably if it was just the two of us but if we were travelling with our kids, probably not.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    J

    We loved our stay! We will be going back here again one day!

    Reviewed by Jaime on May 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Short and Sweet, SeaGarden Beach Resort was the best! It is a quiet, clean resort with great staff that caterer to your every need. Small, little beach with a great beach bar and snack grill. The food was amazing. Love jerk chicken and those coconut drop cookies! I can say the food was amazing because I got to taste it. You see, I have Celiac Disease and a lot of tourist places do not realize the severity of my disease. Upon arrival, I met with Head Chef Kernel and Chef David who looked after and catered specially to me making sure I would not be contaminated with gluten. Each night they would take me around the buffet explaining what I could eat and if there was nothing there, they would make me my own plate. Anyone with a food allergy will only understand and appreciate how wonderful this was. I cannot say enough good things about these two men, who took time out of their busy day to make sure I was being looked after. THANK YOU never seems enough. So, anyone with Celiac Disease, this is your place! Every morning we were fortunate to be greeted by Aneicia Smith and Daneake Faulkner. Two of the nicest ladies we had the privilege of meeting. By the end of our stay, they would call us by name and have our table set up especially for us – hot bacon and candied pineapple. Damn that pineapple was delicious! Romaine, who greeted us at the front door nearly every morning with the biggest and brightest smile you will ever see. Trex and Dimitre did an amazing job of entertaining us throughout the day and every night. The energy and charisma these two have is something you will never forget. The nightly entertainment at this resort was awesome! Lastly, venture out and walk down Hip Street. You will meet some wonder people who are trying to sell you their goods. Talk to the friendly ladies outside the shops and get to understand what it truly is like to Jamaican. We will never forget Shelley, Shedean, Dean and Suzette! It was an amazing!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 763 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Relaxing stay!

    Reviewed by mquiring(Vancouver, Canada) on Apr 22, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in January. Overall our experience was really good. Our room was always clean. We were told there was a fridge, but didn't find one when we went to our room. A quick phone call and it was there very soon! We loved hanging out at the beach. Always lots of places to sit, in or out of the sand. The one complaint we had at the beach was the amount of people smoking cigarettes, pipes and marijuana. It is a no smoke zone but the staff did not enforce it. Very disappointing as the smoke is very difficult for my lungs. We loved eating our meals outside on the little veranda. The staff was always on top of cleaning up and refilling glasses. The down side would be the food. Mostly the same every day, The bread station was one type of bread or bun! Overall, we went there to relax and destress, and that we did!!

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Staycation

    Reviewed by Berelaxednow(Jamaica) on Apr 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I’m looking through these reviews and wondering if I stayed at the same place as some of these people. The room we stayed in was at the far end where the construction is going on and it was never a bother.. there is no noise until about 9:30am and by then most persons would be out and about. By 3pm I always go back to the room for a nap and once I’m closed up inside the room I don’t hear much of what’s happening outside. The room was pretty simple and works fine for both of us. Our AC unit worked just fine, the hot and cold water worked perfect, our housekeeper was a wonderful lady to talk to and politely ask for anything extra that you want. Our room was kept clean, tidy and smelling fresh 10/10 for her. The beach was amazing. I’m a Jamaican, I wake to the same sun and weather everyday but still just laying out, watching the planes coming in and feeling the cool breeze was truly breathtaking. I’ve fallen asleep so many times like that. Spending a day at the pool too wasn’t a bad idea.. we were there 5 days so it was nice to change things up so it didn’t seem all repetitive and boring. The food as most persons said was a bit of the same thing everyday.. there are few options though so I change things up on the daily so I’m not eating the same thing over and over. There is also a restaurant you can make reservations for, it’s done to order so you’ll be waiting for a while but it’s another option soo... All the staff were wonderful to us whether we were leaving tips or not. I’m black and was not treated differently than my friend who was white or any other guest there (It was a shocker to read reviews saying that) the staff makes this stay a wonderful one, they were all great people. Persons at the check in weren’t much friendly though, facial language was off and also need to smile some more. Nightly entertainment wasn’t so bad, the man eating fire and dancing on broken bottles was funny. We did the glass bottom boat and went snorkeling, the experience was out of this world. The price was cheaper than expected. All this hotel needs to do is fix up their food and all will be good Overall this was a great vacation and I would definitely go back..

    Reviews are true

    Reviewed by lgh34609(Brooksville, Florida) on Apr 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I would have to much to write, just believe what you read is true. Only here 1 days and wish it never happened. Room was so hot I moved the bed to middle of room where the air was blowing just to sleep. Room was at end of hall over kitchen. Heard everyone moving stuff over the cobblestone all morning. Music so loud you had to turn tv up as loud as it would go to hear. Try to eat and it’s so hot in that area I would just leave. I do believe lunch was last nights dinner leftovers. Only good I found was staff, very nice.

    The Real Jamaica

    Reviewed by MzBliss777(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 12, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I stayed for a one week package. We read the reviews and still went ahead and booked our stay anyway. The deal was sweet and we are the type of couple that prefer authentic places oppose to over saturated tourist places. This hotel is one of the few that are actually Jamaican owned and the grounds are full of flowers, plants and trees that are beautifully taken care of. This was the first thing we loved about it. The food was a little repetitive which we didn't mind because we took advantage of going out and exploring Jamaica (note the girl who makes eggs for breakfast infront of you was lovely). The staff was amazing especially the rasta lifeguard and the beach bar staff specifically Andre the Taurus! The reception was the only staff we felt inconvenient to. Anytime we spoke with them or called they always treated us misreably. Our room was a ocean view room. Nothing fancy about it. The water tap kept changing from very to hot to super cold in the shower, but after the second or third day we got the hang of it. The people who clean the rooms were friendly and more than accommodating to any needs of ours like more water bottles or towels. The men who are the front of the hotel were awesome as well. They checked on us like family every time we seen them. Made us feel special. The beach is across the street but literally is a few seconds walk. We actually liked being seperate from the hotel pool. It gave us options. One thing I wouldn't recommend is the store on site. The prices are inflated... For us it made more sense to walk down the road to the locals right beside the supermarket to make purchases. Things are hand made and they don't charge you ridiculously! Overall we would definitely stay here again and actually will be returning with the kids. I think some people come here expecting a Riu hotel experience without "paying" the Riu price. If you're looking to stay in the "Real Jamaica" I would recommend here as you are also giving back to the locals. As a couple we were happy with our privacy and great service. These people work so hard so don't forget to tip.

    Perfect blend of resort and town

    Reviewed by Jigmoore() on Apr 06, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Removed enough to be a great stand alone resort yet close enough to town for an easy walk to the hip strip. Highlights of this place are the small little private coves to swim and snorkel in and the great bar service and people. It is big enough to have good amenities yet small enough that everyone gets to know each other including the staff. Daily entertainment at the pool was very surprisingly way better than we expected. Buffet food had great variety and was excellent. Definitely recommend this place as the place to stay in Montego Bay.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX