BlueBay Villas Doradas

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    K

    We loved our stay! Will definitely be back!!

    Reviewed by Kelly McK on Mar 10, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Friends

    First time at this resort, and took down 7 ladies who have never been to DR before. We all loved it. Check-in was a bit of a nightmare, as we requested ground-floor rooms, and none were available, but they straightened everything out the next day. From that day on the resort was very accommodating. The staff were very friendly and helpful, they seem to love their jobs. The food was delicious; everything was fresh, and all buffet items were named in english and spanish. The snack bar at the beach wasn't great, so we mainly stuck to the main buffet. The ala cartes were very good - all 3 of them: meat, seafood, oriental. The swim-up bar was awesome; shallow pool, just 3 ft deep; just had to remember to keep our shoes at the top of the stairs, as the tiles were slippery when wet. The bathrooms were close by, and were well-used (and clean). Most afternoons this was the pool with the most action and activities, and right near the night time theatre. Our rooms were by the "quiet pool", which also has the spa, fitness centre, and a juice/coffee bar w/freshly baked cookies. Great place to go to get away for some quiet time. Resort is a short, 5-minute walk to the Mall, which has all the shopping needs taken care of, including a well-stocked pharmacy. At the rum, cigar, clothing, and souvenir stores, If paying cash, you can negotiate prices to get a better deal.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    I would come back nor recommend this resort. I was so disappointed. This resort lists as a 4 star. In reality it's more of a 2.

    Reviewed by Ken on Feb 03, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    It sucked! Everybody was trying to get into your pocket. Food was over salted on everything, poor variety, fruits were very limited unless you want to eat pineapples everyday, absence of healthy options. Even their Ala Carte restaurants suck. Lots of communication problem with ordering especially relating to my diet restrictions. Bathroom was moldy, no exhaust. Room looks old and cheap, furniture were peeling, does not look clean. Beach was clean. That's the most we enjoyed except that we were hounded by vendors. Reception checking in was confusing. They saw that I have mobility issue but tried to book us in 3rd floor without elevator. We find it hard to request what we need. It is also difficult to communicate my special needs as it relate to my health issues. No free WiFi. Another thing to spend on. Check out was smooth.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated1 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    We did not love our stay. I won't go back to this resort. It's not how it appeared online.

    Reviewed by Bev on Jan 28, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    We had a very stressful 1st day. I booked a premium room and we were given a worn sad dirty room. The paint was peeling, the room phone was not working, it was dirty, there was mould in the washroom. I did not use the washroom except to quickly pee during the 1st day. The coffee maker wasn't cleaned still had old coffee in there. The cups and spoon were sticky. It was a sore site from a supposedly 4 star resort. We need boiled water for my husband's CPAP machine and it was such an ordeal to get that I had to go myself to the kitchen and insist to have it. The front desk person Ana was difficult to talk to. Thankfully the following day Johnny helped us to mover to a better room. It was not an updated room and the furniture were old but at least it was cleaner and more acceptable. And this was a premium room. I cannot imagine how a standard room look. The beach was the highlight of that resort because we had an amazing weather. Although the vendors were a nuisance because even if you're napping they wake you up to sell their wares. The food was salty. There's a limited amount of fruits and almost absence of healthy choices because they were salty or fried . It's hard to stay healthy in the resort if you have some diet restrictions. When I asked a chef he told me they cannot accommodate. Even the restaurant offers limited menu. Another thing is the tips. Everybody expects a tip every time you engage them anywhere. The servers and staff give preferential treatment to people who tip and appear to ignore guests that do not often tip. Hence the standard service is lacking.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Returning to BlueBay is Always a Pleasure

    Reviewed by Sylvia on Mar 15, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    My husband and I have been going to BlueBay at least once a year since 2006. Located in the Playa Dorada Complex, BlueBay is well located with the shopping centre minutes away and Puerto Plata is easily accessed by taxi or guagua. We love that it is adult only and because of my mobility issues all venues are easily accessible for me. The food is good; there are many options even for the fussiest of eaters. The speciality restaurants could use a new menu though. The staff is always more than accommodating. Everyone is friendly and helpful. The Resident Manager, Ines Pichardo makes herself available to guests and tries to solve problems quickly. Our room was perfect: quiet and handy to the spa area with its terrific and very popular coffee machine. For us, BlueBay is our home away from home. WestJet is our carrier of choice. We can always be sure to have enough legroom on the plane. And, WestJetters always provide us with excellent service whether it's at the airport, on the plane, at the resort or by phone.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated3 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    L

    Disappointed overall. Many things that were "included" actually weren't Wouldn't restock our fridge even when we requested.

    Reviewed by Lindsay M on Jan 13, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Had much higher expectations for this place and was pretty disappointed. Refused to restock our fridge. First off, when we arrived we didn't not have our reservation printed off, I had saved it on my phone. Granted, I guess I should have known this, but we were treated so rudely by the staff and made to feel like we totally inconvenienced them. A few others that arrived at the same time as us and made the same mistake said the same thing. The beach was really dirty, tons of cigarette butts in the sand as well as other gross items tampon, condom, etc ...definitely wasn't comfortable walking around in bare feet. I wanted to try some wind surfing but was told they were all broken and would not be useable the whole week we were there. I was then told I could pay for wind surface provided by an outside source. I chose a resort that supposedly had this included, so why would I then pay extra? The room was ok, defnitely not as modern as the website would have you believe. It was very frustrating that they would only give us one key card, even after several requests they refused. The fridge in our room was NEVER stocked with drinks, even after we left a tip and requested that it be restocked daily. IT was supposed to be all booze included, but definitely wasn't. Half the time the maids didn't even clean our room, several times I had to seek them out to request towels because they didn't leave any clean ones. We tipped WELL each day in the hopes that it would improve, but it didn't. The food was ok, I wasn't expecting too much and there was plenty of fresh fruit available. What was disappointing was the "snack bars"...very limited options and always greasy. My boyfriend doesn't drink so was looking forward to snacking lots, but there were many times that food wasn't available. Overall I found that many staff members seemed inconveniences to help us with anything. They wouldn't give us wifi even though the website said it was free in the lobby. Disappointed overall.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated2 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    S

    This resort's greatest asset is its management and staff

    Reviewed by Sherpa07 on Mar 27, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    This was our 3rd trip to this resort and we would definitely return. The management and staff are its greatest asset. Management is very proactive and present and the staff in all areas of the resort are genuinely friendly and accommodating. The animation team are very friendly to all the guests and work hard to include all who are interested in participating in the activities offered. We found the food to be good and while the resort is by no means new, maintenance is ongoing and we found that any issues that we presented were dealt with swiftly and completely to our satisfaction. Our room was well maintained and well cleaned daily. Our flights and transfers were on time and without incident and all personnel we encountered were professional and friendly .

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6668 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Lovely resort

    Reviewed by Jo D(Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I think the highlight of our trip was the service we received from the waiters in the restaurant. Every day we were greeted like old friends and nothing was too much trouble. The resort itself was great. The pools were a bit overcrowded with noisy americans or canadians so we preferred to stay by the small pool at the spa. The beach was also lovely and had big beds to lounge on but then you did get harassed by people selling jewellery etc. Overall a lovely holiday and I would go back.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    food was as good as you would get in cuba

    Reviewed by Gary B(Grimsby, Canada) on May 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    unless you are in the quiet area expect noise - an unwanted sound - we are older but that doesn't matter a fight almost broke out by the big pool very windy the ocean gets deep quickly we got the feeling we had to pay extra just to get a reservation at the restaurants

    Extremely disappointed!! Won’t be back

    Reviewed by Jamiefit2425() on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Visited this resort for a much anticipated birthday celebration with seven of my high school girlfriends. We all are turning 40 this year. Upon arrival at the airport we were greeted and told that the resort we were staying at had “water leak” and we were being taken to another resort for the first night. Our travel agent wasn’t even notified about this as we had to contact her. We had to spend an hour at the airport verifying the information that in fact we were able to go with the gentleman. We were take to Atmosphere Resort where our rooms were not ready when we arrived. It was another three hours before we got to our room and by that time the sun had almost set and that was the end of a wasted first day. The next day we waited over an hour to be picked up to be taken to this resort, Bluebay in which the rooms still were not ready for us at this resort. Our luggage had to be held in the storage room, we still haven’t been able to unpack anything and relax and we had to carry our purses around with our passports and money because we had no other place to put them. Now we booked our trip 6 1/2 months in advance to celebrate this occasion. We requested that our rooms be in close proximity to each other because we were travelling in a group. Instead we had 4 rooms in completely separate buildings and didn’t in fact even get our rooms until the second day after 4 PM. We just found it very convenient that out of every person we spoke to at the pool and around the resort during our stay not one of them happen to be in a building where there was a water problem. We felt as though they simply overbooked and couldn’t accommodate us and lied about it. Just incredibly disappointing. The resort was not accommodating to our inconveniences and a lot of time was wasted trying to work this situation out. We were to be compensated with free Wi-Fi or access to the room safe like this was supposed to be comparable to us losing pretty much the first two days of our 5 day vacation. Of course we took the wi-Fi option as there was not much else they were offering us. What were we to do?? The Wi-Fi didn’t work the majority of the time. As soon as we moved away from the lobby it kept kicking us off and four of the eight girls already had upgraded phone plans so Wi-Fi didn’t apply to them to begin with. No other form of refund was offered even after persistently requesting something else be done the inconvenience. We contacted WestJet to help us rectify the situation and this was a letter received from the hotel. (Attachment) In addition to all the accommodation issues, the tile around the pool was extremely slippery! Not safe. One of my girlfriends slipped coming out of the pool while waiting for our room to be ready after being in there less than 30 minutes. She hit her head on the wall and ended up in the hospital for the remainder of the day with 8 stitches. She was not the only person we saw slip that day and get injured. It was one thing after the next! Once we finally got to our rooms they were outdated but clean and manageable. I really hate to come on here and complain as I myself work in the service industry. My review would have been very different had the resort properly compensated us but unfortunately they acted like this is acceptable behaviour and there’s nothing they could do. I will never stay at another Bluebay resort and I will never recommend them to anyone based on this experience.

    Nice little resort

    Reviewed by Grubbie3618(Ontario, Canada) on May 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We enjoyed our stay here Feb 2019. The staff are very friendly and food was good. The beach bar buffet was one of our favourites as the fried chicken was delicious! The resort itself could use some TLC and updating. One item of great concern is how slippery the pool deck is between the pool and the washrooms, we witnessed a number of people slipping and getting hurt. The biggest disappointment our group found was that in order to have a balcony we had to pay extra for an upgraded room, but once we had done that our rooms were ok. The pool foam party was a major highlight! There were a number of fun activities to do throughout the day. Not sure if we'd ever return to this resort, but glad we gave it a chance.

    Very Disappointed.......:(

    Reviewed by Paula M(Glace Bay, Canada) on May 07, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Where do I begin? Joe and I vacationed at Blue Bay Villas Doradas from April 22nd, 2019- May 6th, 2019.....being there during the weekdays was just wonderful, the service we got was second to none. The place was clean, considering it is almost 30 yrs old, or more? The food was good but very repetitive, they need to change up their menu a little more. When you go to relax at a resort for TWO WEEKS, that's really what your looking for.....not to party, not noisy partying people all around you......hence comes the weekends.....when the locals are allowed to either rent up rooms, or are just allowed on the Resort after May 1st, which happened on our second weekend. Let me make this part clear....I am not a racist person by any means.....but when you pay BIG money to go on vacation for "QUIET TIME & RELAXATION" only to find out when you get there that many noisy partier's are there or the weekends.....This really boiled my blood....and not just mine. 80% of these people were totally disrespectful to everyone, the property, the food, and the alcohol intake. Just as we would get to swim in the pool 30 of them would jump in and play volleyball, more or less forcing us to get out, you couldn't get near the swim-up bar for a drink, and even if you could, staff catered to the locals and ignored us, time and time again, even though we were always tipping....Now I am not sure how the resorts are benefitting from the locals being allowed onsite, since it is clearly ruining people from returning, since I spoke to 4 couples who like myself agreed they would never return, for the same reasons as me. I know you can't change the behavior of a few people, but if you were watching a little closer to what was going on, perhaps there would be a few characters you would agree do NOT belong at your Resort....it's so sad, because your staff are so intimidated by many of these locals.....so sad or your business. I would never return, and advise people not to go there......Never said this about any resort I have been to before.....:(

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX