Occidental Caribe

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    We had a great time

    Reviewed by Janis on Feb 19, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    The beach is amazing as always in Punta Cana. The layout of hotel is excellent espeically if you stay in the 3340 area. Walk down the stairs or tak elevator and right at pool. Very short walk to beach. The beach snake bar is open until 5 am which is fantastic. The pizza parlour above the beach snack bar is a must. Personalized pizzas while overlooking the ocean. Every where you go in the evening there is entertainment, not just in one location. This makes it a very lively resort. People have said the people serving are not friendly. This was not the case, they were very friendly if you were. Even without a tip. This could easily be a 5 star if the updated the bathroom ( if functions just fine) and upgraded the buffet with a little more options or making sure they are cooking enough at one time. For example, shrimp on the grill. Chef would put about 15 on, and would be gone in 4 people. So you had to wait in a line, for next batch to be cooked. I have been to Rui and Grand Bahia several times in Punta Cana, and can say I would return to Occidental Caribe over them just based on layout of resort

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11466 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3.5

    Service

    Service-3.5

    Value

    Value-3.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great Service

    Reviewed by NikiMinaya() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Jose and Oscar were very nice they made me feel at home and made great pizza !!! We will be coming back. The workers we very nice and the activities are very fun. Also the workers at the Buffett el alcarza are very nice and so willing to help. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

    Friendly staff, reasonably clean, lots of amenities, fair food

    Reviewed by Laura S(Lake in the Hills, Illinois) on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    The staff were very friendly the entire trip. I always felt they wanted to make sure our stay was pleasant. Check-in was quick, but I wish they were more thorough on the amenities. Here is some info to know-you get a card that gets you a towel. You can exchange your towel about once a day for a fresh towel and to get a card back. You will need to turn that card in at check-out to avoid fees. The staff were really good about pickups and drop-offs for excursions. They always tracked when you left the resort even to walk to the strip mall down the street. Our room was decent. They didn’t do the best job cleaning/restocking but it was clean enough. The pools were great, the views were great, there was no seaweed on the beach. We did dancing, pool, trapezing, and used the included kayaks and snorkeling gear. The Michael Jackson Show was definitely the best show. The other performances had their good moments and their okay moments. The food was probably the biggest disappointment. We did not care for much other than the bread and fruit. It was really hard being vegetarian to try any other items, even the vegetable soup which is listed on the restaurant menus as vegetarian is made with chicken-I found that out the hard way when a chunk of chicken appeared on my spoon. We liked the Italian restaurant, the pizza place, and the Mexican restaurant the most. We never got to try the French restaurant due to it being closed on the weekends. You get to book restaurants daily. If you have a longer stay you can book multiple days in one day. We definitely recommend trying the restaurants if you can over the buffet. If you are unhappy with your meal you can always go to the buffet. There is always some kind of food open if you have any excursions that cause you to leave early in the morning or get back late. The activity schedule was not very accurate so just keep your eye out if you want to do activities and jump in whenever you feel like it. I don’t drink, but my partner does, and he could always get a drink whenever he wanted to, and they had didn’t specialty drinks available every day. We were able to get Wifi every day at the casino. If you don’t want to gamble they just have chairs you can sit in. You do have to be 18 or older to get in. The location was good, we felt very safe. I’m torn on if I would go back. We really like everything this resort had to offer and the cost was really great. We just heard such good things from other people about the food at other resorts that it makes us think we may want something different. The size was medium so it didn’t take to long to get place to place and you often got to see the same staff and they would recognize you. Remember to bring singles and fives to you can tip staff. Tipping is very much encouraged/expected in the Dominican.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Terrible Overall Experience

    Reviewed by 433meaganw() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Outdoor landscaping was well maintained and of course, the beach was gorgeous. That is about all I can say positive about the resort and overall stay. The room & property is very outdated & looks nothing like the online photos. The food was disappointing and I am a very open-minded eater. I found myself eating the same things every day in the buffet, only because I could count on those items being edible. You have to make reservations for the resort restaurants but found even stipulations in "rules' for making reservations. The "free mini-bar" in your room is a joke at best. If you want any "decent" service from staff, be ready to tip for every "inclusive" thing you order. DO NOT BOOK off property excursions within the resort destination services "Vacaciones Barcelo". My boyfriend got extremely sick and we had to cancel one of the two excursions we booked, which I canceled within the 24-hour window. Almost three weeks later, they have yet to submit the refund amount to my credit card company and I am having to dispute the charges. If you are going to do an excursion, Adventure Boogies was the best bang for your buck, but the resort destination services tried to charge me $130 for two people when other guests at the resort paid $100. I brought that to the booking agents attention "give me a deal for $100". I would travel to Punta Cana again, but I would not stay in a resort owned by this company, even if offered for free. I am not one to ever write reviews unless I am wowed by a great overall experience, but this was beyond disappointing and made for not a great vacation. Do your research before letting a "good deal" fool you too!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Happy at the Occidental Caribe

    Reviewed by Cathy S() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Was at Occidental Caribe last week. Beach is beautiful with lots of loungers. Take your own larger cup for drinks and some clips to hold your towel in place if you have clips. Pool is nice although I never got close enough to the pool bar to order a drink - is was busy with March break crowd. Buffet was ok. Could always find lots to eat. The restaurants were good. The Paris one took a long serving time but the others were good service and good food - Tokyo and Italian were my favourites. Book the a la cart restaurants as soon as you can after arriving to the resort. Our rooms were very nice. We were in building 4 on the 4th floor. You can hear people in the hallway if they are laughing but it wasn’t a big issue. Room was clean. Hit or miss with the mini bar. Always got water and some pop - not always beer or light coke or juice, but you can always get it at the bar. I did go to the gym once. Machines are old style and I decided walking the beach better than the stationary bike. We went parasailing right on our beach on the Thursday and it was fun. Also rode Mable which is a big couch being pulled across by a boat. Lots of laughs. The entertainment at night was ok, not great. I did go in the casino to use the wifi after 6. It worked fine the few minutes I was there.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    Top Notch Resort

    Reviewed by Scenic58077181524() on Mar 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We loved every aspect of this resort! The staff was exceptional. From the maids, to the bartenders, to the waiters and servers, and the day and nighttime entertainers, everyone was happy and smiling. They made us feel welcome from the moment we stepped off the bus until the moment we left to come back home. The food was great. We had the opportunity to book four a la cartes, as well as to check out the seafood and steakhouse a la carte which did not require a reservation. The Japanese restaurant was Teppanyaki - very fun! The chef outdid herself! The Mexican and Italian were also wonderful with great variety and tasty foods. We checked out the Paris restaurant as well. It was very slow in terms of service, but the food was decent and worth it. The beach always had chairs when we were looking for them, and we were always looking for 6 together. The pools even had a lot of chairs available as well. There were two pools - one with the spring breakers and swim up pool, and the other one more quiet, even though it was next to the kids pool, trapeze and rock climbing wall. We did the parasailing and the Great Big Mabel rides on the resort from the Marina staff and loved every second them both - but especially the Mabel! I recommend you check out the big bouncy couch - especially if you are a thrill seeker! Overall - wonderful trip to celebrate my parents' 40th wedding anniversary, my friend's birthday and St. Patrick's day!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX