Occidental Papagayo

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    T

    3*** at best!!! don't waste your money

    Reviewed by Traveler on Feb 16, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 1 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2015

    Trip Type: Couple

    This resort is not worth the money. In its day it may have been 4 star but not anymore. You have to wait in line for a half hour just to get to the buffet. The staff is doing a great job with the tools they have but the place is in need of a make over. The food is reheated from dinner to breakfast to lunch. The food is not bad but NOT 4-5 star. The whole place needs money bad. Deck chairs with worn out cloth, pealing paint, roof ties falling from the roof to Toilet paper holder falling off the wall in our room sliding door doesn't fully open. They all maybe small things but they should be charging 2 star rates for what they are offering. Go down the beach to Riu beach palace you will not be disappointed !! We booked with west jet travel, they are a great airline but they don't check up on the hotels they send you to. One last thing, when you get to the hotel they push hard to get you into a time share at the hotel. Looks like they are begging for cash to fix the place. This is the first revue I have done, so take my advice don't go, save your money!!!

    What to expect (based on 4219 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    It is a very boring resort, the staff is unfriendly,

    Reviewed by Adventure272516() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    They lie about what is going on, just because it’s on the schedule doesn’t mean it’s going to happen!! The swim up bar is the relaxing bar which is the dumbest thing I’ve ever heard of. The other pool bar you have to go get your drinks from the snack bar and they don’t really want you to come in wet so..... what are you going to do???? Change before you go get a drink??? Kareoke, doesn’t really happen, and the Disco is lame, terrible, horrible music and extremely loud!! The staff is unfriendly and doesn’t give you any information !!!! Just over all one of the worst resorts I’ve been too, and I’ve been to tons of them. Not good for the amount of money you spend !!! Very disappointing !!!!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-2

    We went to this hotel for our 10th anniversary.

    Reviewed by Inspire02273579193(Toronto, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a very good time The staff is super professional. From the reception to the maid. We were disappointed, just for the food quality and variety at the buffet restaurant. Also lack of towels at the swimming pool area. But every member of the staff made our time in there the best ever. Thank you to everyone

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Occidental grand Papagayo resort

    Reviewed by Explore33352604122(Windsor, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Love it there , great resort , but very hot in Costa Rica in April .the service was fantastic and also the whole staff was very conciderate and took the time to remember ur name where ever u went in the hotel and the grounds .

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Not What I Expected

    Reviewed by Steve H(Niagara Falls) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I just got back from a 10 night stay there with a deluxe bayview(which was amazing) so I'm writing this while fresh on my mind. 1) only time where I now believe my mom when she said she walked 5 miles to school uphill each way. It seems everywhere you want to go requires going uphill. They have shuttles that will take you anywhere on the property though. But walking did take away from my enjoyment of the resort. 2) Do NOT I mean do NOT buy advanced tours. Wait till you get there since the resort offers tours, SUNWING has tours and there are two guys(Ron & Mike I think) that sit in lawnchairs in the shade between the small pool and the beach and I'd go to them first to see if they'll set you up. Tell them the crazy Canadian that gave them chocolate sent you and you'll get the "wicked" smile from them for sure. They will match a trip just for you so if want to do zipline and see a slouth they'll figure something out. Also remember if you want to see a volcano you are at LEAST 3 hours drive one way and if you don't know about the "Costa Rica massage" you will. You'll never complain about your local roads again. And you are blowing one whole day of your vacation so make sure tour is "really" what you want 3) Bring a very good beverage container. I didn't and the one I bought there the ice lasted 5 minutes if that. Also saves on the plastic 4) bring a daypack/bag since because of uphill once you go someplace at the resort you'll be staying there a while. Also very handy for tours since if going to a volcano you might need rain gear & warmer clothes 5) you'll get lots of info right at the start - read it especially what nights the a la carte is offered - there are 3 Italian, Oriential, grill - if doing a day tour you won't be able to book an a la carte since can only book day of between 8 & 2 - so if want a certain one need to book around your tours - keep pages handy for reference 6) ask for a beach towel ticket right at the start - since towels are near main pool & the ticket you need in up 30+ stairs at reception 7) the buffet was good for me with enough selection always something & I'm picky - different theme each night - on info sheets you get - also if stay more than 7 days even the same theme has different food not the same every 7 days 8) entertainment most nights with different start times and themes - again on the sheets and just plan to go buffet alittle later and stay for the entertainment - saves those hill climbs 9) if have a question ask someone who's been there longer(ie. better tan than you have) 10) there is a beach but for the most part doesn't get much sun except for early morning - also at high tide really no beach - low tide a beautiful beach - sunset is amazing but at this time of year set behind a cliff - ask about an ATV tour for the sunset - only run when nothing else booked - nothing like watching a sunset drinking a beer looking down on Coconut beach with the locals who also go to same location!!! 11) Google what to pick to Costa Rica and they are pretty accurate and what I used as a guide depends what you plan to do on vacation - I took an ATV tour(booked through Ron/Mike) and that blew a set of clothes since so dusty when done - also do the 3pm-6pm ATV tour - I didn't and morning one WAY too hot 12) bugs not bad except for last two days - I brought 2 pen size Repel 40% deet - sprayed end of pool chair and my hat - problem solved 13) final thing "pura vida" although Spanish is a Costa Rica only saying - either Google or more fun ask someone(eg bartender) they will be happy to explain - I did and got a great lesson in the Costa Rica way of life P.S. - the Costa Rica people are amazing. I mean the resort people are amazing but they kind of have to be :) but on the tours I went on people sitting in front of their houses were waving and smiling...very cool. P.P.S - you have to pay $29US to leave the country but you need to pay BEFORE you can get your broading pass - I staying in line for borading pass only to be told I need to pay the $29 first - also have fill out 2 sections(your name & passport #) so have a pen - I didn't

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Good but could be great

    Reviewed by Daydream43410189282(St. Catharines, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We found this all inclusive good but a few things keep it from being great. Buffet is really small and limited offering. We actually walked through every night we didn’t have a reservation at one of the 3 reservation restaurants and ended up ordering room service. I would not stay here unless you go premium level.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-3

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX