Meliá Varadero

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    D

    NOT A 5 STAR Hotel - Best Western Equivalent

    Reviewed by DrNick on Apr 22, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: April 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    We recently returned after 7 days at the Melia. In no way can it be compared to true 5 star resorts\hotels in Europe of North America. It is more equivalent to a Best Western one finds in the US. Shame on WestJet for ranking it as a 5 star. The rooms are average, quite run down and need renovation. The exterior of the property is in terrible shape (which most of the photos dont show). Cleaning of our room was hit and miss. We constantly ran out of items, which we had to ask to be replaced. The food - ah the food. We tried the Tex-Mex at night and the food was uneatable. The steak was the worst piece of meat I have ever seen. Hands down the worst restaurant we have ever been to. We ate nothing after arriving on a 6 hour flight. Next say we tried the Trinidad at lunch. The only thing we could find appetizing was the chicken. It was passable. Then we tried the Grill or whatever it is called by the pool. Again the worst steak we have ever seen. It was as tough as leather. We hardly touched the food. So we gave up on the al la carte restaurants and ate at the buffet. At least out of all the items (most were unappetizing) we could find something to eat. However the food is not kept clean and the items that need to be cold (raw fish) are not kept cold only in cups on the counter. So we had to be careful. At the desert buffet I watched a little girl about 6 years old pick up a piece of cake, lick the top and then return it to the counter. Horrifying. No one noticed. I had to take it off the counter and give it to the cook. Yes of course the beach is nice, but it is not heads and shoulders above other beaches we have been to in the Caribbean and Mexico, which have far superior all inclusives.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated2 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience.

    Reviewed by Derek on Nov 22, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    I went here with my girlfriend for our anniversary and we were very impressed. The hotel was beautiful and very modern and clean. The service staff was great, although the degree of service was sometimes relative to whether or not we left a good tip, buy overall I would say the service was excellent. The food was great and generous as were the drinks and cocktails. We went with Westjet and their representatives were extremely friendly and helpful, the excursions offered were also great with professional and friendly staff. I have been to cuba three times and this was the best overall experience. The only negative was that one of the life guards on the beach kept coming up to me to try and sell me cigars. Eventually after a couple of days I gave in because they looked extremely authentic, but it turned out too good to be true, so in the end I was conned. This would be one thing if I was on the streets of Havanna, but a life guard at the resort? I really felt taken advantage of, so be warned NEVER buy cigars from anyone other than an authentic cigar dealer in Cuba. It is always a con.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6512 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    THREE TIMES A CHARM

    Reviewed by GREGLEGS(Barrie, Canada) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Our 10th visit to Cuba was the BEST so far! Visiting Cuba , and getting to know the people and country, is all about building a relationship.A relationship with people who are genuinely interested in who you are and from where you've come. 99% of Cubans have never had the opportunity to leave their country and see other places. They are not allowed to leave ( in general ), and are therefore very interested in YOU, and your life.My wife and I have fallen in love with these people . It is the safest place to travel! We feel safer there than in our own city. By Far !!! Our last three trips to varadero have taken us to the Melia Varadero. What a wonderful " home away from home ". The staff is friendly.The rooms are kept spotless. The food is plentiful and varied.The views are spectacular!...But....most importantly...The smiles...are genuine! These people truly appreciate the Canadian people and all that they bring to their beloved country. I'm never so proud to be Canadian, as when I am in Cuba, and get to see first hand , what a difference we make to their lives.What a privilege !

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    The Star of Varadero

    Reviewed by Mario L(Ontario, Canada) on Apr 14, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is one of my favorite Hotel in Cuba. Very classy, round designed beautiful ''Ocean view'' almost 75% . Entertainment is the very best with top Cuban musicians. Food is of the most highly quality at Buffet area. They have many other restaurant you can reserve and you will be treated royally. Bars everywhere with best drinks.

    Trip 7 for us

    Reviewed by Sbfrog(Halifax Regional Municipality, Canada) on Apr 13, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Another amazing week! The Level experience is the best upgrade you can make providing you with an exceptional staff, access to private dining areas and superior a la carte restaurants. The entire concierge staff are such professionals and special thanks to Carlos,Marian and Mario. Louisito and Hanoi in the Level bar/buffet made sure everyone had anything they needed including entertainment with card tricks. The special LEVEL area on the beach is also a great part of the package and Humberto takes such good care of everyone and is one of the hardest workers. We are already plannng our return next year and only disappointed Air Canada no longer flies direct from Halfax.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Not a Four Star Resort

    Reviewed by Naddia M() on Apr 11, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    So disappointed. This is a 3 star place. Maybe 3.5 at best if I’m kind. I’ve done my fair share of traveling and staying at all 3-5 star properties. I rarely write reviews but this one did me in. I guess the fact that the bed mattress was the thinnest, worst mattress I’ve ever slept on (actually, I didn’t get much sleep at all!) was too much. My husband and I both had sleepless nights and when we asked the staff they said all beds on property where the same. You could feel the coils. The pillow was flat and hard. Ugh. Really put a damper on our trip when you fly so far to get rest and you didn’t really rest well. If I wanted a hard bed with mediocre food and watered down drinks, we could have paid $50 a night for that elsewhere in Cuba, not $200. A hospital cot would have been better.

    Mother daughter trip

    Reviewed by Destination242636() on Apr 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Extremely clean hotel, staff are amazing. We upgraded to the Level and it was worth it. Umberto Reyes on the beach took such good care of us. Always smiling. The staff here are polite, well dressed and not one had any attitude. The food needs some TLC they lack spices and flavour but all in all lots of variety at the buffet and the a-la-carts were professional and very good.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX