Ocean Riviera Paradise

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    S

    New resort has to work out the kinks but, great for first attempt.

    Reviewed by Sherry on Mar 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    Food was great. Most enjoyed the outdoor entertainment in the courtyard at night. Bowling was fun. Some suggestions would be that they needed more servers on the beach and at the pool. Did not like that at 5 pm all bars at the beach and pool shut down. No where to get a drink except for the lobby. They should also add a smaller breakfast restaurant. Some people don't want the banging and clashing of the buffet and simply want a smaller selection of food, a coffee, and to hear the birds and the ocean in the morning. Also, it could just be that this resort is brand new but, if you are disabled or have problems walking, do not go to this resort. They have trolleys but, are not consistent with the timing. Sometimes, there were two or three going at once and other times, not one in sight and after waiting fifteen minutes, still no trolley. My husband has joint issues and walking the walk from the Eden building to the buffet or lobby was very hard on him. For that reason, we would not go back.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Very good restaurants and food but overall not a relaxing resort - better for the younger set

    Reviewed by John and Christine on Mar 04, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Food selection and quality were excellent as were the a-la-carte options available. The resort was however very noisy with loud music and general disturbances from activities being heard across the resort from the pool areas. The "Adults Only" El Beso accommodations were the most noisy and disruptive in the whole resort and we were forced to move to the Daisy Childrens' or the Privilege pools to find at least some level of peace and quiet. We would recommend that the "Adults Only" designation be renamed or otherwise described by the hotel and by WestJet. In addition, we would not recommend this resort for "Seniors". The front desk staff were poorly trained and clearly not comfortable dealing with customers - accordingly, they were very inflexible and not at all accommodating. Securing a change of room because of problems with allocated rooms is virtually impossible. We had to enlist the help of the local BD Travel and WestJet reps in order to secure a move away from a pool front room in El Beso at which the balcony was within meters of the pool DJ's, sound system and loud drunken activities! We must thank Katja Grimmig BD Travel and Jason Hawes WestJet for their tireless and effective help and support with our "hotel" problems.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated2 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    S

    Great resort, awesome experience for our first family vacation to Mexico.

    Reviewed by Swanny68 on Feb 14, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2017

    Trip Type: Large group

    We were a little worried going in after reading the reviews on their Facebook page. Once there we were glad we came, everything was great. Our family really enjoyed our time there, food was great, pool and beach we totally enjoyed. We would go back there no problem, same with the others we were traveling with. The resort had lots to offer for what we expected and were looking for. The only hiccup was the almost 3 hour delay leaving Calgary, but things happen and we did get there and totally enjoyed our week.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 9663 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our review as H10 members

    Reviewed by Angeljean J() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Alright heres my review as we just left yesterday: *please remember everyone has different taste and reviews and this is our honest review * ** we are H10 members and have been to Mexico the past 9 years.. Overall resort itself: very pretty, smaller which we like still a good size but we've been to much bigger resorts and also smaller this in in the middle range. Clean front desk/guest service people were great. We were approached when we got there about the time share but we firmly told them no thank you and we were not bothered the rest of the week. Room: el beso top floor jacuzzi room 1445 : beautiful absolutely beautiful, but our shower both upstairs and down was not warm at all so cold showers but with the heat and stuff we just toughed it out as we are ones not to complain alot about small stuff even though we paid just as much as everyone else we know their busy so if it's something we can look over we will.. the jetted bath tub omg be careful it will burn you massively hot and I love a good hot bath takes forever I'd say over 30 min to fill... jacuzzi takes forever to fill so once you get there I suggest you turn it on right away. Ours did not stay hot in fact got cooler the longer we were there but we hardly used it because we were so busy doing other stuff. The air conditioner sucked if you weren't laying on bed under the fan it was like you didnt have ac on. That was more important to my husband then me as he hates sleeping when it's hot. It was bearable but not what you expect. Our last night after being at pool all day and around resort all night we went back to our room around 11pm and found out that our ac actually broke the power at sometime during the day surged and it messed up ac do after drink eating and walking around in the sun all day and all you want to do is go to sleep we had maintenance working on ac for around 2 hours and we had to call them twice. I noticed the next day when I went to meet with the bell shop to take bags to front it had surged again and was broke again. Again the room itself is beautiful the view amazing just make sure you check all the "basic little things" Food: not impressed breakfast buffet was not good, and when we are in Mexico that is one of our biggest meals of the day and we both hardly touched the food; it was greasy or not very tasteful Ale caret: we liked the steak house wasnt the best one we've been to in Mexico but it was good We did not eat a Japanese which is the only one you have to book reservations too as some people we talked to had waited in like from 10:30am ( you can only book between 11:30-12:30) and they got one of the last spots and it was super early so we decided not to waste an hour standing in line to book. But I will say it was packed every night. The mexican restaurant: horrible the people we were with got their special beer and was not told it was extra charge and was charged 30 dollars to their room. Food was not good at all and I ordered your basic steak and chicken fajitas.. husband got some seafood bowl and it was mostly what tasted of fish sticks stuck with veggies in a lava bowl. Italian restaurant: not good I love Italian food and after we ate a few bites we went over to the route 66 as so did 3 other couples that were in the Italian restaurant also so I take it they were still hungry or didnt like it either. Route 66: I liked but I got fried pickles and a burger can't go to wrong with those..husband wasn't impressed but be thought his shrimp roll would be warm and it was ice cold. Snack bar at el beso pool good, we enjoyed it and both loved the jalapeno chili husband thought it was queso sauce and loaded his nachos up with it becareful it's hot we love hot stuff and loved it but it's hot. Sushi there was fine it was your basic easy quick sushi. Drinks: order 2 at a time if your at the elbeso pool bar because if your not in the group right in front of bartenders your more then likely gonna get looked over a few times. We actually had one of us sit and wait at pool bar and if they came buy order us 2 drinks while the other person got out of pool and went around to the other side that's not inside the water and get 2 drinks which I usually went got them and back in pool before he even ordered. That system worked great lol. Willie the pool bartender was good. Ver slow service everywhere you went and we even tip US dollars and it was still very slow. Beach: we didnt spend really anytime there to give a yes or no review I wont complain about seaweed and yes there was alot but they were always working on it and its mother nature it's a bad year everywhere for seaweed I did notice once you got past it a bit the water was fine..rocky I suggest water shoes. Over all: beautiful resort it's a newer resort so it needs to work out their problems like everyone else does.we probably wont return to this resort unless we got a decent price or we take our son it does seem they do really well with kids and the kids pool with the slide and stuff and the snack area would keep the kids busy all day lol.I will say we stayed at their sister resort last year the ocean maya royal (adult only) and we loved it. It's small and are able to take care of you quicker and better. What we did like about it was it was beautiful, food at buffet other then breakfast was good. Guest service was great, friendly, small in size, if you ask they will up grade you to better room if they have it. Quick to try to help with anything. Clean. Over all 3.5 starts out of 5 from us.

    Sakura restaurant

    Reviewed by relaxzzing() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Be sure to make reservations, because getting in the same day is impossible. However, the dinner experience is worth it. Mainly our chef, Raphael, was great. He was very entertaining and attentive. Everything tasted wonderful. If you go here maybe ask for Raphael, because we have been to other hibachi restaurants where there chef wasn’t as good and it makes for a subpar experience. Raphael was wonderful and very talented.

    Ok resort

    Reviewed by QueenBee896(St. John's, Canada) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Dont get me wrong, I enjoyed my stay here. But I likely wouldn't return. The beach, ahhh what can I say.... I didnt heed the reviews and ended up disappointed... I couldn't utilize the beach at all, it wasn't swimmable, seaweed everywhere.... not the largest or nicest beach by any stretch. I didnt find the resort that nice in general.... food ok, people very friendly....smaller than I liked. Adult (Besos) loud and full of drunks by early afternoon. Thankfully I got most of my quiet time in as Im a 6am gal. Anselmo the bartender was amazing, excellent service. Drinks were fabulous. I wouldn't recommend this resort but I encourage others to check other reviews and judge for themselves. The beach really spoiled it for me sadly.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-2

    Service

    Service-3

    Holiday so far!

    Reviewed by Bluefairy1955(Gretna, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We arrived at ocean Paradise on Saturday 10 August 2019. Like another reviewer, we too have been to Mexico 4 times, mainly for the excellent service we have always received, so we were expecting the same from this hotel. This has certainly not been our experience so far! Party of 12 family members for a very special occasion. Firstly 2 of the 6 rooms had been changed even though they had been booked from last October! One of the rooms had 1 bed for mum and 17 year old son and the other was for a family of 4 who were moved away from the Daisy family section to the beach section. Finally elbowed another bed into room after much fuss and following a 10 hour flight it was not what we needed. Had to wait a further 4 days for another room. Steak House and Bar 66 have refused to seat us together so we have had to sit two tables of six. Also cannot book for more than 8 in Japanese restaurant. Buffet restaurant does not have a problem with these numbers and neither in the main does the Italian but it means our experience of the other restaurants is limited and at times unpleasant. So much for family values! Agree with other reviewer, much up selling! We had hoped to make this an annual event but it will definitely not be at this hotel! We are here another week so watch this space as I will certainly be post my final impressions!

    Ocean Paradise Mexico

    Reviewed by maggienick22() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My family and I (the nine of us) went to the Steakhouse at the Ocean Paradise resort and Eduardo made our dinner the best possible. He was so kind and attentive all throughout the night! We will definitely be back

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX