Paradisus Cancun

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    S

    Very disappointing

    Reviewed by Sue Mundy on Nov 27, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Wedding

    WE STAYED AT THIS HOTEL FOR A WEDDING. WHEN WE ARRIVED AND CHECKED IN WE WERE INSTRUCTED TO GO TO A WOMAN NEAR THE DOOR. WE DID THAT, AND SHE WANTED TO TALK TO US ABOUT A "CLUB". WE SAID WE WERE NOT INTERESTED AND WE WERE HUNGRY. WE JUST WANTED TO GO EAT. SHE STILL TALKED, AND WE KEPT SAYING ABOUT THE PRESENTATION. WE STARTED GETTING FRUSTRATED AND TOLD HER NO WE JUST WANT TO EAT, WE WERE ON A LONG FLIGHT AND WE WERE STARVING. SHE THEN WALKED US TO THE NEAREST RESTAURANT, AND ON THE WAY CONTINUED TO TALK ABOUT A PRESENTATION. I WAS PUT OFF RIGHT AWAY. I FOUND THE STAFF VERY FRIENDLY, BUT THE VENUE FOR THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS LACKING. THEY PUT UP WHITE CHAIRS AND THEN THE REST HAD TO STAND. THERE WERE 3 SHOWS IN THIS BAR THAT WERE LIKE THAT. THEN THEY MOVED THE SHOWS TO THE POOL AREA. THAT WAS MUCH SMARTER. NO ONE SEEMED TO KNOW WHAT THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS AND WHERE IT WAS AND EVEN WHAT TIME IT STARTED. THIS IS THE FIRST ALL INCLUSIVE HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED AT THAT DIDN'T HAVE NIGHTLY ENTERTAINMENT - AT A SET TIME AND IN A SET PLACE. I FOUND THIS TO BE VERY DISAPPOINTING. THERE WAS NO ENTERTAINMENT STAFF - THAT I SAW. ONE DAY THEY PUT UP A BLOW UP SLIDE BY THE POOL FOR THE KIDS, BUT THAT WAS IT. NO ONE DOING WATER AEROBICS, PLAYING VOLLEY BALL OR ANYTHING ELSE TO KEEP THE GUESTS ENTERTAINED. OVER ALL I WOULD RATE THIS HOTEL AS A 3*. NOT AT ALL HAPPY WITH OUR STAY AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL TO ANYONE I KNOW. One more thing - Best Day was the rep for us. They did not greet us at the airport. We had to find them in the parking lot. We went to the orientation the next morning and the pamphlet we were given was in Spanish. This should have been in English so we could read it.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated1 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    B

    We had a great stay and spent the majority of our time at the pool and beach. Great staff! Great food!

    Reviewed by Brian and Joan on Dec 10, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2017

    Trip Type: Couple

    Awesome location, about 20 minutes from the airport. The pool and beach are terrific. Majority of staff were friendly and professional - Vasti Lopez with the entertainment crew and Flor serving cocktails around the pool were first rate. The a la carte restaurants (we tried 6) were terrific - great food, great service. We will be going back to this hotel.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 12566 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    The A team

    Reviewed by havanapete() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family and I just stayed at Paradisus Cancun for the first time, and we were not that impressed. I will say that the rooms were clean and AC was good, but as for the lobby and the rest of the building, there is no AC at all. I will say that the staff was excellent, especially the A team that took care of us (Alfredo, Abraham, and Alejandro). The food was good, especially at Vento, Blue Agave, and Mole.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Best service!

    Reviewed by christineN4644XW(Ancaster, Canada) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The service sets this resort apart. We have been to many, and this by far is the best. We were recently at the new Royalton Suites further up the strip, but if you want a less crowded feel, come here. This resort has a lot of beach front property. Highly recommend Royal Service. Butler (Leyner was our wonderful Butler) will make dinner reservations and reserve Bali beds for you. The exclusive adult only pool, beach area, restaurant (La Palapa - great food - should be open for dinner and evening drinks) and beautiful lobby/bar/snack area are amazing and worth the upgrade. Staff can’t do enough (thank you Julio, Orlando, Cesar and Valeria). Beach is much better than Mayan Riviera area. Turquoise waters, no rocks in water, less seaweed. Food is decent. They just closed the buffet and one other restaurant for renovations. Hopefully food will improve. The common lounge area where most restaurants and bars are located (building 3) is large and open, therefore not air conditioned. Some restaurants are enclosed and have AC. Need an Italian restaurant. Overall a great stay. We never return to the same resort but will most likely return here.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Best Family Vacation Ever!!

    Reviewed by tiffany795() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was my second time here with my family and we had a blast! The first day was a little rough. My mom recently had spinal cord surgery and we had to convince her to come on this trip. After a long day of traveling walking into our room with no AC was tough for her. We called the operator and they ended up bringing my mom a fan and they got the AC up and running that night. After that it was smooth sailing! My family and I have never had so much fun or laughed so hard during this vacation. Amazing food, wonderful environment, beautiful pools and beach.. I could go on!!! Our favorite spot this year which we didn’t know about the last time was Coco’s bar! We went there almost every night and it was fantastic! We had the best service ever with the lovely Karina!!! She was super attentive and friendly! Definitely our favorite of the whole resort! We got to celebrate her birthday and had a great time with her as our server! Thank you so much Karina for everything! We also had a very pleasant experience with Yvonne who helped rent the pool cabanas and Jesus who served us! We rented the cabana on our last two days and they gave us two bottles of champagne! Not to mention the one they brought to our room on the last night! This resort is very close to the city life and had a great time going out! The only thing I would change is adding more AC to the resort. Other than that I would definitely come back again with my family or maybe some friends regardless! For anyone looking to have an amazing getaway in Cancun, do not pass up the opportunity to stay here because you won’t regret it! Paradisus Meliá thank you for everything we all had the memories of a lifetime and hope to return soon!!!!

    HOT & FILTHY

    Reviewed by StopPlaying123() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Arroved Tuesday August 12th.... The lobby was an inferno. Not a little hot, but Mayan Aztec "you aint made for this heat" HOT! Its the hottest Ive ever been INSIDE a building I literally sweated all my make up and eyelashes off while I waited to be checked in... LITERALLY! ( the lobby wasnt hot like that everyday but Friday morning at 8 am in the morning is was back to blazing HEAT hot in the lobby. I came in sweating and they sent me off in a sweaty mess as well. So lets talk about my 5 star resort room. My first room was FILTHY! Walked in the door and the odor of mildew and the sweet scent of past quest sweat wafted into my nostrils. I looked around the room which had obviously outlived its youth and tried to mentally move past the dread that was now seeping through me. I went into denial. Hey I was in Cancun, like how bad can it be. Just unpack I said and go to the pool! So I threw my suit case down opened it up and thats when I got a good look at the couch. Not only was the frame OBVIOUSLY broken and you couldnt sit on it, it was stained in a way that only people with small children or drunken relatives would understand. Looking at the couch mad me start to scratch and itch like I had become allergic to it. I thought it was my imagination and then my roomate started slapping herself and screaming.... the room had gnats, lots of them! Oh by the way the outlets in the room didnt work as well. FInally I accepted I was not going to make it to the pool to cool off after I had literally melted in the lobby the first time and went back to request another room.... hours later we got another room after the manager tried to convince me to sleep in the filthy stankin gnat infested room and he would upgrade me the next day. I told him to get me transport back to the airport and explain to my company who was paying for this trip why I wouldnt be able to attend the functions. By the way the pictures of hanging frabric is actually from the box spring in the 1st room, so its fair to say the bedding was less than desirable. So the second room was clean and defintely more updated... I still wouldnt call it luxurious but I didnt feel like I was sleeping in a cest pool. However, workers from the hotel begin to use the room directly next door from mine as a staging area for their spray painting projects LITERALLY. There were all out on the patio and had the door to the room open because apparently they were chocking as well from the industrial spray paint machine they were using. Unfortunately they didnt give us mask as well so we started to choke. So back to the inferno, im sorry I mean Lobby I go so we wait for another room.... rooms they initally said THEY DID NOT HAVE! Its past 10 pm when we get a decent room... we are still in the clothes we flew in and having been sweating profusely in from the moment we walked into this Hot Box of a resort. No pool... no nothing but back in forth to the lobby. We never had a chance to fix ourselves up for the company dinner and arrived over an hour late. Did I mention I was suppose to give a speech? Anywho I was happy to at least sleep in a clean room that night. I expectactions had been drastically lowered. Oh by the way.... they owe me a new IPHONE. My phone would charge sporatically on and off and sometime not at all. Then the second day I took the cord out of the ipone and literally found soot around the connection like it had been burnt. Now my phone wont charge at ALL! I checked with other people in my group who experienced the same thing. Then the last day I overheard the people at the front desk say that its not an AC problem its and electrical problem that they are working on that is affecting the AC. Which makes sense im sure my phone took a power surge and was fried. There are multiple people from my group with their own individual horror story. I will let them share that independently. Believe me whoever at corporate who booke the hotel is about to catch some heat from some VERY UNHAPPY top producers! Please puruse the attached pictures at your leisure!

    Awsome Stay--Royal Service

    Reviewed by noodlesverge(Silver Spring, Maryland) on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    (Cross posted to Royal Service Paradisus Cancun) We had the great experience of staying at Paradisus Cancun (Royal Service) the last week of July and had a FANTASTIC time! We are planning on returning again in January! Every team member we interacted with was pleasant and eager to help. A special shout out to our Concierge Leynar! Leynar checked in with us every day, set up our dinner reservations at the places and times we requested, got us set up in a bali bed every day of our visit, and made sure our mini-fridge was full of snacks like M&M’s and Oreos! Arrival: We arrived at the resort around 1:00 PM, were escorted over to Pyramid 5 and after check-in/orientation (a disguised sales pitch) were informed that our room was not ready yet. We were parked at the La Palapa restaurant for about 90 minutes in the hot weather still in our travel clothes. In the meantime, Leynar informed us our room had been upgraded to a suite! Excited, we went to check it out and it was a suite, but on the ground level with absolutely no view of the ocean. We did not want that room and it seemed like it was a bother to get them to change our rooms, first we were told there was not another room, then maybe a room would be available in a few hours and finally a room opened up on the 2nd floor which was the category of room we originally booked. Rooms: Once settled into the room, it was spectacular—the bed was comfortable, the bathroom spacious, the shower was awesome. The room was serviced every day—there was even a knock at the door every night at about 6 asking if we needed extra towels! The AC struggled to keep the room as cold as we wanted but it was still cool and comfortable. Pool Service/Beach: We were lucky enough to get a bali bed every day for our entire stay. Your concierge will make sure you are on the list at least 2 days and you can always check after 12:00 noon for any empty /unclaimed beds. Pool drink service was spotty, but that wasn’t a big deal for us, we can get our own drinks and snacks—sure the staff doesn’t get a big tip at the end of the day, but we don’t end up getting hammered either. The adult pool is heated and very quiet—no music. Beach was very nice—quite sandy and a good distance to the water. The water was ROUGH that week, so we only spent limited time getting tossed around by the surf. There was only a day or 2 that the Sargassum made the water gross but Melia does a great job of cleaning the beach compared to the resorts on either side. Food/Drink All the restaurants and food options were generally on the OK to good side. We utilized the buffet for breakfast (omelet bar), LaPalapa and Blue Agave for lunches, and Market Grill, Fuego, Mole and Vento for dinners. Fuego and Mole are inside with AC, while Market Grill and Vento are outside and very warm. The servers at Market Grill were great and would bring around whatever meats you wanted. Make sure you try the grilled pineapple for dessert! We did not need to venture off the resort for dinners. Tip—there’s a gelato bar in Pyramid 3 open from 4-6 every day—but you can get the same gelato off the buffet all day! If you are staying in Royal Service in Pyramid 5, there is a small buffet set up that serves continental breakfast and snacks through the day up until about 10 PM. There is also a top shelf bar where the attendant can make you a great drink! Shows: Shows were hit or miss. They moved some out to the pool area outside Pyramid 4, but a lack of seating made the shows tough to watch/sit through. Some shows were moved to the Avenue Bar inside Pyramid 3, but the venue was sweltering and not a great place to watch a show—again no chairs and literally sweat dripping down your back. We don’t go to a resort to watch shows but we find them fun to catch and often enjoy them. These could be better or be in a place that has AC and more space. One night the pool area was shut down for a private party which was awkward as resort guest walked through looking for the show or a drink from the pool bar. Signs could have been used to point guests in the right direction. Overall: A great time was had. There were some things we thought could changed to make more sense, but they were small things. We did not venture over to the family side/pool. We did not use the Spa. We did become Circle members as we have stayed at Melia resorts a lot over the past few years. Remember to tip the staff—a few bucks here and there make a difference and you will get better service. Don’t be that obnoxious person that brings a big speaker to the pool to blast your music. Nobody wants to hear it and nobody will tell you to turn it down. If you want to crank it up, head over to the other pool, they have a DJ and a swim up bar! If you are able to swing it—go Royal Service. I think our experience would have been wholly different if we stayed on the regular side.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX