Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
    6. Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort review

    What to expect (based on 7207 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    False Advertising

    Reviewed by Mickie520() on May 14, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    We were here a few years ago and really enjoyed our stay so I decided to come back for my husband's 60th birthday - booked the same Suite Swim-Out room as before. Unfortunately, when we checked in we were told the side our room was on was completely closed except the rooms. When I asked about changing to the other side I was told the only swim-out room available during our stay was the honeymoon suite and it would cost an additional $1000. We initially decided to keep the original room but when we got to the room and went out to swim-out pool it was dead quiet except the construction crew right across from us. We went back to the front desk and asked to change rooms. So we are now on the other side where there are people and activity (and no construction) but we had to give up the swim-out pool and didn't get a refund. Their website says nothing about half the resort being closed or that the suite we booked would be on the closed side which in my opinion is false advertising. So beware when booking at this resort - things aren't what they seem. Original front desk person was not helpful at all (Itenas) but Aldolfo was helpful when we changed rooms. Also Orlando with Amstar is great! I feel bad since we're here celebrating a milestone birthday and it fell short of our expectations.

    2021 Pandemic Travel Hot Location Alert with FULL REVIEW!

    Reviewed by AB_NYC911(New York City, New York) on May 13, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Well another season..Another Vacation...Another HONEST FULL Review from AlexBTravelz comin in Hot! If you follow my reviews you will notice that this is my 3rd trip since December 2020 after a long break due to Covid-19. Well after December and mustering the energy and courage to travel again I realized it isn't so bad IF you play it safe and compromise on the things you can and CANNOT do during a global pandemic. So after a successful trip to the beautiful country of MEXICO (TRS Coral) in Dec 2020 and an instant boomerang back in Jan 2021 (Majestic Elegance Costa Mujeres) I searched for yet another location in the country of MEXICO. Now im sure your asking...why Mexico...Again...Well here is why in a nutshell: 1. Worlds Best Affordable ALL INCLUSIVE Resorts 2.Top Notch Hospitality 3.Variety of Resort Options 4. Safe & Easy Travel Restrictions So now that we have that out of the way lets get to the nitty gritty of this new location exploration that is the PLATINUM YUCATAN PRINCESS RESORT in the beautiful Playa Del Carmen, Mexico! As always I flew from NY via JetBlue to Cancun,MX and landed with ease....Customs was a breeze. I gotta admit....I LOVE this Pandemic Traffic...In and Out of Customs in less than 15min! As I ALWAYS say here is a MUST travel tip...BUY A BOTTLE f your favorite SPirits at the First Duty Free you see located by baggage claim! Why? Because even with All Inclusive drinks seem on the "Lighter Side" and its always good to have some TOP shelf bev in your room for the night and at the Beach regardless of service! So after setting my standard I made my way to the exit past all of the attempted excursion enthusiast and stopped at the Bar located outside of the terminal for my usual "Vacation Size" Margarita with 5 shots of Patron Silva "Yeaaa Yerrr". Another Travel Tip (Comin In Hot) In these Covid times spring for a PRIVATE shuttle. I Usually use BD Travel but this time I used CanCun Airport Travel and booked a Private Luxury SUV. Very decent Price and seats up to 5 passengers. (Check my seperate review). Upon arrival I was greeted by the bellman who directed me to a sanitation stand located front and center. I wiped my feet (With shoes on) and used the hand sani dispenser as I had my temp checked. After a greenlight I was directed into the check-in facility. Now lets NOTE that those who booked the PLATINUM section should be sent to a private Check-in along with a welcome drink etc...This DID NOT Happen. Due to covid that area was closed and the general Check-in desk was the only area in operation. I mention this because with MOST travel booking websites these additional amenities are listed and have yet to be corrected in these Covid Pandemic times. After a brief check in we were escorted to our room....From first observation I can say the grounds are exceptional! Very clean and sleek with a modern design. My accommodations consist of the Platinum Swim Up Suite and lets say this....It. Is. Nice! I am a beach guy and often shy from the pool but I must say the all around design of the swim up, space and all was great! And the Swim up IS A MUST i will explain why shortly. After arriving in the suite the layout complete with double suite, double rain shower with frosted glass, deep oval bath with king size bed and decor was great. Complete with adequate lighting great flooring etc the sliding door out to the deck into the pool is spacious and sleek. Each room is equip with a stair and rail into the pool an the deck included 2 plastic modern decor lounge lay out beds and 2 chairs. My only gripe about the room which is a huge CON is although the minibar includes 4 cans of beer, 2 pepsi, 2 orange soda, 4 seltzer and 4 bottle still water it includes ZERO snacks. And we all know that some chips at 2 in the am after a day of drinks is essential! Yes they have room service but be advised for a resort of this caliber the options are low and take 45min minimum! Other than that the rooms are beautiful. I did notice 3rd floor rooms which featured balcony jacuzzis were unoccupied...seemed as if most people booked swim ups. FOOD For the "Foodies" Sorry but I must disappoint. It seems not only was the resort operating at a low occupancy rate (say 40% max) so was the staff percentage in operation. So with that said only 1 main restaurant was open per night. And the good news is with the exception of 1 restaurant "TAO" no reservations are needed which is a plus! So lets start with TAO. Japanese Hibachi with a great ambiance but if you are a Covid scary like me the 8-10 maskless pple per table is a bit no bueno. I was able to secure a corner end and the show was underway. Now I gotta be honest...if you have been to a hibachi abroad you gotta know just like most the food is always GREAT but the show is Always the same....In sequence here we go: 1. Squirt Squirt Big Flame 2. Everybody Say "Ooooou Oooooou" 3. Here comes 5min of spatula flippin 4. Rice comin in hot followed by Spatula with egg trick 5. Somebody open ya mouth so the chef can flick some rice all in ya mouth LOL 6. Chop Onion....Volcano followed by Chu Chu Train 7. Make Rice into a Heart add spatula for heartbeat simulation 8. Finally cook food and add more request for "Ooooou oooou" Chant 9. Serve Food And thats that. Was it a great vibe? Yes. The Chef was fantastic..Food was good and the service from the staff was attentive and worth the evening. Other than that I visited "AROMA" on 2 occasions. I will say the decor from this facility was great and the staff was A1! Menu was fantastic! A must is the Lobster Bisque Soup and the Rock Salt Shrimp which was Beautiful. As I mentioned before the staff is short so don't be surprised if u see the same staff member from earlier in the dy switching hats...so with that said Benedicto, Eli & Miguel were OUTSTANDING at the restaurants! .... My Travel People you all know I pride myself of Tipping generously...This trip was no exception. TRAVEL TIP #3: Tip Well and Receive the perks! Other than this I did not visit any other restaurant at the resort. Wasn't comfortable with buffets so I passed. I did in fact order room service a few times. Menu options in my opinion..too small. Spaghetti, Pizza, Salad, Veg with Chicken and a Burger.... Nope. For the caliber of this resort gotta upgrade this ASAP! Not only was the menu small the food was "OK" as in if im Drink it will satisfy me goin to bed after eating but NOT delicious at all. Its as good as 2 letters...O and K. i suggest a serious Upgrade. I did step out of the resort 1 night and went to a restaurant called "HARRYS STEAK HOUSE & RAW BAR"...I will review seperate lets just say 10 FREAKIN STARZ! BEACH The Beaaaaach...Ohhh the Beach! Well the intro was fantastic. A long wooden bridge takes u threw a heave marsh wooded area into a sound that introduces you to the shore.Now lets be clear...The resort is Huge but the Platinum Yucatan ADULTS section is not as massive. So the beach is ok but not huge and not nearly as great as my last 2 resorts. First things first.... The beach is not wide but manageable. If your looking for plush white sands...not here.If you want crystal clear water..not here. But what you will get is some beach lounge chairs (No Cushions) with wooden and stray top umbrellas...Nice views....Background march that has warning signs of wildlife and LOTS and LOTS of often smelly Seaweed. Now listen As mush as I travelled I gotta say....I have never seen so much seaweed in my life! Is this the resorts fault?...No but I do feel that they have not made the effort to hinder the abundance as needed. The pile up in INSANE to the point that if you are on the adult side beach the water is NOT an option. Is the beach ok...yeah but not one time did i see the beach combed for debris. I found a motor oil bottle and a little more trash for my taste washed up on the shore, They have staff tirelessly trying to reduce the amount but I have been to resorts with the same problem

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-3

    Buffet

    Reviewed by RaKaia_13(Antigua Guatemala, Sacatepequez, Guatemala) on May 12, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The buffet service is fantastic! Great selection, best tacos and best service, particularly the staff Bryan, Roussenberg, Fernanda and Daniel. Thank you for always making it memorable for me and my friends and clients! Hasta la próxima!

    Nice Relaxing Stay

    Reviewed by I996LJkylew(Houston, Texas) on May 09, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really enjoyed my time at the resort. While the world is still emerging from the pandemic and opening slowly, my wife and I made the trip to Playa and found this resort to be a very nice Adults Only destination. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful at all times, with a special shout out to Israel. Each time we needed a taxi or a ride to the larger resort, he was there to help us and always remembered our names.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Excellent resort

    Reviewed by definitiveaqua(Tampa, Florida) on May 07, 2021

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Loved this resort! After staying at the Grand we went to Tulum and decided to come back and try the Platinum side. We were not disappointed the upgraded food, alcohol, and service was well worth it. Check-in was fast and all the staff very friendly. The property is beautiful and with Platinum allows you access to all of the other restaurants, pools and bars at the Grand Princess. Plenty of entertainment during the day at the pool. 24 hour food and alcohol access. Excellent food from the buffet and the Hibachi restaurant is highly recommend.