Occidental Tamarindo

3.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 3 and 4 stars. 3 star - Standard accommodation with basic facilities and limited services. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    A

    the daily activities and evening enterainment was the best i ever experienced, with the dancers at broadway level of quality, amazing!!!!!!!

    Reviewed by Anakyt on Feb 16, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    great hotel with an amazing helpful staff, great delicious food, entertainment was above any other resort, loved the location, the beach, a perfect holiday.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    D

    We loved our stay. The manager of food and beverage is amazing "William" very interested in making the stay enjoyable

    Reviewed by Doyle on Jan 30, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: January 2015

    Trip Type: Large group

    We had a great time! We just got back and we would go again to this same resort. We have NEVER said this before. the rooms were clean, the food was excellent. the pool warm and lots of room around the pool area to get out of the sun if you had too much. All in all perfect!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3443 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Good food great stay by the price!

    Reviewed by WalterR236(San Jose, Costa Rica) on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I was concerned about the negative feedback on food but I can tell you probably the Hotel changed chef as the food was very good. Staff in general very kind and friendly. Deserts can improve but are fine. Great performance by the hotel dancers. The hotel ia just right by the price!!

    I wish I went to a different hotel

    Reviewed by cmchevez() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    Zero customer service and satisfaction, zero maintenance, food not good unless you go and pay at the restaurant a la carte, food and drinks very limited and poor, bugs and bedbugs everywhere, things in the room on the brink of breaking, rust everywhere, our safe in the room useless and when we called to get it fixed they had no idea what to do, promised to get back to us and never heard from them again, very bad follow up customer service, wifi useless and poor, you can only connect one device per room, seriously? Housekeeping took our towels every day without replacing them, we had to call front desk to get towels, in other words stay away from this place people.

    Totally waste of time and money.!!!

    Reviewed by LorianaLopez(Spotsylvania, Virginia) on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    My experience was very bad in this Hotel, to be honest it doesn't look like a Barceló. Very poor Costumer Service and very poor maintenance in the hotel. My room had a very strong smell of mold and the showerhead was almost hanging from the ceiling... Housekeeping took the towels from the bathroom but they never replaced it we had to call the reception and ask for it again... the happened two times in 3 days... The lamps in the room are rusted, the wifi is so bad and just one device can be connected at the time, the hallways are dusty all the time and the backdoor of the room is just lock with a metal pin. My car was covered in monkey poop allover and nobody takes care of that... They do not invest on applying insecticides, the mosquitoes and spiders and flies are everywhere... a repellent have to be your best friend if you want to spend time in the pool or balconies or Restaurants in that place... It was also very surprising for me that they do not have a kids menu or a kids friendly menu in the Restaurants... they expect kids eating like adults very disappointed... My brother had an issue in his room, something very nasty and with a horrible smell drained from the ceiling thru the curtain after a storm and housekeeping took forever to come to the room also they couldn't explain to us what was that and they even tried to show interest in what was that... they said that maybe was poop from a raccoon and that was awful. My brother asked for another bedroom and they changed him to a room across the disco and show area... he couldn't sleep until 1am for the noise.. A very important situation there was the day of the storm, you can hear the thunders in the beach and there weren't any life guard in the pool... people still inside the pool with kids and everything without any concern about the lighting and thunders very close by... For me was my first and last time in this Hotel... It doesn't represent a Barceló for me.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-1

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-1

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Horrible Customer Service!!

    Reviewed by V4990QIlaurac(San Jose, Costa Rica) on Jun 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			1
			 out of 5

    I could not even make my reservation effective!! The problem started when they could not give us parking, we needed private parking or at least secure because we had an ATV. The fun fact is that I specifically called asking for it and they assured me they had. So when I requested to talk to upper management, Ana came and offered a very poor solution and when we did agree with it she did not hesitate to cancel our reservation! She was almost inviting us to leave!! I would not recommend this place... There are certainly better places in Tamarindo to stay!

    Just OK....

    Reviewed by tracytaustx(Austin, Texas) on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed the the Occidental May 2019, and it was just OK. The rooms could of been cleaner and the all inclusive was hilarious. The glasses they used for draft beer and all mixed drinks I believe were 6 oz plastic cups. I'm not even kidding. It was like the size of a sippy cup minus the lid! The beach access was nice and the chairs and shade was nice but I don't think that I have to go back. We have visited CR numerous times and this was our least favorite spot. Tamarindo is nice and we will probably go back to that area, just not this hotel.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX