Breathless Montego Bay Resort & Spa

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    d

    my first time in Jamaica. Wont be my last. Mario's attention to detail is above and beyond expectations

    Reviewed by darlene on Dec 03, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: October 2018

    Trip Type: Single

    resort staff were fantastic! Altitude bartender, Mario, went above and beyond to make sure I found everything I needed. I was looking for a specific gift for my niece. Mario made sure I was able to leave the island with the perfect gifts.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 1290 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    A short stay, with some shortcomings noted

    Reviewed by Hedo-goer(East coast) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    We stayed 2 nights at Breathless Montego Bay. We were upgraded to a Master Suite King Swim-out room, which was unexpected and very nice. This was room 5022. It had butler service, but we rarely used it during our short stay. The suite was gigantic, with 2 gigantic TV's, a 4 seat bar, chairs and tables on the patio, in addition to an outside jacuzzi, and two permanent lounge chairs in the water. The bathroom was large, and the shower was visible from the bedroom behind the indoor jacuzzi tub. (Our friends, who were in a regular room, said their shower was very visible to anybody who walked in the door to their room). The lights and drapes were controlled by small panels, in various places in the suite. The lighting could be set to 3 levels - full on, half on, and romantic colored lighting. The buttons for the electrically controlled drapes were hard to use, as I must have missed something when the butler demonstrated them. The main phone is a computer, for ordering room service, among it's many features. All in all, very nice. But we did notice some things which were not so good. First, one of the control panels for lights and drapes didn't work at all. The bar was not a wet bar, and the fridge had only soda, water, and beer. Champagne.was in an ice bucket on top of the bar, along with champagne glasses. There was no liquor in the room. We had to ask for rum. The fridge was warm, even after they said they had fixed it. The glasses were all glass, not plastic. Not good in jacuzzis or the outside pool. The 2 TV's only had one remote. The resort itself was nice. We all enjoyed the Altitude (rooftop) pool, bar, and restaurant. The main pool was large, but only had shade from a few umbrellas, or the set back cabanas. Since we were in a swim-out room, we didn't use the main pool. The food was good, and I enjoyed the DJ music at breakfast. It did seem unusual to be able to order from 2 different menus in the same restaurant, at the same table at dinner. Going to the 2 Secrets resorts across the street was certainly doable, and the covered walkway was appreciated. But I would have appreciated a place to get Jamaican pattys on the Breathless side, too. There was an ice machine down the hall. Perhaps a longer stay would have made us enjoy this resort more.

    Unkind and unfriendly service

    Reviewed by AAtrave() on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    First off montego bay is a beautiful place, When we arrived every one was like welcome home yea man, but within hours that changed to unfriendly and unwanted altitudes, the service at breathless was awful, me and my wife are disabled veterans and take meds throughout the day, but we had to continously beg for water and beverages for the rm every day, also neither of us drink alcohol so we asked that the beer be removed from the fridge and water put in its place but no that didn't happen.To escape this environment at breathless I had to borrow a wheel chair and take my wife to Secrets every day so that the trip would not be a total mess..Secrets was nice with alot kinder and friendly service and staff,last I would just give one example of service at the down stairs bar inside breathless, my wife had ask me could I get her a virgin pinacola from the bar, when I approached the young lady at the bar these were her exact words and I quote "what are you going to do for me man Do something for me What is going on with you is every thing ok" I immediately felt that I had done something wrong, so I ask what can I do and she replied do something special for me,she said that her birthday was the next and I could tell she was maybe 4to5 months pregnant, anyways feeling really guilty as if I had done something to her I rushed to the tell and got her 40doll and give it to her, I asked is this better and she said yes man..I avoided that bar for the rest of my time there..people dont be fooled by the rating of five star for this resort it's more like a 1rating and very lame, to much hype about this place for sure, YOU'VE BEEN WARNED STAY AWAY!!!!!!

    Tech Savy vs. Fun

    Reviewed by JRFrequentTraveler(Columbus, Ohio) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This resort had really nice smart rooms but the entertainment was little to none. No music by the pools after 6:00 pm and no music by the bar after 11:30 pm. Had to walk to the other resorts to enjoy the beach and to enjoy entertainment/restaurants. The resort did not embrace the Jamaica culture.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-1

    Amazing staff at Breathless

    Reviewed by dramharris() on Aug 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The staff at Breathless are amazing, always smiling and asking how we are enjoying ourselves. Shedean checked us in with a warm welcome and friendly smile. We love Olivia, such a beautiful person inside and out, she is someone I would want as a close friend! Shanae and Rose made our special night an evening we will never forget. I will come back just because of the staff, can’t wait for our next visit here!

    Service with a Smile!

    Reviewed by SouthsideDAMEmusic() on Aug 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The Breathless staff is simple amazing. I have visited this establishment 5 times in two years;The staff treats my family and I we are at home Everytime we visit. The butler service is 10 star service, because of Chase, Antoine and Dennis. These gentleman go above and beyond with there customer service. The ladies who service the resort with cool beverages while working in extreme heat conditions Ann Marie, Argentina and Jamila always have A positive attitude great smiles. The entertainment team Lucky charm and Allie always throw the best pool parties. I was disappointed,that Dj quan wasn't available;Thanks to Ms. Hennessy for keeping the fun alive, despite the resource of music. The kitchen staff is one of a kind. I would like to see this staff again and again, during my visits because good service like this is hard to find. Notes: I feel The employees of this resort all need to be compensated for all their hard work, day in and out they work long hours, while being heavily fatigued. Relaxion isn't just for the guest, your employees need it aswell to continue their service. Breathless is a great resort,but still needs improvement.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX