Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3248 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Our Happy Place

    Reviewed by quadshot(Vancouver Island, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We returned this January for our 8th stay at this well located resort situated within a few blocks from the Malecon. The smaller sized resort has an intimate appeal providing the opportunity to get to know the staff who are hard working and eager to please. The food is good and the bar and pool service are fantastic. We had a wonderful 2 week vacation and plan to return next year along with many returning guests.

    Great resort

    Reviewed by loreenfroese(Winnipeg, Canada) on Feb 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have stayed in all inclusive resorts before in Mexico and this has been by far the best. The food was excellent and the staff were very helpful and friendly. A special thankyou to Sarah for accommodating us when we asked for a room change as we wanted a balcony and to David the consierge, always helpful and smiling. My only complaint would be as first timers they want to give you a tour and information on the “memebership” which we assumed would be a half hour or so but lasted over two hours. Othewise everything was great. Good location within walking distance to the Malecon, shopping and a variety of restaurants. We met several people who say they keep coming back to this resort and we would definitely stay there again.

    Individual ratings:

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Good Value

    Reviewed by Coastal52513783742(Chicago, Illinois) on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    In general, you get what you pay for, and this resort is no different. If you are looking for an affordable place to lay your head at night after a long day on the beach consuming free drinks and adequate food - I highly recommend this resort. If you are looking to be pampered in posh surroundings and have memorable meals, this is not the place for you. My companions and I fall into the former category, so we had quite a nice stay and would return again. Pros: The beach is lovely and many rooms and dining options offer a great view. Tho there is a rocky strip between the lounge area and the water, so I recommend water shoes if you plan on getting in the ocean. There are plenty of lounge chairs available (many in disrepair but still functional). The pools and bars were not crowded nor were they overrun by children. The staff is pleasant and helpful. Frutas y floras buffet restaurant has a wide selection and good quality food. The burger/hotdog/nacho stand that sets up for lunch out by the pool is very convenient. Cons: All other dining options were quite disappointing. I cannot recommend strongly enough that you skip the prix fixe dinners at the sunset restaurant. The WiFi is abominable, so don’t expect that you’ll be able to get away without purchasing MX coverage for your cell phone if you want to have internet access or keep in touch with friends and family at home. The poolside activities (bingo, water aerobics, volleyball, etc.) that occur throughout the day are obnoxious to listen to if you just want to read/relax by the pool. The beds are not terrible but they’re not very comfortable either and the thin walls and echoey hallways assure you’re woken up bright and early by the sounds of other guests going about their mornings.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Great memories and moments .... every visit and every year

    Reviewed by Charles K() on Feb 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I presume that every visitor has unique needs and expectations, & the Buenaventura Hotel caters so well to so many visitors that we've never met anyone there who wasn't singing the praises of the whole experience. From families, to newly weds, from newcomers to seasoned returning devotees the Hotel reflects the warmth and efficiency whereby every visitor's needs are addressed routinely, very well.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Great service and location

    Reviewed by Discover41161703906(Victoria, Canada) on Feb 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had a great time during our stay. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The only recommendations I have would be to clean out the air vents, as they gave off a musty smell when the air conditioning was on. Also, it would have been nice to have a water cooler on our floor, so we wouldn’t have to call down for bottles of water.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX