Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    Fabulous stay. Excellent service personnel. Who needs Nuevo Vallarta when the charm of the old city is so well represented at Buenaventura

    Reviewed by D&M on Apr 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff are who make this hotel what it is. From Claudia, our server in the restaurant, to the friendly boys at the poolside bar and virtually every other staff member we encountered, the vibe here is relaxed and friendly, with a nice Mexican sense of urgency. The fellow who checked us in at the front desk upon our arrival could?ve used an espresso to speed him up and a kick in the butt to cheer him up, but thankfully everyone else seemed genuinely happy to be working here. We tipped generously, not because we felt obligated, but because we felt the hospitality and service was genuine and the people deserved it

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Over priced and bad service!!

    Reviewed by Bert on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The location of this hotel is great but that was the only good thing about it. Booked our holiday on line and booked the Honeymoon suite but on arrival was told we only booked deluxe and had to wait till the next day to talk to agent. The deluxe room they put us in was a total dump!!! Smelt so bad could hardly sleep and wouldn't use the bathroom because it was so gross!! To get the room I thought I booked cost us a huge amount!! Had to complain every day for more bottle water and finally gave up and bought our own even though the agent told us to brush our teeth with only bottled water. Only hot meal we could get was at pool bbq the other 2 restaurants the food was barely warm. Husband sliced his toe open getting out of pool because there were pool tiles missing. The maid and waiters at pool were awesome but found with most staff if you didn't have deep pockets for big tips you got no service! Very disappointed in the hotel and way over priced for what you get!! When booking make sure to ask for a renovated room!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3437 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Summer Vacation

    Reviewed by Navigator08749466171() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Great place for families. Many food options however food options have room for improvement, pool bar service and entertainment can use some improvement. Guest should be provided a schedule of nightly event taking place at the hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    Grwat Time

    Reviewed by Sightseer55339825688() on Jun 24, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Everyone was very hellpful from the moment we walked in duntil it was time to leave it was a family vacation and we all had a great time. from rhe adults to the kids We would love to come back again soon.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Disappointed

    Reviewed by Airelvayy() on Jun 23, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    I really had high hopes for this hotel given all the good comments we read about it but ended up being disappointed. My fiancé and I stayed 4 days and 3 nights in this hotel. When we got our room , First of all the room smelled funky , kind of like a humid smell in the beds. The bathrooms did not have towels and when we called to get some , they took over an hour to bring them , the housekeeper who brought the towels didn’t even knock and she just walked right in saying “I came to bring towels” Like EXCUSE YOU ? Also The room that was given to us was not what we had asked for , in all honesty that was our travels agencys mistake but when we brought this matter to their attention , they were indifferent and told us they would let us know when we could change rooms. They never called us back, whatever , we just decided to stay in that particular room. Long story short. Pros ~This hotel has the BEST food I’ve ever tasted , Sunset restaurant has an amazing view , Fruits & flowers have great food , Over all the food was delicious. ~ nice beach not too rocky , ~ check in and check out was fast ~ super close to downtown where all the restaurants and bars are located. 10 minute walk. Cons: ~Staff was mediocre some even rude. Only 3 out of 10 people that worked in that hotel actually tried to make us feel welcomed. ~pools seemed dirty , ~ rooms need remodeling , In conclusion I feel like we could’ve gotten better service for that same price in another hotel , we won’t be coming back. But this was only our personal experience and I’m speaking only from what we went through.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-3

    Great Getaway in PV

    Reviewed by JimtheYankeesfan(Hampden) on Jun 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This hotel is in a great location. The Hotel itself is ready for some updates but the staff make it almost perfect. Everyone is friendly and helpful. I would happily stay here again. Thanks to Isreal in the Sky bar for closing out our evening every night.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Perfect location

    Reviewed by Chellenumerodos(Vernon, Canada) on Jun 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We loved this little resort. The location is fantastic, an easy walk to the malecon and romantica zone. Nice main pool area and the adults only area with the shallow pool and built in lounge chairs was perfect. The bar up there was only open fri/sat/sun but I’m assuming that’s because it was low season while we were there. Quiet in the evenings. Last call is pretty early compared to my other experiences in Mexico. Food was good. Omelettes were amazing. So we’re the pastries. Would definitely stay again.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX