Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    B

    Over priced and bad service!!

    Reviewed by Bert on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The location of this hotel is great but that was the only good thing about it. Booked our holiday on line and booked the Honeymoon suite but on arrival was told we only booked deluxe and had to wait till the next day to talk to agent. The deluxe room they put us in was a total dump!!! Smelt so bad could hardly sleep and wouldn't use the bathroom because it was so gross!! To get the room I thought I booked cost us a huge amount!! Had to complain every day for more bottle water and finally gave up and bought our own even though the agent told us to brush our teeth with only bottled water. Only hot meal we could get was at pool bbq the other 2 restaurants the food was barely warm. Husband sliced his toe open getting out of pool because there were pool tiles missing. The maid and waiters at pool were awesome but found with most staff if you didn't have deep pockets for big tips you got no service! Very disappointed in the hotel and way over priced for what you get!! When booking make sure to ask for a renovated room!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3291 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    average all inclusive

    Reviewed by TemplarKnight1307() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    Pros: - beautiful beach - friendly service - generous buffets - great pillows Cons: - lots of smoking everywhere and constantly - noisy, undisciplined children - despite notices to the contrary, people reserve chairs very early and hold them all day. It can be hard to find a place to sit, despite no one being around. - lounge chairs aren't comfortable - loud, both street noise and pool speakers

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-4

    Good for the price, Great location!,

    Reviewed by Relax32496282072() on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    It is a very pretty resort. Now, if you compare it to the ones on Nuevo Vallarta, there are a lot of differences, but for the money, it is a very, very good resort. Kid's club is amazing, I highly recommend it. Location is the best! You are blocks from the malecon and downtown area. Super safe!!! Waiters are friendly, but don't give you that much attention. Pools are nice and clean Beach is just right there, lots of rocks, but it is beautiful! Buffet is good, but needs more variety. Rooms are clean, but definitely need some updating. Overall, It was a great resort for my family and for what we paid for. I do recommend it if you are on a budget.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-3

    Value

    Value-4

    So much sun and so much fun! Great Location!

    Reviewed by valpoconnection(Valparaiso, Indiana) on Mar 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This was our first stay here. When we arrived our room wasn't ready even tho we arrived after 4. When we were standing there you knew right away standing behind you ready to prance were time share people. When we finally got to our room we knew right away that for us it was way too small. We ended up grading to a junior suite. Thanks to Pedro for all his help. Our room had 2 balconies and a living room. Worth every penny. The grounds are very well kept. The pool is heated. I parasailed off the beach. We met lovely couples from Canada. Walking distance to the Malecon. Just perfect. The food in the cafeteria needs help. The restaraunt that you need to make reservations for was very good. They have some great entertainment. Also cooking classes. Get the coconut shrimp! All in all a great trip.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-5

    My March Vacation

    Reviewed by Trail35142929642(Wayland, Michigan) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have stayed at Buenaventura three years in a row now and it has been amazing every time! Great staff and great facility. Right next to the malecon so perfect location. The food is always good and the bars have a great selection of alcoholic beverages. The only thing that I would have to say negatively is that the pools need to be re-tiled which were suppose to have been redone last year.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Very Good Hotel Close To The Malecon

    Reviewed by boeing764(Vancouver) on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This was my second stay at the hotel, overall it is very enjoyable and good value for the money. My favorite thing about the hotel is it's proximity to the Malecon, you can walk there in about 10 minutes. The only complaints I had was that our room was in the south wing just above the pool bar and it is very noisy late into the night, not very conducive to having a child try to go to sleep. The other thing was that I cut my foot twice on the bottom of the main pool, but I noticed that there was a maintenance person replacing the broken or missing tiles while we were there, so hopefully this will

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX