Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa review

    What to expect (based on 6778 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Fantastic holiday

    Reviewed by Kellyh0607() on Sep 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Ignore all bad reviews. We are currently on a 2 week holiday from 09/09/19 and cannot fault it at all. Check in we easy and quick. Luggage taken to rooms on golf buggies. Staff are so friendly and always acknowledge we a smile and a hello nothing is too much trouble. World like to say Gessica is absolutely amazing she is so friendly and always looks to find you and give you a wave anc a hello around the pool and she knows exactly what drinks you want by the pool. She is a credit to your staff and makes the visit so much better. If you do any excursions it has to be coco bongo (see Oscar around main pool) we done royal price $145 dollars but well worth the money that is transfer entry with no queuing box and tables waiter service abc bottles of drink (all good stuff) we had Belvedere vodka. Captain Morgan’s spice rum and tanquiri gin. If you finish a bottle they give you another. Shows were absolutely fantastic, best nite ever.

    Great Stay

    Reviewed by Sal T() on Sep 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    This is our second stay at the GP in Rivera maya and overall it’s a great time. The staff is super friendly and the food is top notch at every restaurant. We booked it through book it.com and it was the easiest experience ever! The best guy ever that works there is Hugo with BD travel. This young man really enjoys his job and is super professional. And he speaks really good English too. He made our stay here much more enjoyable. The reason for the four stars instead of five is the room. When we got here the bedsheets were very dirty. We arrived around 3 pm but we didn’t check the sheets until about midnight. Although they were very quick on changing our rooms it still took about an hour and we were tired by then. But we did get a new room with new sheets. However the bathroom has mold on the walls. Now this is an older resort and yes they are doing some remodeling but if you want one of those rooms it’s going to cost alit more money. Overall it’s a great time with great pools and beaches. Some of the women on the beach like to go topless so if that offends you just stay clear of them and remember that you are in Mexico with a lot of Europeans that stay here. And also, what happens in Mexico ends up on Facebook .... enjoy !!

    Disappointing holiday!

    Reviewed by andy s(Swindon, United Kingdom) on Sep 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    After previously going to grand palladium in Jamaica we couldn't wait to see what it's sister hotel in Mexico was like. The pool looked great however we were both annoyed by the fact that people are allowed to smoke in the pool by the swim up bar! Only ever 2 staff working in the pool bar which meant you could be sitting in a smoke filled area for a while to get served. Beach is lovely and now a lot of the seaweed has gone it was good Snorkeling. The rooms are far from being 5 star, they might have been 10 years ago but the room we were in was old and tatty, as you entered the room all you could smell a strange odour damp. Tiles in the bathroom were old and many had been badly repaired, bathroom mirror had got lots of block spots were the reflective material had worn away. Bathroom door lock broke on one occasion and we couldn't get into bathroom, called maintenance out who eventually fixed it. Loads of live music from different bands every day. Only really annoying thing with the music is when the live bands play the hotel leave the outdoor speakers playing so if your sat on a sunlounger trying to relax all you can hear is two different types of music playing. Our first weekend there and the hotel was turned into a teen party house, 250 Spanish students out on the piss. They kept us and many of the guests awake several nights in a row, hotel staff didn't try to quieten them down, they just kept serving them. To use the WiFi you randomly get asked to fill in a short survey and at the end you are asked if you would like the hotel to contact you, which I said yes to and never heard back. Dr sanchez the hotels Dr was fantastic after an incident were we found glass in our food at one of the restaurants she was the only one who took the incident seriously. If you want a lie in and put your do not disturb sign up, the staff won't turn up at your room later in the day to sort it out. There is tea and coffee in the room but this didnt get replenished on a daily basis, several times I had to try and source my own tea and coffee. Fridge is well stocked everyday. For an all inclusive hotel it's surprisingly difficult to get cold bottled water from anywhere without paying for it. Room only gets 4 litres per day! Hotel drivers are brilliant and the grounds keepers are always pleasant and helpful. Staff in la hacienda can take a very long time to get you seated, if we wanted buffet then we used the beach bar there the staff were always helpful. Whirlpool in the room is excessively noisey, in Jamaica you got a full whirlpool in your room which was great for me and the wife, in riviera meya it's a small bath with jets that are incredibly loud, not very relaxing. Its also quite a high bath so it can be awkward to get into to have a bath or shower if your not fully able bodied. Really felt let down by grand palladium riviera meya, think you could do with taking your staff over to the Jamaica palladium and learn from them.

    Grand Palladium - 04/09/2019 to 11/09/2019

    Reviewed by jveloza(Montreal, Canada) on Sep 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have nothing but good things to say about the grand Palladium and its employees. For the resort, as scored in this review everything is nothing short of a 5 star service. One thing that could be improved is the "night life" at the resort. After the night show, the sports bar kind of turns into a mini club at 23h. The dancefloor itslef is quite good but when it comes to the DJ/Music quality I feel like it could greatly improve. Regardig the employees at the resort, I didn't have any bad experience and I was always served with respect and kindness (a bit less kindness in the rush hours at the bars but that is to be expected as it felt like they were a bit understaffed for the rush hours but not enough to be an issue) I did however experience some "above and beyond" service from a few employees worth mentioning: - Luis Olvera & Gilbert Alejandro at the Churchill bar (Cigar Lounge): I'm not a smoker so I was surprised to spend most of my time in the resort at the cigar lounge along with my smoker friends but the Churchill Bar is quite more than just a cigar lounge. Its two barman Luis and Alejandro gave us THE best service in the whole resort, on top of their barman abilities they're also mixologists! they will have a great time with you making customs drinks for you if you feel like drinking something unique. They will also explain you how the drink is made while they make it which lets you better enjoy the experience. But even if you just want a normal drink you will notice that the quility of their drink is way superior to what you get in any other bars in the resort (not that the other bars are bad, it's just that the churchill bar is the best AND please don't order a simple beer there, if you want to drink beer just go the the sports bar or any other bar in the resort) So yeah to summarize my experience with these two gentlement: Incredible. -Guadalupe in the Sports Bar: If you're looking for a good conversation while having a drink or want to learn more about the resort or its surroundings, Guadalupe is your girl, she's very fun to talk to as well as very helpful. -Diego in the Sports Center: If you're looking for someone to play Volleyball with, Diego is your boy! not only he will crush your friends with you if he's in your team, but he will help you and evereyone else to improve your skills while doing so. If you like playing Volleyball you'll definitely enjoy his company at the sports center. Regards, Jeremmy Veloza.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    3RD AND LAST TRIP TO THIS RESORT

    Reviewed by Ron H() on Sep 16, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    1st trip was great to Kantenah, 2nd trip to White Sands had no A/C for 4 days got an upgrade for next trip so I Booked a destination wedding with my bride to be and to bring my teenage daughter and son, Requested a romance suite at the Colonial, but when arrived was booked into the white sands bungalow, with no A/C requested another room, new room on the colonial side, still no A/C in the room, maintenance workers came to repair unit and broke a valve in the ceiling and water sprayed all over the closet and wedding dress, finally next day they moved us to another romance villa, now going on day 3, tired and wore out from not sleeping well and packing and moving, wedding day was great, wedding was awesome, Booked a Segway tour for the 4 of us and Brenda gave each person about 10 seconds of instructions and my wife crashed into the Segway tour building really hard and could not continue the ride, my daughter crashed twice into the bushes and was scratched up pretty bad, we went to the onsite Doctor and she wanted to charge us $400.00 for some band aids and ointment. the remainder of the trip was OK except my wife could not walk very well after the Segway crash, so we stayed at the pool by the room, not one time did someone from the resort call or come by to check on the room situation or our well being after the crash,

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-1