Occidental Tucancun

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    J

    Relaxed, flawless vacation

    Reviewed by JohnD on Feb 25, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is an excellent small resort with a casual fun atmosphere. We have stayed at many resorts and this is now our favourite. The air conditioning in the rooms keeps the temperature acceptable however don't expect your room to be cold. I found this to be an advantage in getting used to the heat. The staff is fantastic, friendly and professional. Our waitress Nancy deserves a special thanks, she made our stay really special! The beach is excellent and the facilities very good for the size of the resort. The resort was full and we never felt crowded or had to wait for service. Beach chairs were always available!. The food was varied and excellent. We stayed for 11 days and never were tired of the buffet. We did try the Mexican restaurant which was very good. The house liquor is definitely above par. I'm a tequila snob and the house tequila was quite acceptable. There is an indoor mall directly across the street (on the second floor is a department/grocery store for all those incidentals you are looking for) and a large outdoor mall within walking distance. There was a mix of couples and families. The nightly entertainment very good, with professional entertainers brought in for each show (it's not just the day staff doing karaoke).

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7241 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Average trip, made better by some folks

    Reviewed by gjergjimahilaj(Cleveland, Ohio) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    The hotel is overall okay. This was my 4th time in Mexico, all 4 at different resorts, and I have to say, this one has the best entertainment crew. Nacho really took care of me and my friends, and I can say I made a true friend at this resort. He gave us the best deals for clubs, and personally made sure we were having a good time, as well as getting back to the hotel safe. Nacho is an asset for this resort. Julio at la claraboya was also an awesome person, who took good care of us. The food was okay, not to bad, not too good just okay. So were the drinks. I would consider coming back just to see my friend Nacho and the rest of the entertainment crew.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-4

    You get what you pay for

    Reviewed by Sarah M(Saint Peters, Missouri) on Mar 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I traveled to this resort in March of 2019. Pros: Location, Beach, Affordability, Room AC Cons: Food wait time, Sales pitches, Adult Pool regulation PROS: Beach and Location: Great beach and the location was great as well. Pools: Several pools which was nice so you could have options. AC: The AC in the room was good and we had no issues. Restaurants and Food: 4 restaurants and 2 of them you need reservations for. The other 2 that require no reservations are buffet style restaurants. The food was good but nothing that was spectacular. All of the restaurants you have a waiter/waitress that can bring you drinks, clear your plates, etc. Staff: All of the staff throughout the resort for the most part was very friendly and helpful. Theater: The shows in the theater at night are good and the Michael Jackson show was great! CONS: Food wait time: The biggest issue we had while we were there was when we tried to eat dinner at a buffet one night that does not require reservations. We tried going to the Italian restaurant at 8pm for dinner and there was a wait. We walked to the other restaurant that doesn't require reservations either and that also had a wait. In both restaurants there were open tables. We decided to wait for Italian since we hadn't tried it yet and we didn't get seated until 9pm. Having to wait 45mins-1 hour for food at an all-inclusive resort is a little ridiculous. Both of these restaurants were buffets that did not require reservations so we couldn't get food until we waited. Sales pitches: When we checked in we got a sales pitch to attend a meeting for an hour and a half which we declined. As we walked through the resort and passed through the lobby we got approached a few different times by the staff for the same sales pitch. One of these times we were in line to wait to be seated for dinner. This got pretty frustrating during our stay as we simply wanted to have a good time and not get stopped or bothered by long speeches. We would try to decline several times before the staff stopped. Adult pool regulation: The other con is the regulation of the adult pool. There was one adult pool which was 18+ and was also the pool with the swim up bar. This pool is advertised to be the relaxing pool as one of the other pools is where they play loud music, do the activities, etc. During our stay, one day there was a large group of people at the adult pool that were playing loud music on a speaker, dancing on the bar stools in the pool, being extremely loud, etc. It was disappointing that the resort does not regulate this pool as they advertise as you could visibly see many people annoyed by their actions. While the resort cannot control people's actions they could at least make sure the adult pools stays relaxed for the other guests. Several resort employees walked through the pool during this time and did not do anything. Overall the resort was good but not great. I also think you get what you paid for. By no means was the resort awful and we still had a great vacation. A few minor adjustments with the sales pitches, food wait time and adult pool regulation would have made the resort much much better.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Wonderful Beach!

    Reviewed by Ann F(South Bend, Indiana) on Mar 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    We had a great time at Occidental Tucancun! The beach is amazing at this resort! The pools were very nice. The food overall was good. It varied in quality from day to day. The Mexican restaurant was very good. The seafood restaurant was poor. The buffets were inconsistent, some days they were good and others they were only average.They need to work on keeping the food warm while it is on the buffet. The pancakes and hash browns were cold before you put them on your plate. The omelets were very good. The drink service at the bars was good. The taste consistency of drinks varied from bar to bar. Ismael at the main pool made the best frozen margaritas! If you ordered a frozen margarita at the other pool bars it wasn't very good.The night time entertainment was lacking. They had a couple of good shows. Tucancun did not have a sports bar or dance club type bar, so other than going to the show there isn't much to do at the hotel in the evening. Overall we enjoyed our stay and thought the beach was really nice!

    Amazing staff (especially Jair), all so helpful and friendly!

    Reviewed by emilyandscott2019() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Great stay at Occidental Tucancun. Food was great - we recommend having lunch at the buffet upstairs (Mirador), and dinner at the Italian restaurant (Trattoria) - they make fresh pasta and it was delicious! Jair was SUPER welcoming, he actually gets to know everyone's name which means a lot, and really does a good job as sort of a social coordinator both at the pools and shows! Carlos at the front desk was also very helpful and remembered our names even after 5 days, very impressive! Thanks to Jair and Carlos!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Best Trip Ever!

    Reviewed by Margaret M() on Mar 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really enjoyed our stay at the occidental! Great activities and good food. Recommend getting reservations at the a la carts restaurants and the italian buffet is great! Jair made our trip super fun! He did a great water aerobics show. Michael Jackson show is a must see.

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX