Iberostar Grand Paraiso

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    T

    Worth every penny

    Reviewed by Tony on Jan 24, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2018

    Trip Type: Couple

    This is our second visit to this Iberostar complex but our first time at the Grand Paradiso. Firstly, the drive up and walk-in was great but the check-in was a disorganized, which made for a rather disappointing start. However the facilities just make you relax by their design. The walk to your room is in an AC environment, which makes you feel relaxed right away. The ceilings are tall and the hallways wide and well-lit at all times of the day. Great atmosphere. The room was equally great. The rooms had a great selection of snacks and drinks. The cleaning services were great for the duration of our stay. Please be sure to tip them with their name and a thank you letter! I did have an issue with switch placement in the room, their brightly lit alarm/radio clock, and the lack of plugs by the nightstand but good beds and they don't turn off the AC in your room. Leave the room cool, to a cool hallway, and come back to where it was.... just a huge relief after a "tough" day at the pool. The pools were great, very clean and peaceful. In fact my wife and I went to go see where we were staying before... and It was like going down 3 stars in our minds. The most important part of the stay was the food and the alcohol. The restaurants were decent and the Surf & Turf buffet was amazing; you can either get off the menu or go to the buffet table. Please be aware, their water at the restaurants taste different because its filtered not bottled. This facility has real alcohol! This makes a huge difference the next day after relaxing day.... basically tastes better, digests better, and doesn't annoy you for the rest of the trip. At the other hotel in this facility we visited in our last stay, we stopped drinking because it didn't feel good. We felt relaxed the whole time, just wonderful! Pool time is 7am to 7pm. FYI the coupons they offer as incentive to book this are useless, see attached photos.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    K

    Over Promised and Under Delivered with Average Service.

    Reviewed by Kenneth R on Jan 25, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Upon checking in we where led to our room. Once the door was open, a terrible musty, moldy odour greeted us. I asked the host if we could be moved to another room. They declined requesting to clean the room while we waited after a long day of travel. About 90 minutes later they said the room was ready. The smell was still evident along with cleaning solutions. We again requested a move and again it was denied. With no other choice, we decided to stay the evening in the room in hopes of speaking with a manager the next morning. No luck. The second day the bath tub had only cold water and the drain had plugged. We where asked to stay out of the room the entire afternoon while they took the taps apart and replaced them along with the drain plug. The odour was still high. Next morning the electricity quit to the room. Called the front desk and several hours later a repair person showed up. He opened the panel in the closet, gave it a good bang with everything coming back on. The air conditioner would only go down to 22c and we cooked with the high humidity. Was told it was computer controlled. On the third day, I approached the manager at the main counter and asked if we could be moved. This gentleman was not in a pleasant mood as I was third in line with other guests requesting a move. By the time he got to me, his mood had deteriorated that I left. I later found out that the occupancy rate the week of Jan 15-22nd 2016 was just over 50% and felt they could have accommodated our request to move. This was not an inexpensive resort. After considering our experience, this resort is over-priced for an average experience. Noted I did not mention the quality of the food. It too was average considering our experience at other upscale resorts. The beach area is excellent as is the pool area, hot tubs and indoor pool area. The servers have a wonderful attitude when bringing meals to your table. Management was the surprise in the little attention to guests needs. Regards, Ken

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated2 out of 5

    Value

    Rated2 out of 5

    Service

    Rated3 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 7431 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Vacation

    Reviewed by Merissa M() on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    It was a fantastic trip! Oscar Aaron & Adrian were awesome to hang out with; they kept the party going all day. The staff service was very prompt and attentive. The food was to die for. Would definitely go back!

    The best starfriends in the world

    Reviewed by Scott R() on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    I have a great vacation with my friends in Mexico, the original tacos and guacamole and of course the best entertainment team, we meet Oscar part for the starfriend who was incredible and he did a great Job during the show like the MC and Adrian, Sailin and Aaron, thanks guys for your experience!! We love you.

    Excelente!!!!

    Reviewed by traciedarlenes(Troy, Ohio) on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We had an amazing trip, we rented the villa and spent 7 days. We spent our days by the pool. Tsunami from Star friends was the best, she was so sweet and friendly to everyone. She presented the daily games like Bingo by the pool and kept us entertained in between drinks. She always has a smile for every guest. They had a burger stand poolside and Arturo a Chef was so amazing. He was very personable and took the time to come speak with us during our romantic dinner where he cooked our meal. We will come back!

    Oscar! The best star friend

    Reviewed by Iriwa13() on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We have a great holidays at the grand, great food, great drinks and the best beach! And of course the best entertainment in the world with the best guy Oscar, he is so cute and funny and of course the other guys Aaron, Sailin and Adrian for the star friends

    The best entertainment ever!!!

    Reviewed by AlexInsta Z() on Aug 25, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Hello everyone! It’s an amazing hotel, all of services are 10 of 10, best organization of our free time. I am very grateful for Oscar and Adrian! The food is different and very good! Want to come back in next year!!!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX