Secrets Akumal Riviera Maya

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    M

    Fabulous vacation. Snorkelling off the beach and seeing turtles everyday was the highlight. Excellent food. Great resort.

    Reviewed by Michele on Mar 17, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    We caught an early flight (5am) but this turned out to be a blessing as we beat the "rush" at customs in CUN. Made it thru in under 15min! The shuttle to the resort was 1 1/2hrs. We dropped off people at 2 other resorts before arriving at Secrets Akumal. But it was worth it if snorkelling is a priority. Right off the beach was saw a variety of fish, large turtles, and the odd stingray. We booked 3 excursions thru the WJ rep at the resort. Cost was $225USD/person (Selvatica- 10 ziplines with a cenote, Nature Park snorkel tour off the world's 2nd largest reef, Rio Secreto underground river). All 3 excursions included equipment and lunch. Pick up time was punctual. In hindsight, the snorkelling off the resort beach was probably better then what we saw during the excursion. But no regrets. Room is spacious, bed is comfortable, staff are courteous and helpful, plenty of space at the pool and on the beach, and the list goes on! Excellent quality food everywhere at the resort especially at the a la carte restaurants. Great shows at the lobby bar. Had a blast watching the hypnotist show. Felt safe at all times and never worried about having things stolen while swimming. This was a first experience at an adults only resort. We don't mind hearing children laughing, but it was nice to have a more mature crowd. You can spend an entire week at this resort and do as little or as much as you want without leaving. I highly recommend this place.No complaints. I hope to return soon.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    c

    absolute favourite resort in mayan riviera!

    Reviewed by christinek on Jun 22, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: June 2017

    Trip Type: Single

    Elegant, luxury hotel! Serenity! If you want relaxation and pamper come to this resort! I would go back in a minute! Its a bit of a drive from the airport, but i promise you will not be disappointed! I am in love! the beach is above amazing... swim with turtles! I wanna go back

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6136 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Gorgeous resort

    Reviewed by Somuchtosee12() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Met a wonderful group of people...had the best time. America, refreshment server on the beach, great service, always a smile and very personable..Antonio, bartender, sports bar, the Best, he took excellente care of us all, so much fun!! Rodrigo in lobby person, loved him, so very helful..I've been to 3 Secrets and this was the nicest one by far!!! Not 1 complaint!!!.

    Amazing place with all that you need for a great romantic vacation

    Reviewed by Patrick B() on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    My wife and I went there for our second honeymoon and that greatest. We had great food, great drinks, great service and the great weather. There was plenty to do but we mostly relaxed and enjoyed the niceties of Secrets Akumal. We cannot wait to go back again and I highly recommend it for people looking for a great all inclusive. Only thing I would like added is a little bit more nighttime entertainment as the night club becomes the only late spot and they pretty much play the same music every night. It is fun nevertheless.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    So relaxing!

    Reviewed by Bghoward2011(Spartanburg, South Carolina) on Aug 18, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Just got back from my honeymoon at secrets Akumal. The staff was amazing and was very helping every step of the way. They went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed and wanted. It was paradise.

    Perfect honeymoon!

    Reviewed by 729elliel(Greater Manchester, United Kingdom) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We arrived late at night, when the hotel is beautifully lit with candles, lighting and such a beautiful atmosphere. We were totally wowed from the very first minute, the staff throughout made the whole holiday divine. They took our cases to our room and showed us everything in our room, including the room service hatch, which is unlike anywhere I’ve ever seen before! The rooms are fantastic, they are huge, we had a preferred club swim out room, with a huge jacuzzi bath too. They are super clean, with maid service daily and turn down service every evening. We were an lgbt couple honeymooning and we couldn’t have been made to feel more welcomed - we would highly recommend this hotel for any other couples. The hotel is immaculate, the beach is a stones throw from the main pool, the sea weed never caused us any issue, the sea was clear blue and the sand beautiful! You can hire snorkelling equipment from the hotel for free to see the turtles or go with an organised group with the hotel early in the morning. The hotel has three stunning pools, we preferred the quieter pools. The food was simply incredible - we tried all the restaurants whilst there (there are 6). All were exceptional, our personal favourite was the himitsu (the normal menu was our preferred menu, in comparison to the reserved bookings for the Japanese grill). We also loved the Mexican night round the pool - such a lot of effort was put in by the staff and it was beautiful. Our favourite entertainment was the Beatles tribute and the Mexican mariachi on the Mexican night. No words can sum up how perfect this hotel is, you really have to see it for yourself to appreciate it. Please tip the staff - they don’t expect it at all but they appreciate it enormously and work so incredibly hard. We have never had such lovely staff on any of our holidays anywhere else in the world. We were travelling America and Mexico and this hotel was by far our favourite, as were the staff. Thank you so much - we will definitely be returning!

    One of the Best Stays I’ve Had!

    Reviewed by korieg768(Atlanta, Georgia) on Aug 17, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    If not the best stay! Ive stayed in Mexico before at other adults only (not Secrets, but El Dorados which were really nice), but the bulk of the activities were usually shared with the “family” sister property. I was really blown away with the amount of activities and all for adults! They had a “sip and paint” night trial (this was the first time doing it) and it was so much fun! I would love to see them continue doing it. It was free (as it was a trial), but I would pay around $25/person if that is what it takes to keep them around and keep this activity. Even the pool games/activities are fun! And they have a really nice “quiet pool” if you want something more relaxing. The staff was amazing! Definitely stop by the pool bar and see Gustavo. He seemed more like a friend than a staff member. The spa was really nice, but I didn’t like that you needed to arrive an hour early to do the hydrotherapy. I would have liked the option to come early and utilize the services if you want, but the process seemed a little awkward when we have to arrive and go through the process with other guests. I also like amount of food options (and quality) for dinner. We were here 6 nights and still didn’t make it to all the places. I will warn, some restaurants are closed certain nights. Check with the concierge about this to avoid disappointment in planning. I really don’t have anything negative to say except we were celebrating my birthday and I never got the banner on my door (they do this for special occasions). Don’t get met wrong. There were definitely special desserts and singing multiple nights in honor of my birthday, I just wanted the banner lol! Overall it was a very beautiful, clean property and I definitely want to return and/or try other Secrets properties- I officially think I may be converted! This is probably the hardest “goodbye” I have felt on a vacation!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX