Paradisus Palma Real Resort

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    What to expect (based on 13884 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Great place wonderful service

    Reviewed by gisellerflora() on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We traveled to Paradisus Palm Real with our 2 children last week 8/9/19- 8/15/19 occupying room 2420. We just have to say we had such an amazing time. The staff was extremely attentive and handled all of our request promptly. Upon arriving we were immediately greeted and given a tour we arrived early so we were allowed to have lunch and enjoy cocktails while our room was prepped. Once we got to our room we found it to be a bit of a walk for the kids to the main area of the hotel where restaurants and theatre were, therefore asked to have our room switched to be in closer proximity. This was handled immediately and we were given a room in the main complex. Every night our beds were turned down and the chambermaid always created a cute scene with the Childrens pajamas and stuffed animals they loved that. One night we requested if someone could bring in some goodies for the kids since they loved to see what types snacks were left for them, with in minutes a gentleman arrived with a slew of snacks for the kids. We also really enjoyed the shows, everything from the Lion King, Michael Jackson, Le Cirque and Party. The performers were extremely talented and very entertaining. We ate at the buffet everyday as we have picky eaters and figured our best bet was to eat where they had a lot of options, so we didn't make reservations to any restaurants but heard they were great. We also took the kids to the kids club which isn't located at Palm Real but at the Reserve. It was a quick shuttle ride but the kids had a blast at the waterpark and the staff were so sweet and reassuring. The hotel itself is beautiful with uptown date amenities (the gym is one of the nicest I've seen in all inclusive). Palm Real for us is the best location as it is right on the beach. Although the beach did have some algae the hotel did there best to stay on top of it and we would see tractors coming to clean up whatever washed ashore every day. Lastly I want to comment on the service and name a few people who made our stay so much more enjoyable, everyone was so accommodating and friendly but these people went above and beyond for us. Some of the servers at the buffet Michael ( I didn't catch his last name but he was wonderful), Jesus Robles also a server. Luis Diaz bartender at the main pool. Lucia Bartender at night. Luis Cordero as well. The gentleman at the grill in the evenings that grilled chicken for the kids and my husband every night and a lovely woman at the omelette station every morning. Thank you for such a lovely experience and we hope to see all again.

    Disappointing

    Reviewed by ScottS24(Buffalo, New York) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    My family of 4 stayed at the Paradisus Palma Real Aug 13-20. Overall I was a bit disappointed in our experience. We had stayed at the Paradisus La Esmeralda in Playa del Carmen, which we loved, so we decided to try another Melia property in Punta Cana. To start, when we booked online, we were told on 2 different occasions that we could book a room with a king bed, 2 double beds, and a sofa bed. We prefer separate beds for my 8 and 14 year old kids. However, when we called to confirm our reservation, we were told to get that bed configuration we had to upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite, which was about $1000 more than we were originally booked for. Being that it was 2 days from when we were supposed to arrive, we were told we had the option to cancel or pay the extra money, which we reluctantly did. Upon arrival we were again misinformed and told that the bed configuration we requested did not exist at this hotel and were stuck paying the extra money and still didn't have the bed situation we wanted. The room we were given was not good. The shower in one of the bathrooms did not work properly and there was no hot water. On of the televisions didn't work either. After complaining about all of this to Guest Services, we were given a different room the next day. This room was better but 2 of the 4 televisions didn't work and after a request through the app to fix it, we never saw anyone to do the repairs. The app was pretty useless so don't bother with it. On multiple occasions after our rood was serviced we were not given fresh towels or had the mini bar restocked. We had to ask for new towels and bottled water. The food was ok but the real issue was that there were only 3 restaurants open to eat at besides the buffet so after the 4th day we had to repeat where we ate. On Friday during out stay, a huge crowd of people came to the resort and it seemed the hotel could not handle the crowds. The buffet was out of many breakfast foods at 9:30 a.m.and not replenished the service was very slow and some of the servers seemed annoyed to serve us. By Monday the crowds seemed to have gone so the service was a bit better but still slow. The drinks were watered down even after asking for double shots in some of the drinks. The beach was beautiful and there seemed to be a lot of chairs available to relax. However, there was a constant barrage of vendors bothering you every 5 minutes to buy jewelry or go parasailing, which became quite annoying. The same man trying to sell us a photo shoot asked us 5 different times even after we kept telling him we weren't interested. My kids seemed to be quite bored after a couple days and we were not told about any kids club or kids activities whatsoever. This was our first time in Punta Cana and I don't think we would return, at least not to this hotel.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Value

    Value-2

    Best Service, Food With Comfortness

    Reviewed by timmarais(Los Angeles, California) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    I went there for the business meeting purpose and spent the best time. The rooms and food were great! They are so awesome and helpful. They took great care of us and made the week special. I high recommend!

    Not great....

    Reviewed by kevinh0lt() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    Keeping it short...travelled end of July with my wife and 4 kids (10, 6, 4, 3 months) No kids amenities and everything at the reserve is being renovated (although still selling the option online and only tell you when you arrive). Near impossible to get dinner reservations as only 3 al a carte restaurants to choose from, even though online I believe it mentions there are 9. Found ourselves eating at the buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner which we didn’t go on vacation for. Also no elevators unless you are in the adult only area when which we ended up being moved too. Not sure how I was meant to get to the 3rd floor with a new born and 3 kids.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-3

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-1

    Value

    Value-1

    Honeymoon 2019

    Reviewed by JordanAbs() on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We came for our Honeymoon for 6 days and had the best time. The rooms, beaches and food were great! We did the Royal Service and our Butler, Armando was awesome and so helpful. He took great care of us and made the week special. I high recommend!

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX