Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa

4.5 star rating

This hotel is rated between 4 and 5 stars. 4 star - Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services. 5 star - Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Riviera Maya
    5. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
    6. Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    i

    Back again this year !

    Reviewed by ian on May 02, 2018

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: September 2017

    Trip Type: Friends

    The best value in the Mayan. Quet pools are great. Top shelf drinks and pop up bars awesome.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 6446 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Excelent!

    Reviewed by Sightseer01250670813(Garopaba, SC) on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The hotel is wonderful, I have no complaints, only compliments! The staff was really nice, the food is great, the structure of the hotel is gorgeous! I highly recommend it, it worths every penny paid!

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Grand Palladium Colonial

    Reviewed by Explorer11260331423() on Jun 10, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Amazing stay overall, I wish the rooms were more clean, less humid, and the sheets were cleaner. The food was absolutely amazing, every restaurant and bar was so great, so many options were offered and the staff were the most attention serving staff I've ever met.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-3

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Would absolutely book here again and would recommend highly!

    Reviewed by Roam64800137225(Rochester, New York) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    The setting is nothing short of breathtaking. The service was outstanding. Each and every employee was friendly and helpful and amazing. The crew of people running activities at the swimming pool particularly at the White sands pool were beyond fun and amazing. The food was delicious everywhere we ate.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Mixed bag

    Reviewed by WizardDad(Wollongong, Australia) on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			2
			 out of 5

    It was our first time staying at the Grand Palladium Colonial Resort and like the title of the review it was a mixed bag. The good begins with beautiful location and beach. The water was really nice, the snorkelling good, which was a relief because one of the main deciding factors in choosing this resort was the off-shore snorkelling. Our first snorkel we saw a barracuda, puffer fish and stung ray plus numerous fish. We didn't see quite so much on subsequent snorkels but they were still good, head out a bit off shore until you get to some of the rocky outcrops a bit deeper and there's plenty of fish around them. Some long stretches of rocks with not much though. The beach was packed during the day probably to the point of over-crowding on some days. But the water was beautiful and clear and great to swim in. The grounds and hotel were pretty clean and well kept, good lighting and carts that could drive you around as there is some distance between different parts of the resort. The pools were nice although the water was often a bit cold. The swim up bar was generally pretty full and it could be a bit difficult to get drinks there, however, there was service staff doing laps around the area who would take orders. The not so good. Checkin was a bit of a challenge and took a bit of time. We had to wait for a while to see reception, then to get the cart with others to be taken to our room. The first available room wasn't really ready and didn't have a functioning bathroom - what was it with bathrooms and us on this trip? - so we were moved. Second room was better and we settled in. The rooms being cleaned and serviced was just a little out. The mini-fridge was never restocked so were were constantly asking for more drinks but only got them sometimes. It seems like a small thing but it's a point of difference with other resorts that get this right every time. It was also a bit of a reflection on the service because we'd often be out all morning, come back to change for lunch and the room wouldn't have been done. When we'd come back later in the day it still wouldn't have been done. Sometimes we'd deliberately leave so they had enough time when we really just wanted to hang and relax for a bit in the rooms. Again, a small thing but many other places get this right or at least you end up getting a sense when housekeeping comes around. I know that in reviews this can sound really petty, however, we've found when we're on holidays ensuring we get good access to our rooms to use is important, at least for us, and never knowing when housekeeping is coming or if they have cleaned interferes with this. The aircon was either arctic or off. Didn't matter what setting it was on and how many times we spoke with the hotel staff, either blasting or off. Made balancing room comfort challenging. The staff service was a bit down compared to other resorts and hotels, not as friendly or welcoming, more reserved and less inclined to interact. Again, sorry, probably sounds a little petty. The real killer was the food. Wait to be seated, lunch restaurant has shorter times than other places, we mainly ate at the buffets. While the menu and presentation, selections and variety of food all seemed good the food was always cold. My daughter would get pasta heated up, they'd throw the precooked spaghetti into a pan, stir it around for half a minute and serve it. While the edges had a bit of heat it was still generally cold. Get a curry, rice, potatoes, all just warmish, not hot. We first thought it was just a one off but everything was this way. There would often be a second bowl of the same meal stacked behind the first, to replace the first once it was finished. I would just get food from the back bowl even when the servers frowned at me. It really affected our holiday and we didn't enjoy eating there, which is a real shame at such a highly rated resort, often the food is meant to be a real feature. We'd heard complaints about some of the specialty restaurants from other guests and overheard a few complaints when we visited reception. The head chef was out at one point and I was tempted to say something but my daughter didn't want a scene. At the crepes and waffle station not only were they cold they were hard and didn't bend, they'd snap they'd been out there so long and were stale. Asking for a fresh cooked one wasn't much better either, it took about five goes and they only cooked one side so you'd end up with a half cooked crepe. I took some photos of the food service areas. Realistically, ensure the food is kept warm enough not just for health reasons but also for quality of food experience. Ensure good turnover of food. Food was really poor. The beach restaurant food was not good and we only tried it the once. I was tempted to give the resort a one star rating just on the food but that would probably be unfair. Overall it just felt like a mediocre part of the holiday where a lot else felt high quality. Would not recommend, would not return

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-2

    Service

    Service-2

    Great Service

    Reviewed by Curious06788513551() on Jun 09, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Would come back even though the front desk person was too friendly. Perhaps he was tired too, since we arrived late that evening. But once checked in, the staff went out of its way to assist and provided super friendly service.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-4

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX