Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments

4.0 star rating

Quality accommodation with a variety of facilities and services.

    1. Home
    2. Destination Guide
    3. Mexico
    4. Puerto Vallarta
    5. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments
    6. Buenaventura Grand Hotel and Great Moments review

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    D

    Fabulous stay. Excellent service personnel. Who needs Nuevo Vallarta when the charm of the old city is so well represented at Buenaventura

    Reviewed by D&M on Apr 15, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: April 2019

    Trip Type: Couple

    The staff are who make this hotel what it is. From Claudia, our server in the restaurant, to the friendly boys at the poolside bar and virtually every other staff member we encountered, the vibe here is relaxed and friendly, with a nice Mexican sense of urgency. The fellow who checked us in at the front desk upon our arrival could?ve used an espresso to speed him up and a kick in the butt to cheer him up, but thankfully everyone else seemed genuinely happy to be working here. We tipped generously, not because we felt obligated, but because we felt the hospitality and service was genuine and the people deserved it

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    B

    Over priced and bad service!!

    Reviewed by Bert on Mar 11, 2019

    Our guests rated this hotel 2 out of

    Would not recommend

    Travel date: January 2019

    Trip Type: Family

    The location of this hotel is great but that was the only good thing about it. Booked our holiday on line and booked the Honeymoon suite but on arrival was told we only booked deluxe and had to wait till the next day to talk to agent. The deluxe room they put us in was a total dump!!! Smelt so bad could hardly sleep and wouldn't use the bathroom because it was so gross!! To get the room I thought I booked cost us a huge amount!! Had to complain every day for more bottle water and finally gave up and bought our own even though the agent told us to brush our teeth with only bottled water. Only hot meal we could get was at pool bbq the other 2 restaurants the food was barely warm. Husband sliced his toe open getting out of pool because there were pool tiles missing. The maid and waiters at pool were awesome but found with most staff if you didn't have deep pockets for big tips you got no service! Very disappointed in the hotel and way over priced for what you get!! When booking make sure to ask for a renovated room!!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated1 out of 5

    Service

    Rated1 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated2 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated1 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated2 out of 5

    R

    Will Definitely Return!

    Reviewed by Riders16 on Mar 04, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: February 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    Hotel definitely met our needs & expectations, it offered great outdoor spaces, it was on the beach, the service was excellent and the food & beverage buffet & restaurant had a great selection to choose from. This was our first visit to Puerto Vallarta and we couldn't have chosen a better hotel in relation to location, it was downtown and close to the Malecon which we thoroughly enjoyed on several occasions, as we like to keep busy exploring. We went on two excursions during our stay, the city highlights and the Rhythm of the Nights, both were excellent and the service/guides were top notch. Every person we encountered, whether service staff or fellow visiting traveller were fantastic! We will definitely return to same hotel as we made friends who have become our Puerto Vallarta family!

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    R

    "Home away from home"

    Reviewed by RodCofMJ on Mar 09, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: March 2015

    Trip Type: Family

    2nd time in past 2 months at this resort, it does not disappoint it is a gem. A home away from home whose staff treat you as their own family. They make the Buenaventura stand out as a place to be at. Each time we have been there have been small improvements, such as having a menu included in the buffet restaurant a positive plus. As an older resort it is kept meticulously clean. A variety of entertainment at night for the enjoyment of all guests. This is NOT a party resort for college students, it caters to all. This resort is wheelchair friendly. Again I highly recommend the Buenaventura and we are already making plans to go back in December.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    J

    Hotel just passes. Location great!

    Reviewed by Jan on Jan 04, 2015

    Our guests rated this hotel 3 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: December 2014

    Trip Type: Single

    Hotel OK. The location was great. On the beach and in town. Easy to walk right out the lobby and start exploring the shops, etc. Staff was nice and friendly, though, it seemed there was a shortage of staff as I often noticed 'no one around' and had to wait. I noticed guests often brought their kids into the "adult only pool area." During the week of Christmas, hard to get a chair as people would reserve with their towels. I would hope the hotel would give it a good cleaning, ie the chairs in restaurants and the lobby seating felt dirty. Food ok, but same menu pretty much on a daily basis. Room acceptable and was glad to be on back side as it was quieter. Having said this, I would still go back as you cannot beat the location. Go in with mediocre expectations and you will not be disappointed.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated3 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated3 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated4 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated3 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 3541 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Outstanding experience

    Reviewed by keresssler(Chicago suburbs) on Aug 21, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Here for wedding and had a wonderful time. Staff was excellent. Great variety of food at the buffet and a delicious meal at the Sunset restaurant. Location is just a 10 min walk to Malecon. Also fun entertainment provided.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Overall, great experience - amazing food and service

    Reviewed by ckymah() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    My boyfriend and I had a really nice experience at this hotel! The location is amazing because you are literal blocks away from the malecon and right downtown. There is always something to do or eat near by! Service is amazing! We wanted to give a shout out to Israel, Nelson and to one of the female servers in the mornings (I didn't catch her name!), but they were the best! And made our stay so good! Food was excellent. The main buffet is surprisingly good with a lot of different authentic spanish choices. Every now and then they will add pasta or sushi to the buffet. Unfortunately, to get into the other two restaurants for dinner you have to book a reservation. And reservations can only be booked starting at 10am the same day, and there is generally a line-up, so reservations fill up rather quickly. That was a little inconvenient, because due to activities planned and our schedule, we could never be there for 10am to book the reservation, so we didn't get to eat at the other restaurants. We highly recommend the sky bar! It's located on the top floor overlooking the pools and ocean. Food is great - they just got a new menu! Try the sky burger! I was shocked! And drinks and service is the best there. They also have a few board games up there, cards, chess, etc. The hotel and rooms itself were old. The pools were a decent size, but often had a lot of sand or leaves/sticks that had fallen in them. They were generally clean though. Pools are open 8am to 8pm. They have a pretty decent stretch of beach front, and when we went, there wasn't any seaweed. Sand is pretty rocky though, so if you have water shoes and want to swim in the ocean, bring them! The free wifi is terrible there. At most you could text or send an email, but definitely not stream. If you want to upgrade to usable wifi, be prepared to budget that into your trip! Overall, it's a decent value for the price! Food and service is great, location couldn't have been more ideal, but you lose a little in the rooms and hotel itself.

    Individual ratings:

    Rooms

    Rooms-3

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    hotel

    Reviewed by biddaddy113(Oklahoma city) on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    just a good place to stay.every thing is in walking distance place is just real clean all the staff are just great.bar staff are the best real nice and sure know how to make a drink.got drunk one night and had to do it again.i am going to do my best to go back buy the end of the year so I can have fun again.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Beautiful great location with so so food and activities

    Reviewed by Anita B() on Aug 20, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			3
			 out of 5

    This hotel is beautiful, and the staff are great in keeping everything clean and lovely. The location is super close to the malecon, walkable easily. The kids club is fun and it’s quiet after 10pm, which was great for traveling with kids. The food was just ok. Very limited options for picky eaters and there are windows from 11-1 and 5-630 when the restaurants are closed. So planning when to eat is essential. The boogie boards were all broken, which dissapointed my kids but the beach itself was lovely. Super hot in August but not crowded so I never had trouble getting a chair and umbrella at the pool or beach. One other con was the staff trying to get me to sit down to sell me membership in their club, kind of like a timeshare. I just ignored them. Overall a good budget option if you have open minded eaters in the family.

    Amazing place to relax and have fun

    Reviewed by Katarina M(Belgrade, Serbia) on Aug 19, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    Really nice and comfy place for family trip or trip with friends. They have many activities during the day and night, beach is pretty and the most important service is perfect. Restaurants offer different food for every taste.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX