Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

5.0 star rating

Exceptional accommodation with superior facilities and services.

    Average ratings from our guests:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Value

    Rated4.0 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4.5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3.5 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5.0 out of 5

    F

    we love the stay so much we'll be going back!!

    Reviewed by First vacation on Jan 08, 2017

    Our guests rated this hotel 5 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: November 2016

    Trip Type: Couple

    My wife and myself needed to get away from it all and had a great time taking excursions to do some zip lines and to hang out with some very cool monkeys . The people were great very friendly and at the very last night they put together a very romantic bath outside for my wife and me to enjoy.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated5 out of 5

    Service

    Rated5 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated4 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    W

    A beautiful resort

    Reviewed by Westjet Honeymooners on Aug 14, 2016

    Our guests rated this hotel 4 out of

    Would recommend

    Travel date: August 2016

    Trip Type: Honeymoon

    Overview: The Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana Resort is fairly close to the airport, about 25 minutes. The staff at the resort were welcoming and always willing to help. The hotel is kept clean and its evident by the amount of staff dedicated to maintenance and cleanliness. The entertainment team truly do their best to entertain, and the evening shows are overall pretty fun and interesting. Throughout the day you can participate in fun activities, however, you have to make the effort to find someone involved with the entertainment team. A couple of times they were on the beach promoting the event, but otherwise they hang around the pool. The beach area is well maintained with two seating areas, one with palm trees and the other with huts. Plenty of space is available at both sections. That being said, people do reserve spots with their towels, since you can get unlimited towels, people tend to take several towels and reserve spots near the pools and spots at the beach. It is not uncommon to see an empty spot reserved for the entire day with nobody using it, the resort needs to rectify this issue. Our experience: The hotel forgot it was our honeymoon so we had no special treatment until I mentioned it to them, they rectified the problem immediately and provided us with breakfast in bed and a banner on our door displaying it was our honeymoon which was torn down by someone likely drunk that night. The hotel replaced everyone's banners in our hall except for ours, at this point we didn't care. For people concerned about mosquitoes and zika, the hotel takes this issue seriously and sprays the grounds every night. We had seen a few mosquitoes, one was in our room on check-in, but overall, its not bad at all. We sprayed repellent only at night. The food was disappointing for a 5 star resort. With all the restaurants and options, the food quality was just not what you would expect from a luxury resort. Overall, good experience and the people are excellent.

    This traveller's ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Rated5 out of 5

    Value

    Rated3 out of 5

    Service

    Rated4 out of 5

    Hotel Amenities

    Rated5 out of 5

    Food / Restaurants

    Rated3 out of 5

    Beach

    Rated5 out of 5

    Pool

    Rated5 out of 5

    What to expect (based on 11945 reviews):

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-4.5

    Location

    Location-4.5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4.5

    Service

    Service-4.5

    Value

    Value-4.5

    5 most recent TripAdvisor reviews:

    Best vacation

    Reviewed by Rae2666() on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    On March 30, 2019 we arrived at Secrets Royal Beach for 4 nights. From the moment we arrived it was five star plus service. We were in the preferred club with a pool view. Our room was impeccably clean and the refrigerator was well stocked. Our butler was Robinson and he did not disappoint. He went above and beyond any of our expectations. Whatever we needed and at whatever time he was there. He found us where ever we were during the day and check in with us to see if we needed anything. Luisa and the rest of the staff in the preferred lounge were very accommodating to all our needs. The rest of the staff at the resort were all very friendly. The restaurants were incredible, the food was one great meal after another and always an abundance. The grounds and rest of resort were immaculate. Such a peaceful atmosphere. Plenty to do at the resort and not enough time for us to do everything so we will need to go back SOONER THAN LATER. We had room 2453, it was in the perfect location and the elevator dropped us off into the preferred check in/lounge. If you go to Secrets Royal Beach and stay in the preferred section you need to request Robinson (the Champ) as your butler.

    Good, friendly hotel with great service

    Reviewed by John L(Oxfordshire, United Kingdom) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    Just back from 2 weeks at the Secrets and although others in the group / family had been previously, this was my first visit to the country. Amstar got us painlessly to the resort and were very efficient, waiting for us when we arrived at the airport ( and on time with the pick up for return to the airport ). Journey was about 30 minutes from airport to hotel. On arrival we were provided with a cool drink and a towel before being whisked away by golf buggy to the Secrets Preferred Club rooms. The room was large and well laid out albeit a bit dated but everything you need was there. Air con worked well when needed. We had a hot tub on the balcony but it was in view of other accommodation blocks, took an age to fill and if you didn't fill it well past the jets, you and the surroundings got a good soaking when you turned it on ! The mosquitos seemed to love this area too, so sitting out was risky if you were prone to bites ( I'm not usually but still got plenty ! ). There is a free safety deposit box in the room and free mini bar. As Preferred guests we were allocated a 'butler' and a big shout out for Robinson ( "the Peoples Champion " ), who looked after us superbly from day one with restaurant reservations and general day to day issues. He made the effort to find us every day to check how things were going, make suggestions and dealt with the minor issues we had - well done Robinson ! The pool at the Secrets Preferred area is small but really clean, although despite many notices to the contrary, people were still reserving sun beds before the 8am curfew, without having their items removed as suggested by the notices. This would be understandable if they then actually used the beds but usually, they disappeared off to the beach until lunchtime at least. Excellent service from the all of the waiters around the pool. There are plenty of free towels and you can change them as often as you wish throughout the day, from the supply situated by the pool bar. We tried most of the restaurants but our favourite was the Bluewater Grill in Now Larimar, although the Tamarindo Mexican was good too - as Secrets Preferred guests, we were able to use all the other hotels facilities as well. We used the La Riviera buffet restaurant most of the time and found that it had a good selection on most days - suggestion :- there should be more tables for 4 people here as there was often only one set up and this resulted in the staff having to put 2 tables together each time ( which they did, no problem ). The beach is pure white sand with plenty of sun beds and shaded areas / thatched umbrellas. There was a lot of seaweed ( Sargassum) when we were there, so much so, that there were tractors going up and down collecting it from the beach from early morning and then throughout the day. You could avoid it for the most part but it was clearly putting some people off going in the sea. There are notices explaining that it's all part of natures way of looking after the ecosystem. The sea was shallow and warm but there were fairly sizeable waves throughout our stay. I tried snorkelling but the sea was too cloudy with the sand stirred up and I saw no fish. Speaking to the locals, you need to go out about half a mile to the reef, where you can see the waves breaking - local trips are easily arranged off the beach but we didn't use them. There are lots of local peddlers trying to either sell their wares or get you to go to the 'shopping centre' just along the beach. They are persistent and abundant but I always found a polite "no thanks" did the trick. Non motorized water sports are free but you'll have to pay for anything else. If you want to parasail, there were plenty of boats offering this throughout the day. Trips out are expensive $75+ for half a day ( and usually over $100 for a longer trip ) at the places I looked at and can be arranged off the beach or via Amstar in the hotel itself. We didn't do any, so can't comment on how good they were. There was always an evening show ( or you could go to the alternative one in Now Larimar). The Entertainment team were very good and although some of their shows were a bit samey, they clearly worked very hard and were of a decent standard. The Circus show was very good. 'Mr Spaghetti' makes a good compere. The grounds are very well kept and the gardening team work really hard to keep it looking so good. I was surprised by how little wildlife there was within the hotel, although we did see a hummingbird and the pelicans and ospreys appeared each day on the beach. Overall a very good hotel, with excellent friendly staff and in a good location.

    Individual ratings:

    Location

    Location-4

    Service

    Service-5

    GREAT PROPERTY!

    Reviewed by AMISTAD144(Chino Hills, California) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    We went to S.R.B.P.C. to celebrate our Wedding Anniversary and stayed at Room # 4126 (Garden View) which accommodations fulfilled our needs. We enjoyed our daily beach walks, but the highlight for us was the lazy river. We ate at 90% of the restaurants available at the subject property and also at the Now Lorimar. The overall quality of the food was very good. 95% of the staff is very courteous regardless if you tip them or not. The only negative: the time share sales reps, who have one mission in mind and that is to make you feel miserable if your don't buy the program, even though at the 'honeymoon' part of the presentation they tell you 'a simple Yes or No will be acceptable for us if our program is not suitable for you'. The Dominican Republic was the 49th. country I have visited, Morocco will be my 50th. in November. There is no need for time share people to be disgraceful to potential customers.

    Our Favorite Place

    Reviewed by davebulk(Millville) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			5
			 out of 5

    This is our 5th year going to Secrets Royal Beach and I can't think of anywhere we have gone that is better than this !! Since it is All Inclusive, you know your cost before you even leave home. Many different dining selections at the various restaurants. Great Friendly Staff wherever you go. Nightly entertainment in the open Plaza area.

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-5

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-5

    Secrets Royal Beach Punta Cana

    Reviewed by Cruiser19157942822(Grand Rapids, Michigan) on Apr 15, 2019

    		
			TripAdvisor users rated this property 
			4
			 out of 5

    overall good experience. VIP breakfast dining was slow service and food was fair. staff was friendly. We needed cash but property did not have an ATM, so we had to go to the property next door. Great beach

    Individual ratings:

    Cleanliness

    Cleanliness-5

    Location

    Location-5

    Rooms

    Rooms-4

    Service

    Service-5

    Value

    Value-4

    Do you need a response from WestJet regarding a positive or negative travel experience?
    Please give us your feedback.

    Required fields

    Write a hotel review

    Only vacations taken less than 18 months ago are valid.

    How was this hotel for:

    Example: (What did you think about {hotel-name}? Was it in a great location? Were the staff accommodating? Would you go back? 2,000 characters max

    We will not post reviews that include:

    • Mentions of specific travel companies
    • Profanity and inflammatory comments
    • HTML or URLs
    • Pricing information

    Example: "We loved our stay! The concierge always went above and beyond!" 140 characters max
    Would you recommend {hotel-name} to a friend?

    Add photos/videos:
    *You need to agree to the submission policy and verify your age before you can share your photos and videos.

    XXXX

     files attached

    Clear all files

      This is the name that will be attached to your review.

      Our submission policy:

      XXXX